We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel

Save Saved
You added Peninsula Excelsior Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.5 Coleman Street, Singapore 179 805, Singapore (Downtown Core)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good hotel and good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here before 8 years the good part is that it's the same which is also the bad part! The hotel is clean and simple. It's best features that it has an outside shower that can be used after checkout by hotel users. Also the location in next to city hall MRT which is a very good connection for most tourist areas. Furthermore if you are going for some IT matters and camera Funan IT is just round the corner, and there is a seven eleven close by. The room are very best nothing special about them just a bed, tv and a small desk. The basic amenities are available. The only issue I had was the drain of water was a bit slow but not bad! Also the corridor had a funny smell.. Keeping in mind the hotel is old the cleanliness of the hotel is really impressive.... Bottomline if you are just using to hotel to sleep then its a good choice for the amount you pay but do not expect 5 star facilities, services are 5 star this I can say.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    689
    463
    186
    114
See reviews for
296
522
147
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I booked this hotel over Hotwire expecting something really special at a great rate and ended up with a very average hotel at normal prices. There are much better places in Singapore I wouldn't advise staying here. Not suitable for business at all. Rooms are in bad need of upgrading

Room Tip: Don't bother with this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have stayed in hotel several times. It has a great location, near to Funan, Raffles City, Clarke Quay, and also the MRT station is the interchange station, so it makes us easy to choose our route (Orchard or chinatown area). The Room is nice, but no Wifi facilities, only certain type of room has it. Easy to access to the near by restaurant for breakfast, lunch or dinner. You can have a dinner in the restaurant in the top of the building and it has a fantastic view of Singapore (Marina Bay, Suntec, Esplanade).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is my second home while in Singapore, at least that is the easy going atmosphere from the lounge. The hotel has a great location on walking distance from nice places to visit for culture and/or food.
The service of the business lounge, Miss Sabino and team, is great.
The breakfast t th lounge is quite basic for people who prefer much choice, for me it is ideal as they serve exactly what I like.
The view from the lounge is spectacular and remind me why I get the peace-of-mind while in hectic Asia.
Drawback: you don't earn points as frequent guest

Room Tip: Level 22 for easy lounge access, in any case ask for bay-view if at other level
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here a number of times on transit stop over , Staff are nice and friendly the hotel is central to shopping malls/ MRT,and bus stops Bedrooms are Spacious bath room /shower a tad on the small size other than that enjoyed my stay in Singapore

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very good location for the river tourist areas - Clarke Quay, Raffles City and China Town. Rooms were fine - clean,not big - and ours had a nice view over Marina Bay. The lifts were a bit noisy at night as we were right beside them. The breakfast was $20 each which is over priced when there are so many alternatives nearby.

Room Tip: Opt for a higher floor to get views and avoid rooms near the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Excellent location, rooms are spacious and the beds were wonderfully firm. Pity about those dreadful bath showers which are almost impossible to use with safety! Oh for a good Australian shower....We had breakfast with the locals just around the corner for about $5 per person, thereby avoiding the costly hotel breakfast spreads. Staff were very polite and totally cooperative. To our dismay the small fridge was not turned on when we arrived, thereby rendering it useless. Why supply an empty warm fridge to tired travellers? Apart from these small problems we enjoyed our 3 day stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Family-friendly...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Hotel Royal at Queens
Hotel Royal at Queens
#108 of 292 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Luxury, Charmin...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Grand Park City Hall
Grand Park City Hall
#73 of 292 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,001 reviews
Pool, Luxury, Q...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#103 of 292 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Riverview Hotel Singapore
Riverview Hotel Singapore
#115 of 292 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
City Center, Po...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#39 of 292 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 1,623 reviews
Quiet, Free int...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#99 of 292 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Excelsior Hotel

Address: No.5 Coleman Street, Singapore 179 805, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Downtown Core
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#131 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peninsula Excelsior Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of the city within easy reach to exciting landmarks in Singapore including the Singapore Night Race circuit which is just 2 minutes walk away as it is one of the trackside hotels.Just 5 minutes walk to City Hall MRT Interchange where the North-South, East-West MRT lines meet and also to the popular night spot at Clarke Quay. Only 5 minutes drive to the Esplanade, Marina Bay Sands Casino and Convention Centre, Chinatown and Orchard Road tourist shopping belt. 10 minutes drive to Resorts World Sentosa Casino and Universal Studios theme park. 20 minutes drive to Changi International Airport.The two towers of Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel offer 600 guests rooms and suites with simple luxury as well as function rooms for seminars and wedding banquets. The hotel also offers a business center and a tour desk to assist with travel arrangements.Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel Singapore is an excellent choice for business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Peninsula Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore
Peninsula Excelsior Singapore
Peninsula Singapore
Peninsula Hotel Singapore
Singapore Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peninsula Excelsior Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.