We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, tiny bathroom, no hot water.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fragrance Hotel - Selegie

Save Saved
You added Fragrance Hotel - Selegie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fragrance Hotel - Selegie
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   183 Selegie Road, Singapore 188329, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #178 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great location, tiny bathroom, no hot water.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a good area, and close to tourist places. The room was a little small and the bathroom was tiny. Shower over toilet, you have to get changed in the room. We had no hot water either.

Over all the hotel was very clean, air con worked well and friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlobalPremiumHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fragrance Hotel - Selegie, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank your feedback.

I would like to clarify that there is hot shower facility in the hotel. You would however need to turn on the heater switch located on the wall oustide the bathroom to enjoy the hot shower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    99
    144
    57
    36
See reviews for
79
71
34
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
baguio
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked this hotel without reading tripadvisor reviews, thinking that fragrance selegie would be pretty much like the other fragrance hotels. Our flight into Singapore was arriving at midnight, and we needed a play to just sleep before our flight the next day.

First the good:
1. location and distance to the airport- fragrance selegie is around the bugis area. travel time to and from the airport took less than 20 minutes each way. Nighttime taxi fare was sg$24, day fare to the airport less than sg$20.

2. Budget friendly. We booked direct through their website, paid less than sg175 for the family room. Included in the rate were taxes, breakfast, wifi for 3 devices.

3. friendly, helpful and attentive staff

4. room was clean, beds were comfortable (not leather). Woke up rested. Air conditioning worked properly. Strong and steady water pressure from the shower. Thick and newish towels.

5. Quick check in and check out

Now the not so good..

1. Strong smell of insecticide outside the bedroom area at the 9th floor. We asked to be moved to another room. The one at the 4th floor did not smell as bad. The receptionist did say the insecticide was environment friendly and wasn't harmful to humans.

2. Tiny bedroom and bathroom. No shower stall, the shower was over the sink.

Room Tip: Read tripadvisor reviews first so you know what to expect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Actually we booked room at fragrance elegance but there was a trouble with the room so we moved to fragrance selegie. Its okey for us, because they gave us free breakfast, free wifi, and free taxi from elegance to selegie. The hotel is bigger than elegance, also near to little india mrt, small room but clean, friendly staff, love the location.. nice budget hotel..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights alone for business. The reason to choose this hotel is cheap price, already have experience with fragrance hotel and location near to mustafa :) but the hotel condition is much different then other fragrance I ever stayed in the city

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Easy to MRT station at Dhoby Ghout about 10 min walking distance. Going for USS at HarbourFront using North East Line MRT and Marina Bay using Cirle Line. Hotel is just enough for 2 person. Surrounded by few shopping mall and 7 eleventh next to hotel entrance

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Surabaya, Indonesia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have booked for 4 nights stay at Singapore via our travel agent in Indonesia. But unfortunately we only get 2 nights stay at Fragrance Hotel Selegie Singapore and another 2 nights stay at Royal Fragrance at Teluk Blangah Road. But we are quite surprised to know that we have to pay extra charge of S$ 30 due to our early check in. We arrived at around 1 pm, and reffered to the hotel regulation the check in time is 3 pm. So we decided to leave our luggage at the lobby wtih covering net as they are provided. After having meals and take a walk around the hotel then we checked-in late in the afternoon. And we are quite shocked with the tiny bed-room and tiny bathroom that we have to change our clothes outside the bathroom since the bathroom is too small that the shower can make our changing clothes soak wet if we put it inside the bathroom. We booked 4 bedroom with 9 member of the family so that one of the bedroom fill with 3 person, and one of us should sleep on the floor, But the hotel staff offering us one free pillow and one free blanket, It's very kind of them. We really appreciate it.
And the second day we decide to move to the bigger room that can fit 3 person. They offered us a family room with one queen size bed and one single bed with extra charge of S$ 20 and we decided to take it for one night since on the next day this room is has been reserved by another guest. On the third day, reffered to our booking with our travel agent, we have to move to another Fragrance Hotel at Teluk Blangah, but once again we asking a favour to the hotel staff whether we can still stay for one another extra night at Fragrance Hotel Selegie since we are not ready to do packing. And thank God the rooms are still available unti the next day. Once again thank you to the hotel staff Miss Michelle that has been very helpful to us, we really appreciate it. On the fourth day morning, we have already packed up to move to another Fragrance Hotel at Teluk Blangah and the hotel staff arrange for us a minibus for transportation to bring us and our luggages to Teluk Blangah Road.
After arriving and entering our bedroam at Teluk Blangah we really shocked to find out that our bedroom didn't have any windows. But what the hacked, we only stay here for one night and we checked out early in the morning to go to the airport. With the same price we still preferred the Fragrance Hotel Selegie rather than Royal Fragrance Hotel at Teluk Blangah.
And the transportation is much more convinience in Fragrance Hotel at Selegie Road since it was very close to Little India MRT Station, and also the bus stop is only one step away in front the hotel gates. The Royal Fragrance Hotel at Teluk Blangah also close to the bus stop but takes about 10 minutes walk to the nearest MRT Station (Harbour Front MRT Station)

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad, Norway
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Yes, the rooms are tiny and the bathrooms extraordinaire. We knew that before we booked. Still, for a family with kids (aged 12 and 14), we wanted to live centrally and to have a pool, without having to pay too much. In Singapore this is what you get, I think.

We did not have breakfast included. We tried the hotel breakfast once, but ended up eating at the Subway restaurant down the street instead. Better and cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fragrance Hotel - Selegie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel - Selegie

Address: 183 Selegie Road, Singapore 188329, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#178 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fragrance Hotel - Selegie 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Fragrance Hotel - Selegie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Hotel Singapore
Fragrance Hotel Selegie Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fragrance Hotel - Selegie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.