We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If a convenient location, and super-sized rooms are what you're after; Lanson has it.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lanson Place Winsland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lanson Place Winsland to your Saves list
Lanson Place Winsland
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   167, Penang Road, Singapore 238462, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 184 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“If a convenient location, and super-sized rooms are what you're after; Lanson has it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

A residential hotel in a prime location. Not cheap- but the rooms are apartment- sized.
There are effectively no views.
Fully equipped with in-room cooking facilities.
Wifi/internet work well.
Horrific noise problems- due to lack of soundproofing between rooms.
Walking distance to Orchard Rd. shopping

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_LPWS, General Manager at Lanson Place Winsland, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Xerophytic.

Thank you very much for your kind review of our property and we certainly appreciate your feedback on our shortfalls.

We are geared for a renovation, which will look into the arrears such as better sound-proofing for the windows. We are certain that you will be more comfortable on your next stay with us.

Wishing you a Happy New Year and thank you once again for the reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    27
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
51
9
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed in the one 3-bed room apartment with our two young children - giving full options to recover from jet lag. Furnishing slightly tired and could do with updating and gym small but everything else was great - loved the rooftop pool and large jacuzzi which we mostly had to ourselves. Really good restaurant street close by with good supermarket. Really helpful staff - thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_LPWS, General Manager at Lanson Place Winsland, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Polly B,

Thank you very much for your kind review for Lanson Place Winsland, Singapore.

We are very happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us along with your family.
Here's wishing you and your family a very Happy New Year and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

A fabulous service apartment especially if staying with kids

Pros

Location
-3 min walk to Orchard rd, Somerset Mrt and Killiney rd cafes incl killiney kopita, killiney curry puff, and Chinese bun place

Excellent service - all round.
- Staff go out of their way to make you welcome.
- guest manager walked me to the street to show me where to go for breakfast
- delivered a complimentary birthday cake for my son (date noted on the passport)

Amenities
- washer and dryer in the apartment
- cable
- high chair and cot provided for toddler

Apartment
- large and clean

Cons

no driveway for taxi.
- But there is a taxi rank outside a orchard central on Penang Rd (3 min walk)

Beds are a little hard

Toilets are a little noisy

In our view the pros easily outweigh the cons.
Will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: When booking, request a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_LPWS, General Manager at Lanson Place Winsland, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear AussieBludger;

Thank you very much for your kind review, mate, and I am very happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Lanson Place Winsland.

I am looking into our situation where some beds may be a little too firm for our residents and will be replacing them with newer, softer ones for added comfort.

You will also be pleased to note that we are exploring possibilities of refurbishing our beautiful property, so as to provide even better landscaping and frontage to our existing property. We anticipate our completed works to address noise issues as well as provide added services such as breakfast, for all our residents.

I look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again soonest possible and thank you once again for your valuable feedback.

From all of us at Lanson Place Winsland Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We travelled with our two young children and this property was excellent in every respect. Upon our arrival the front desk spotted us struggling up the stairs as we were arriving by the less convenient front entrance and immediately rushed out to greet us(by name) & assist us. The service from the one man front desk was excellent throughout our stay and highlighted how one person with the right attitude,experience & knowledge is much better than the large hotel receptions staffed by multiple young trainees.The apartment was large clean, well equipped and as we were not adjoining to another property on three sides also very quiet. The business centre is well equippped & free ,pool is never busy & excelllent in size & temperature.
Difficult to find any fault but minor problems were the lack of car waiting space anywhere near the entrance & the apartment was a little dark at night if you wish to read because of the lack of major lights (lots of dim lamps). Killiney road has a 2h hour large supermarket, a variety of small restaurants inckuding a great breakfast Kopi hoiuse although one the real food organic restaurant on the Singtel building side was aweful .
We used the BBQ next to the pool twice which is free for 5 persons or less. Supposedly the apartments facing Eber road are quieter than those facing Penang road with the bus stop & Bar.

Room Tip: Facing Eber road rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_LPWS, General Manager at Lanson Place Winsland, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Familyman888;

Thank you very much for your kind review and I do appreciate your indication of our staff at Guest Services, who had provided your family with the best of service expected.

Here at Lanson Place Winsland, we pride ourselves in being personable and we do pay attention to small details and requests. We will go out of our way to ensure that our residents are well taken care of.

I do have some good news for you and that is we are exploring some refurbishment works that will give us a frontage to our existing property. Vehicles will be able to stop conveniently, regardless of weather. I anticipate the works to address noise issues and we also add an extra milestone with the provision of breakfast for all our residents, something which has been long requested for.

As you are residing in Hong Kong, do visit our sister hotel - the Lanson Place Hong Kong, which is an award winning boutique hotel located in Causeway Bay. I am sure you will be impressed and do recommend visiting friends to stay there.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we will certainly continue to strive in improving our standards for many more years to come.

From all of us at Lanson Place Winsland Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for a week in August. It was a great experience. We have stayed at serviced apartments in many parts of the world and Lanson Place Winsland in Singapore is as good as any and better than most.
The rooms are spacious and well equipped; the rooms have excellent air-conditioning; the staff were without exception friendly & helpful; & the location was ideal for us as tourists (close to shopping, restaurants & transport).
For us the place could not be faulted & added to the enjoyment of our trip.
(The unanimously positive reviews about this place made me mildly sceptical, but I now understand them.)
I highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_LPWS, General Manager at Lanson Place Winsland, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Chris B;

Thank you very much for your kind review and feedback on your recent stay with us in August.

I am very grateful for the kind words that you have shared and it will only be testament to encourage our colleagues to strive harder for all our residents.

Please do return to stay with us again and I look forward to welcoming you personally.

Thank you and have a wonderful Merry Christmas!

From all of us a Lanson Place Winsland Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Since 2006 my family and I have been travelling to Singapore each year for 1 month vacations, and have always stayed at Lanson Place. The location, accommodation, amenities and friendliness of all the staff, from the manager to the maids,truly make this a Home from Home. From the time we start the booking process with Terecia, until the day we leave for the airport to return home, everyone is helpful and very efficient in their jobs. Nothing is too much trouble for Rose, Frankie, Sonny or any member of staff to assist you with. The location is so very convenient to Orchard Road and all the M.R.T stations. The only small faults I can mention are the carpets in the rooms are not as cooling as tiles or wood flooring, and they also tend to retain the smell of the animals which have stayed in the apartment. Also, the shower/bath combination is not really ideal for older tenants, as the bath is quite high, and can be difficult for getting into.. Having stayed at Lanson Place in Shanghai and Beijing, which are much more modern apartments, and have shower stalls and wood or tile flooring, I think that Lanson Place Winsland would benefit from upgrading. I would definitely recommend these apartments for anyone who is looking for accommodation in Singapore, long or short term

Room Tip: The rooms are good size and the amenities in the rooms are more than adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We needed a hotel at the last minute, having previously intended to stay with friends in Singapore. We were there with the kids, so four of us, and needed two rooms. All the hotels we found in Orchard Road area were very expensive, or fully booked. I found Lanson Place on Trip Advisor and didn't actually expect them to accept our booking as it was only 3 nights but they mustn't have been very full because they did. It was much cheaper than a hotel, had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a large lounge and very well equipped kitchen. The pool on the top is lovely, the gym is modern and well equipped and there is free wi fi in every room. No restaurant in the building but a supermarket only 5 mins walk away.

Excellent location and can't fault it, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lanson Place Winsland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanson Place Winsland

Address: 167, Penang Road, Singapore 238462, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 184 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lanson Place Winsland 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lanson Place Winsland Residences are conveniently located near to Singapore's famous Orchard Road. Close to commercial district & shopping precinct, yet in the midst of lush greenlands and garden. There is a choice of 67 spacious and fully Serviced Residences. Each created with a homely atmosphere with excellent facilities such as Broadband Internet and Cable TV. For those who appreciate the easier lifestyle not found in five-star hotels but want quality and service, Lanson Place Residences are ideal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lanson Place Winsland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanson Place Winsland Hotel Singapore
Lanson Place Winsland Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanson Place Winsland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.