We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel for your money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Penta Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Penta Hotel to your Saves list
Penta Hotel
33 Birch Road, Singapore 219894 , Singapore (Rochor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Decent hotel for your money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Hi I stayed here for half a day. I had waiting time of 12 hrs during my visit to New Zealand. I got my transit visa and went out to roam around Singapore.

I requested Taxi guy to take me to Little India and drop me at decent hotel. He dropped me here.

Hotel is good, very nice for medium budget. It is located closure to shopping place like Mustafa (where you get everything).

Staff could be more friendly, but I do understand that he had some problems that day.

This hotel is okay when you see the budget at good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    22
    5
    1
See reviews for
12
1
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surat, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Walking distance from Ferrer Road MRT, crowded Little India and 24 hour Mustafa Shopping Centre. It's a pure no frills hotel, however rooms are clean, washroom is appropriate.
There is one receptionist to handle all customer queries/ grievances and let's just say she is mediocre in displacing her duties..
Excellent location for Indian Pure Vegetarians as there are lots Indian restaurants/cafes nearby also selling India delicacies.
Appropriate for budget & solo travelers but a bad choice for a romantic/family vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
73 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Penta Hotel is located in Birch Road, Singapore and is a good hotel very close to Little India This is a good hotel for Budget travellers and it is also very close to MRT station as well., There are few indian restaurants close to this Hotel and you can get good Indian food. Overall an OK place to stay in Singapore when travelling on Budget.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

i stayed here with my family for 3 days in singapore, the stay was very comfortable.it had all the commodities needed....the room and toilets were clean and well maintained....the location was also good as lots of small shops and eateries were around....would stay there again..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed at this place with my wife for a couple of days. I have visited Singapore more than 30 times and let me tell you that this hotel is mostly frequented by Couriers who take stuff from here to back home for selling it in the grey market. Its a hotel with no service at all. There is a single receptionist to handle everybody. The place is right in the middle of down town little India. So there is no charm for people staying here of being in a foreign land.Its worst than being in karol bagh or a dirty slum in South Indian on Week ends. So take my advise and don't stay here if you are on family, romantic vacation. Only for people who want Indian food when being out of India. May be you understand my point.,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed in a Family room. It has one double bed and one single bed. The hotel and rooms are clean. This is a great value if all you need is a clean place to sleep at night. The rooms are small but that is the case with Singapore hotels in general.

I tried booking hotels online. For two adults and 2 children, very few hotels would come close to the price of Penta. Some wanted me to book two rooms because one room would exceed the capacity.

This hotel is not available for booking on popular booking sites like Expedia or booking.com. I guess that helpls keep them the cost down because they don't have to pay brokerage to these sites.

Another plus is its closenes to the Farrer Park MRT - which is a 2-3 mins walk. The restaurants in Little India, the taxi stand in front of the Serangoon Plaza, Mustafa are a few minutes walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our trip to Singapore - 6N & 7Days. Stay at this hotel was really good, strongly recommend for those who trip to Singapore as tourist and not planning to stay at the hotel for long time.

I basically look for bed and toilets to be clean in tourist places, both are very well maintained by the room service staff here. Every day, I was leaving the hotel 8am and reaching back for sleep around 10-11pm so it was perfectly meeting my expectations.

Staff at the reception were very friendly and helpful.

It is very close to MRT, Bus, Taxi and Indian Rests. Looking forwarad to stay again:).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Penta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penta Hotel

Address: 33 Birch Road, Singapore 219894 , Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Rochor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Penta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penta Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.