We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, free wifi, could do better with better floor mats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 81-Bugis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 81-Bugis to your Saves list
Hotel 81-Bugis
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Middle Road, Singapore, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #231 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent location, free wifi, could do better with better floor mats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The location is great, only ~7 minutes walk to the Bugis MRT station (which has cashier that sells MRT day passes and tourist passes). The rest of the transportation (bus/MRT) could be taken care of with the passes. The sights/shopping around this hotel include The National Library of Singapore, Bugis Street, Bugis Junction and two to three budget food shops. There's also a 7-11 outlet next door. It is a great location for tourists from Malaysia on First Coach buses from Subang Parade (Malaysia) to The Plaza (Singapore). Only 10 minutes walk to and fro The Plaza and Hotel 81.

I was surprised also by free wifi availability. Slow connection sometimes, but good enough for emails, Whatsapp and Facebook. Concierge friendly and helpful, complimentary toiletries and coffee/tea (can request extra). The floor mats could have been better. When I travelled in September 2012, the mats were not too water-absorbant, leaving foot trails along the sticky tiled floor.

I will stay there again on a budget trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    27
    49
    24
    16
See reviews for
12
39
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Good location for someone who needs to get into the cbd and to do some shopping
Bus at the door.
We stayed in the top of the range room which had large floor to ceiling windows and views
The general layout of the property is cramped
Toilet small but modern and clean
Air conditioning was powerful
Staff were friendly and professional

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Located near MRT station.
There was a Mamak stall in front of the hotel. Easy for you to buy food.
Beside the hotel, there was a small SURAU for muslim to go for pray.
I stayed there for 2 night and only cost me for SGD200.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel for 4-5 times and I will be going back there in July for my next Spore trip.

Pros:
- good location. Very near Bugis MRT and City Hall MRT. I chose this hotel because it's along the green line and I don't have to switch stations to get to the airport. From the green & red MRT lines, I can easily move around Spore on MRT.
- Safe. Sometimes, I travel alone and being a single female traveller, I felt safe staying at the hotel. Locals had told me that this hotel is famous for being a love hotel but that had never bothered me during my stays there on different occasions. You leave them alone, they leave you alone.
- Very basic amenities, not for fussy travellers. Ideal for travellers who just want a comfy place to bunk in for the night and spend the whole day out.
- Good housekeeping. Towels and sheets are clean and the housekeeping staffs are nice. I usually leave some tips behind for them.

Cons:
- Pricey for a budget hotel. I suppose you are paying for the location.
- Rooms are small (and so are the toilets) and some are windowless. I usually pick the windowless ones cuz it's cheaper & I am ok with it
- Not recommended for families, unless you book more than one room.
- No breakfast provided, but there is a McD, Subway and Bugis Junction nearby with a 7-Eleven just beside it.
- Any changes made to the reservations was hard. I was informed through the hotel's website to email them, which I did but I never got a reply. I resorted to calling the hotel directly.
- The small kettle is very small, so you might need to buy some bottled water from 7-Eleven. Usually, I wash it repeatedly first before I use it.

Neutral:
- Some of the staffs were friendly, but some aren't. I guess this depends on which staff on duty for which shift.

Remember to bring a printout of your reservation when you check-in. The hotel staffs will need it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Hot water not hot enough, cigarette smoke coming in from other guests, random loud yelps of paid passion during the night - if you like the sound of all that, Hotel 81 Bugis is for you! Oh, and it's also great if you want all your jewellery stolen when you are out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This hotel is located in very strategic area. Located in Middle Road, near bus stop, MRT Bugis and Bugis Junction. You can also get your meal here easily.

The room is very very small. Don't expect too high with this hotel. It's recommended for you if you just need to sleep at the night, wake up at the morning and do your fullday trip. But it's not suitable if you go for honeymoon or with your family.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Out of the many Hotel 81's in Singapore, I believe this is one of the better 81s because of its location. It is more expensive (as could be expected). Traveling with a friend, the room is a close fit for 2 people (again, expected) with tiny shower. But, the housekeeping service is good, sheets and towels clean. Reception staff also efficient. No complaints from me about them (as other reviewers have complained).

The best thing about this hotel is location, as it is nearby Bugis Junction. Also there's a bus stop right in front of hotel and 7-11 convenience store next to it. Would I come back? Will be under consideration, because of the location.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room if possible, they (seem) bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 81-Bugis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81-Bugis

Address: 31 Middle Road, Singapore, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81-Bugis 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 81-Bugis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81-Bugis Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 81-Bugis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.