We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay again, Clean and Compact Rooms.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire to your Saves list
Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Lorong 10 Geylang | Geylang, Singapore 399037, Singapore (Geylang)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“I would stay again, Clean and Compact Rooms.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I spent only one night here as I had a next morning connection flight to the Philippines. The Hotel is tidy throughout and easy to find. The location is very busy at night but that was no problem and made for an enjoyable stroll around the streets of Geylang. You can buy just about anything you need in the main street about 100 metres away. Lots of food outlets and convenience stores nearby. Taxis are plentiful and its cheap and easy to get to both the Airport and Orchard Shopping. The room itself was small but had everything you could need. The bathroom was a good size and plenty of hot water. The Aircon was quiet, clean and cold, but I found the mattress on the bed was very hard- however I slept well. Internet in the reception area only costs $1SD per hour. All the staff were friendly and nice. Ideal for a single traveller or couple.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    66
    71
    21
    5
See reviews for
39
44
36
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Within minutes of booking this hotel I had a confirmation email so contacted them to find out the best way to get there from the airport. Jack, the Manager, immediately responded giving me several options and sending me links, so thanks Jack, great service.
Even though the hotel wasn't in the best part of town, we felt totally safe walking around day and night. People were lovely, friendly and very helpful, both in the hotel and the general area. It was cheap, the room was big enough for my sister and I, both in our sixties; had a queen and single beds and was very clean. There was a soap dispenser in the shower; free containers of water, toothbrushes and shower caps daily. Take your own shampoo and conditioner. Best of all we had a kettle with free sachets of coffee, which was great!
The staff were very helpful in directing us to catch local transport to various areas so we used both buses and metro and would recommend the latter as the most efficient way to get around.
The best meal we had was also in the local area, Vegetarian Restaurant; it was a beautiful, clean, Chinese restaurant and the food, unlike its name, was not all vegetarian. The cost was $4.80 each meal!
All in all a great stay at the Fragrance Hotel-Sapphire and I would highly recommend it.
When you arrive at Changi Airport go to the Information Desk as they are extremely helpful. Elizabeth, who works there, told us to show the stub of our boarding pass when getting on the Singapore Airlines hop on hop off bus and it would cost $6. Best and cheapest day we had hopping on and off that bus. She'll give you a map showing where the bus stops - about 22 places. Word of warning: there are several hop on hop off buses and, instead of going by the map, we were asking people where it stopped and were sent all over the place, so look at the map and go where indicated - it's not a double decker one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This hotel is very basic with small but clean rooms. The price is also affordable compared to other hotels in Singapore. I only have one beef about this hotel---The Location is BAD! MRT is about 15-20 mins away. It is also located in the red-light district which made me uncomfortable. My advise is to look for hotels near MRT stations and avoid Geylang District.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Located halfway between the airport and the city centre, this hotel is a 10min walking distance from the nearest MRT station connecting it with direct line to the airport (35 min) and the city. No remarkable sights nearby, 30 min walk to Little India and Kampong Glam - very nice, pictoresque quarters.
Hotel lobby is rather small, the rooms,are too, but not that small..equipped with tv, tables, wardrobes, complimentary water, coffee...Nice and clean. Reception staff is rather cold, but helpful, when needed. they charge 1 SGD for 15 min of internet, though..Easily accessible also from the beach road, where the buses from KL terminate (a 5 min cab ride, i guess).
No restaurant or poolside, but there are many hawker stalls in the streets around.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

The Fragrance line is popular in Singapore. Not sure HOW many hotels they have, but LOTS! Hotel prices in Singapore are high, so don't expect much value for your dollar.

Room (and hotel in general) clean, but small. Bed has a heavy vinyl cover on the mattress so the sheets slip and slide, and it's kind of like sleeping on the floor. VERY limited number of TV channels (although, I honestly didn't spend enough time in the room for that to be a problem!). Shower is typical Asian style with no curtain or wall or anything, so whole bathroom gets wet. No other services in the hotel - just a place to sleep.

Location is good. Another smaller Fragrance hotel right across the street, and 5 or 6 more in the same small area. 10 minute walk to Kallang MRT Station. Easy bus access (2 or 3 stops) from either Al Juneid or Kallang MRT stations. Chinese district, lots of cool old buildings, lots of local food. 7-11 close by.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lysa nad Labem
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed here twice in April. First night we had a room number 406. The other 3 night we got a room number 405. The 406 room was much better - bigger and the bathroom was designed more comfortable. However the shower was situated next to the toilet bowl so water is splitted all over the bathroom.

There was also a small fridge in 406, not in 405.

Rooms are cleaned every day, towels are changed as well and the hotel gives complimentary water cups and coffee. There is also a kettle.

Location of the hotel is good - close to the airport (if you are going from/to the airport by public transportation - SMRT, it is better to get of the train at Kallang station - then you go max. 10 minutes to the hotel; if you go by taxi, it costs 25 SGD), close to the city center (close to the hotel is bus station - bus 80 and 100 goes to Fulerton hotel, Vivo City, Sentosa...). Somebody writes here that the hotel is located in red district, but we felt comfortable and safely.

The only negative thing could be for somebody the size of the rooms and the noisy which goes from corridors. Rooms are small, however we don´t care. We stayed there only for nights, so we were completely fine and if we go there once again, we will stay there for sure.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

hi, i booked this hotel as i have stayed thier before and was cheap and clean, however i couldnt make the trip as my husband was sick and had to change my flights.
i booked through asian rooms, who wouldnt allow me to change my dates, nor offer a refund, i was told to contact direct to the hotel, i rang singapore and was told to email the hotel with all my dates and booking reference i.d.
the email response was sorry cant change your dates as it was a special promotion!
well i paid $812 singapore dollars for 7 nights and they had no compassion at all that my husband was sick, i had to cancel my holiday, change my flights and still they take $812 from me and offer nothing! all i want to do was move the dates......
i will never stay thier again, nor will i recommend this hotel to anyone!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire

Address: 3 Lorong 10 Geylang | Geylang, Singapore 399037, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Despegar.com so you can book your Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Hotel Singapore
Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fragrance Hotel - Sapphire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.