We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Regency House by Far East Hospitality

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Regency House by Far East Hospitality to your Saves list
Regency House by Far East Hospitality
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   121 Penang Road, Singapore 238464, Singapore (Orchard Road)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
UpTo 35% off +WiFi +Tour
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Stayed at Regency House for a week, the staff were great, very helpful & friendly, apartment was nice and clean and roomy. Kids loved getting a biscuit every time at reception & breakfast was nice, not a huge selection, but enough & tasty... Great location near 2 MRT stations & Orchard Rd... Would stay there again & recommend it for families.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regency01, Residence Manager at Regency House by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear Kazleong,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review to compliment Regency House Serviced Residence and our staff.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you back to Regency House.

Warmest wishes, Christina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    28
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
112
1
4
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed at the Regency House in Singapore for 1 month. It was a great stay overall. The staff was friendly and the room was well layed out with nice marble floors and updated entertainment system. The breakfast in the morning was a dissapointment I have to say. It lacked variety and was more or less the same everyday. And no breakfast on weekends. The exercise room was way too small and the pool is not designed for laps.

I would recommend mainly for the location, as it is very central to the city but not too busy. The MRT is close by and tons of busses around Orchard. If it is your first time in Singpaore for long term stay then this is a great choice.

Room Tip: Studio was spacious and well designed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regency01, General Manager at Regency House by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review to compliment Regency House Serviced Residence and our staff. It is such compliments that will spur our staff to continue to provide excellent service to our all guests.

We have taken note of your comments on the breakfast service and would like to inform that we are continuously working to improve our breakfast service by adding variety and refreshing the menu constantly.
As for the gym, we are currently studying plans to extend it.

Once again, I thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Stayed here for three weeks until we got our permanent accomodation sorted in Singapore. The location of the apartment is excellent, under 5 minutes walk to Orchard Road and Dhoby Ghaut MRT interchange. Regency House was probably top of the range 20 years ago but is now quite dated and had somewhat of a gloomy atmosphere! Having said that it is very clean and staff come into clean you apartment 5 days a week. We had a massive flatscreen television in our room and the bed was Kingsize. Kitchen has everything you need, microwave, hob, washer/dryer machine, sink and microwave. The bathroom was tiny but is sufficient for two people. Staff are excellent, which is not something you always should expect in Singapore! The gym is tiny and has only 3 machines, pool is nice but didnt seem to get much sun! Breakfast is very very basic but again you will find something you can have!

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fareast60, General Manager at Regency House by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review to compliment Regency House Serviced Residence and our staff. It is such compliments that will spur our staff to continue to provide excellent service to our all guests.

We take note of your comments on the apartment and the gym. We are currently studying plans to refurbish our apartments and gym. We hope to be able to provide a better stay experience on your return to Regency House.

We look forward to welcoming you to Regency House on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Stayed here for 2 weeks- facilities on the top floor with basic gym and quiet pool. Breakfast in the morning was very basic, but cleaning service of the rooms are daily. Rooms are big well equipped. 5 min walk to Dhoby Ghaut MRT and Plaza singapura which is a decent shopping centre with plenty of good places to eat. Staff arevery helpful and friendly. We had a very pleasant stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fareast60, General Manager at Regency House by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review to compliment Regency House Serviced Residence and our staff. It is such compliments that will spur our staff to continue to provide excellent service to our all guests.

We look forward to welcoming you to Regency House on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

I am writing this whilst still here.

The Pros-good location as its close to the shops and restaurants; staff are very warm and friendly; internet service was very fast and easy to connect to. I have often found this a clhallenge in some other hotels I have been to.
The cons - i think breakfast tine should be extended because of travellers who come from different time zones. We travelled all the way from Nigeria, and couldn't get to bed before 3am, and obviously, we got up way after breakfast. I also think the choices should be expanded . The one time we made it for breakfast, the scrambled egg looked most uninviting.
The cleaners came in/come in daily, but do very little - they change the sheets and towels without prompting, but other than that, little else was done. After "cleaning" the bathrooms, there were still signs of toothpaste marks, dried water marks on the shower door, i had to prompt the cleaners to empty the bins in the rooms more than twice. In addition, we found tubes under the bed that belonged to obviously some other occupant. Now i wonder how long that had been there; it shows the lack of thoroughness in the cleaning exercise.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fareast60, General Manager at Regency House by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on Regency Huose Serviced Residence. We sincerely apologised for the inconveniences that you encounter during your stay with us. We would like to assure you that we will strive to provide a better stay experience on your next visit.

We are currently working to refurbish our apartments and breakfast lounge. We have also refreshed our menu recently to ensure a better breakfast experience for our guests. As for Housekeeping, we take note of your comments and will continue to improve to provide a cleaner environment for all our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you to Regency House again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

This is my second time staying at Regency House. The first was 1.5 years ago when my son was 14 months old. On that occasion, we stayed in the Studio Apartment. Like many who have remarked before me, the bathroom was tiny. Nonetheless, I was grateful for the kitchenette and washing machine, having a toddler around.

On this visit, we stayed in the premium 2-bedroom apartment. It was very spacious including a nice sized bathroom with a bathtub! However, like the studio apartment's, there was no shelf in the standing shower. Shampoo, shower gels & specs all have to be placed precariously on the floor.

Some things to note for management & housekeeping, while I appreciate the housekeeping service, sheets & even towels do not have to be changed everyday! That's a huge waste of resources if you ask me.

Secondly, my main grouse with breakfast is that it ends at 0930. While I understand that most folks will have left for the office by that hour, there are many families staying at RH who will appreciate a later breakfast. To be fair, the lounge stays open and some items are left out until 10 or so, but items that run out by 0920 aren't replenished anymore.

Finally, it is very pricey. How much do I value the microwave & washing machine? Perhaps that $100 or so extra per night above the rate of a 5 star hotel at Orchard? Another thing, we extended our fortnight stay by 2 weeks. Unfortunately, we will still be charged by the weekly rate instead of a monthly rate which will be significantly cheaper. The 'reason' given was that the system couldn't be changed. That may be so but that's BS to a customer. In the end, we'll cut short our stay at RH and move on to Royal Plaza on Scotts, a 5-star hotel, S$150/night cheaper.

The only saving grace that makes this hotel differentiate itself from all the other serviced apartments or hotels that I've stayed in is the staff. From Faris the doorman, Sheela & Karamjit at reception, to Alice at the breakfast lounge, they all made me feel like I was coming 'home'.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fareast60, General Manager at Regency House by Far East Hospitality, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review to compliment Regency House Serviced Residence and our staff. It is such compliments that will spur our staff to continue to provide excellent service to our all guests.

We take note of your comments on the breakfast hours. We have extended our breakfast hours to 1000hrs instead of 0930hrs. As for the shelvings in the bathroom, we take note of this and will be installing it at all our bathrooms.

We look forward to welcoming you to Regency House on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Regency House by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency House by Far East Hospitality

Address: 121 Penang Road, Singapore 238464, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Regency House by Far East Hospitality 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the junction of Penang Road and Oxley Road, Regency House is within minutes by foot from the major shopping malls along Orchard Road. Besides the fine dining options along the famous district, the serviced apartment is a minute's walk from Killiney Road, which offers a wide selection of local and International cuisine.The Istana, which is the Official Residence of the President of Singapore and entertainment hotspots such as the trendy Robertson Quay are also located nearby. The Somerset MRT station close by connects you to the rest of the island, with the Singapore’s Central Business District at Raffles Place just two stops away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Far East Hospitality Management Pte Ltd, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Regency House by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency House Hotel Singapore
Regency Hotel Singapore
Regency House By Far East Hospitality Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regency House by Far East Hospitality, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.