We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'sapphire' in the middle of red light district” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire to your Saves list
Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Lorong 10 Geylang | Geylang, Singapore 399037, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #178 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“'sapphire' in the middle of red light district”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the family room for three nights. The room is small than expected, it fits ecxatly a queen size and a single beds plus a small immovable cubicle in the middle of the beds. However, it fits well for 3 and slightly enough for 4. Im impressed with the cleanliness of the room especially the bathroom, it looks newly furbished and clean! The hotel is also quite convinient as it locates js a junction away from the nearest bus stop which buses can be taken to get to bugis, chinatown or even harvourfront; mrt station is slightly further away-approximately 15 mins walk. The only down point is tht it is located right in the middle of the red light district. It is.fine in the morning but at night the place nearby is kinda scary, many standing at the roadsides to invite customers. I strongly discourage female travellers to stay there unless u are travelling with male family members or friends. But im glad tht none of the 'girls' were infront of the hotel but mainly gathered around the other junctions. Overall it is a value for money, but if u are worried about the fact of its location, maybe u can consider some other options.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    52
    62
    21
    5
See reviews for
33
35
32
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed three nights at Fragrance Hotel- Sppphire from 25th to 28 July and found the hotel to be quite ok. The Kalllang MRT station is about 7-10 minutes walk from the hotel. The only drawback of this hotel is the location which is considered a Red Light Area. Room were small and compact the same as one you will find in Japan but is clean and tidy and the toilet also in good condition. The only plus point is you have a variety of restaurant to choose from within a walkable range from the hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

When we first booked this hotel we decided to go for it because it was 70 SGD at agoda, and it was for a superior room. When we got into the small room that they called superior I was very dissapointed and went right back to the reception to ask if they had given us the wrong type of room. The only answar was that " That is our superior room, our standard rooms are superior". What a joke! If I had paid the full amount that they normally took for the room (around 140 SGD!!) I would have been very angry, but for the price we paid I just left it at that. I can summarize the hotel like this:
NEGATIVES: Hair everywhere around in the room, bed and bathroom; Very dusty (and I asked for an allergy friendly room); You have to turn on a switch or you will not get to shower in hot water; No "Welcome" greeting when arriving at the reception; There is toothbrushes, but no toothpaste for them, what's up with that logic?; Poor information about emergency exits; No fridge in room; You have to shower right next to the toilet so everything gets wet; And of course this is a red light district so I would never go here with children.
POSITIVES: Kettle, coffee and tea in room; 2 toothbrushes and shower caps; DVD player and flat screen TV, safety lock on door; Make-up table with mirror in room; Hairdryer; Aircondition.

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

I have to say the best bit about this hotel was the guy who checked us in. He was great!
Rooms are spotless, almost like a capsule hotel wasn't what we expected. We thought it was fantastic compared to some of the reviews we had read until we say on the beds!!! They were vinyl! Kind if like taking a long bench style bus seat and then shoving a sheet over it. The sheets just slip off and it's not much fun.
Other than that it's a good clean basic hotel and we really like the area. We know it has a reputation but we felt totally fine walking around with the kids.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I spent only one night here as I had a next morning connection flight to the Philippines. The Hotel is tidy throughout and easy to find. The location is very busy at night but that was no problem and made for an enjoyable stroll around the streets of Geylang. You can buy just about anything you need in the main street about 100 metres away. Lots of food outlets and convenience stores nearby. Taxis are plentiful and its cheap and easy to get to both the Airport and Orchard Shopping. The room itself was small but had everything you could need. The bathroom was a good size and plenty of hot water. The Aircon was quiet, clean and cold, but I found the mattress on the bed was very hard- however I slept well. Internet in the reception area only costs $1SD per hour. All the staff were friendly and nice. Ideal for a single traveller or couple.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Within minutes of booking this hotel I had a confirmation email so contacted them to find out the best way to get there from the airport. Jack, the Manager, immediately responded giving me several options and sending me links, so thanks Jack, great service.
Even though the hotel wasn't in the best part of town, we felt totally safe walking around day and night. People were lovely, friendly and very helpful, both in the hotel and the general area. It was cheap, the room was big enough for my sister and I, both in our sixties; had a queen and single beds and was very clean. There was a soap dispenser in the shower; free containers of water, toothbrushes and shower caps daily. Take your own shampoo and conditioner. Best of all we had a kettle with free sachets of coffee, which was great!
The staff were very helpful in directing us to catch local transport to various areas so we used both buses and metro and would recommend the latter as the most efficient way to get around.
The best meal we had was also in the local area, Vegetarian Restaurant; it was a beautiful, clean, Chinese restaurant and the food, unlike its name, was not all vegetarian. The cost was $4.80 each meal!
All in all a great stay at the Fragrance Hotel-Sapphire and I would highly recommend it.
When you arrive at Changi Airport go to the Information Desk as they are extremely helpful. Elizabeth, who works there, told us to show the stub of our boarding pass when getting on the Singapore Airlines hop on hop off bus and it would cost $6. Best and cheapest day we had hopping on and off that bus. She'll give you a map showing where the bus stops - about 22 places. Word of warning: there are several hop on hop off buses and, instead of going by the map, we were asking people where it stopped and were sent all over the place, so look at the map and go where indicated - it's not a double decker one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This hotel is very basic with small but clean rooms. The price is also affordable compared to other hotels in Singapore. I only have one beef about this hotel---The Location is BAD! MRT is about 15-20 mins away. It is also located in the red-light district which made me uncomfortable. My advise is to look for hotels near MRT stations and avoid Geylang District.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire

Address: 3 Lorong 10 Geylang | Geylang, Singapore 399037, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Hotel Singapore
Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.