We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Peninsula Excelsior Hotel to your Saves list
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.5 Coleman Street, Singapore 179 805, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 days 2 nights for my business trip.
Basically, I satisfied with this hotel with great location. Near to the shopping mall, walking distance of MRT.
I have been this hotel as well last year for 3 times and not much difference since then.
The only problem that I had was they gave me a double single bed instead of double bed.
The booking was made on last week and by right, they should reserve that room for me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    949
    624
    224
    132
See reviews for
404
722
196
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

In March we stayed in the Peninsula for 3 nights as part of a stopoverpackage from Singapot Airline.It was the best place to be in Singapor.The Marina Bay Sands Hotel was the great view from our room window.WOW!Two minute walk to the train station and fourty meters to the busstop.

The hotel was clean and very welcoming staff.The rooms were small but very well decorated and equiped.Thr bathroom was very modern with shower and bathtub and clean.All the small detail that you would expect from a top hotel.We even got a paper every morning.

The buffet breakfast was excellent with world cuisine on offer.

Two swimmingpools and a gym to use.

Would stay there again anytime!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights here in course of a stopover between London and Melbourne. The hotel is central to the sights of the city and has easy access to the MRT system. The room was a good size and clean and the hotel facilites were very good. Breakfast provided a wide choice although the hot food could have been hotter. This hotel provided us with a comfortable, pleasant base for a convenient stopover.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Rooms were a bit tired looking, need some maintenance, but were large, bed comfortable and quite a nice bathroom. Had a lovely buffet breakfast, 50% discount if you were flying with Singapore Airlines, worked out to be NZ$17. OK for a stopover.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a lovely hotel within a great location for getting around SIngapore both by walking and transport. Large clean bedroom. Good sized swimming pool. Friendly staff. Superb buffet breakfast. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on a Singapore Airlines stopover package. We were picked up from the airport about 20 mins after reporting to the SIA stopover desk and taken to the hotel which took about 20 minutes. Check in was smooth and the desk clerk very polite and efficient. We were given a room on the 11th floor at the back of the Excelsior Tower overlooking the fire station across the road. The room was adequate for our short stay as there were a lot of doors banging quite late at night so I wouldn't have liked to stay longer. Our package did not include meals and because the hotel meals were expensive we chose to eat out. There is a small cafe at the entrance to the hotel called Spirellis where you can get breakfast and it's very reasonable.
It is very central and within walking distance to the river and popular Clarke Quay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great hotel with nice rooms, professional service. Breakfast menu could have been better. The location of the hotel is excellent. Bathrooms are tiny but i was amazed to see how they fitted a bathtub even in this tiny bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peninsula Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Excelsior Hotel

Address: No.5 Coleman Street, Singapore 179 805, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#84 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Peninsula Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of the city within easy reach to exciting landmarks in Singapore including the Singapore Night Race circuit which is just 2 minutes walk away as it is one of the trackside hotels.Just 5 minutes walk to City Hall MRT Interchange where the North-South, East-West MRT lines meet and also to the popular night spot at Clarke Quay. Only 5 minutes drive to the Esplanade, Marina Bay Sands Casino and Convention Centre, Chinatown and Orchard Road tourist shopping belt. 10 minutes drive to Resorts World Sentosa Casino and Universal Studios theme park. 20 minutes drive to Changi International Airport.The two towers of Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel offer 600 guests rooms and suites with simple luxury as well as function rooms for seminars and wedding banquets. The hotel also offers a business center and a tour desk to assist with travel arrangements.Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel Singapore is an excellent choice for business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Peninsula Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore
Peninsula Excelsior Singapore
Peninsula Singapore
Peninsula Hotel Singapore
Singapore Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peninsula Excelsior Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.