We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in a convenient location, deluxe room (family room) was a steal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penta Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Singapore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Penta Hotel
33 Birch Road, Singapore 219894 , Singapore (Rochor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 290 hotels in Singapore
Pasig, Rizal, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hotel in a convenient location, deluxe room (family room) was a steal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Penta Hotel in Singapore is just a few steps away from Exits C and F of the Farrer Park MRT. Just 5-7minutes walk to Serangoon Plaza and the 24hr Mustafa Center and 711. CitySquare Mall with affordable dining e.g. Subway, Saizeriya, etc, is connected to Farrer Park MRT. You can get anywhere e.g. Vivo City, Sentosa, Marina Bay, Merlion Park, just by riding on the Farrer Park MRT. Penta Hotel is beside a mini mart.

The deluxe room (family room) has a queen sized bed (can fit 2 chubby people) and a single bed (can fit 2 slim adults). Bathroom has a bath tub. Wifi is free, has good signal in the room and has decent speed. Hot and cold shower. Free drinking water (hot and cold dispenser) on every floor. Room was cozy and cool, perfect after staying under Singapore's humid weather while exploring.

Reception e.g. Anton and Linda are very friendly and accomodating.

The deluxe room has a good size. I am not sure about the other rooms, though,

We will stay again in Penta Hotel the next time we're back in Singapore.

For $145 per night for the deluxe family room, it really was a steal -- you can't find a room with these amenities, this cheap price per night in a great/convenient location in Singapore.

Penta Hotel also has double rooms for $100 per night, and a single room for $75 per night. A family room (smaller than the deluxe room) with one queen bed and one (smaller) bed is priced at $130 per night.

Rooms were cleaned daily and toiletries replenished daily.

Highly recommended!
-Anne from the Philippines

Room Tip: go for the deluxe family room if travelling in 3s, 4s or 5s
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
1
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is strictly a lodge where one could sleep take a bath & get out to explore the city. The place is ideal for people from Indian subcontinent.......so many options to eat (very important for people with family & restricted diets & budget) + the place is right across mustafa center - 24 hrs shopping......further if you run out of sing $ you could also exchange in Rs.
The room we had selected online - family room was more of a pigeon hole. Things were fine after we shifted in to the deluxe room.
The front office guy - Raince (hope I have spelt it correct) along with the other elderly lady were very helpful in giving us directions/ cheapest - fastest modes of travels / routes to different sites in Singapore
The 3rd front office guy - bald one ( didn't bother to ask his name) was the most rudest of any front office staff I have ever met.......he didn't let go of any opportunity of shouting & insulting customers

Room Tip: Pls. avoid family room, preferable stay in deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I wasin this hotel with ma family(My wife & two sons) on 2nd & 3rd September 2012.(3D/2N).
TheRooms & bath rooms are resonably clean.The Hotel building is old. The hotel staff trying their best to keep the hotel in good shape. The two ladies in front desk are very helpfull. The hotel is situsted in front of Mustafa center and very close to City Square Mall. Since the Farreer Park MRT is very close to the hotel traveling is very easy.
AS other budgeted hotels in Singapore this hotel rooms too are small.Compare to other budgeted hotels their over priced.But nothing to complane.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiapoi, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Have stayed now maybe 10 times here over the last few years. Most rooms are very clean, not smelly. Minimalistic rooms, but everything works, especially TV and air con are ok. Free WiFi, very close to Farrer Park MRT, very close to Mustafa's Emporium, very close to many famous restaurants such as Mutu's Curry, Apollo, Komala Vila, and so many more. Very hot and cold drinking water fountain in the floor, thermos bottle in the room. Don't expect much service - besides safety lockers and luggage storage, this is a budget hotel, and budget hotels cannot give much more service. Chinese run and managed, but being in Little India has of course mainly central Asian guests. Best of my knowledge, you cannot book any rooms via any hotel room booking engine, only directly. Call them to make a booking as they may not accept walk in customers (probably too many walk in customers have interests in mind not in line with their operation as a proper hotel for overnight purposes - they are not interested in hourly room rental customers). Room costs from S$ 75 single no window to 130 family room with many optinos in between - I prefer a double with window at S$ 100 / night - been the same prices for the last 3 years. Go their website to find most current details. Other budget hotels are as minimalistic but cost more, have less heart even, and are seldom in a better location.

Room Tip: rooms with window tend to be nicer and bigger - the various prices of the room reflect exactly what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

the lady receptionist were quite rude, she doesn't show respect to the customers and i heard her talking loudly to the customer early in the morning.. the room is small and old..this will be my last stay i guess

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

The reason why we stayed at Penta Hotel was because it was within our budget and they allow smoking inside the rooms. For S$100 nett / night, we got a private double room with all the needed amenities (own shower & toilet, AC, comfortable & big enough double bed, daily cleaning, tv). The room might seem small for some but it was enough to store 2 luggages and for a place to rest at night. Service was good for what you pay for - room and toilet were cleaned and replenished with basic toiletries daily, free wifi, no ref inside the room, no restaurant/cafe in the hotel, no bell boy but they help out with the luggage when they can, no safe but we didn't lose a single thing while we were there, staff were friendly and helpful enough when we asked for directions & suggestions.
The best thing about it was the location. MRT is just at the end of the street, mustafa 24-hour store & money changer as well as 7-11 was just on the next block, right at the heart of little india but on a quiet and not-so-busy street if you don't prefer the hustle and bustle of the locality, there's also City Square Mall 2 blocks away with a decent foodcourt, kopitiam, and all the usual shopping establishments.
All in all, our stay at Penta was worth every penny, you really get what you pay for. We will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Located just a stone throw away from Farrer park MRT, this hotel is moderately priced when compared to rest of the hotels in Singapore and the room was decent but outdated got a family room facing the Farrer park which was a plus and food would not be a problem since lot of hotels available nearby Mustafa center.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Penta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penta Hotel

Also Known As:
Penta Hotel Singapore
Address: 33 Birch Road, Singapore 219894 , Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Rochor
Hotel Style:
#186 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#186 Spa Hotel in Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penta Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Penta Hotel to your Saves list