We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peninsula Excelsior Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Peninsula Excelsior Hotel to your Saves list
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.5 Coleman Street, Singapore 179 805, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #133 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Queensland, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2008

My friend and I stayed here in October 2007 - we're Aussies. We stayed on Excelsior floor 14 which was renovated, non-smoking, clean and air-conditioning working. The breakfast was satisfactory. We arrived at 11pm and the staff were helpful which was a surprise after the reviews I had read. We asked housekeeping for a power converter for an electrical appliance we'd brought with us and it was delivered within 10 minutes. We really only slept in the hotel and didn't have time to use the pool or any other facilities but that wasn't the purpose of our stay. The rooms were poorly lit (no reading in bed possible) though clean and comfortable. The only complaint was that the swipe card keys to access the lift and room took 20 swipes to open the room - the magnetic strip was worn out - other people I met in the lift also had the same problem.

Overall, it is a reasonably priced hotel with great location but for such a cheap price it is good value - don't expect the Westin or Raffles,

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — faulty room swipe keys
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    781
    529
    205
    120
See reviews for
339
599
164
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
srilanka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

The hotel staff service is really bad. Rooms are too small. Their service is really bad. If we ask or order something they takes 1-2 hrs to send it.
Before we went to Singapore, we arranged our tour package with a Travel Agent Colombo, and we got a holiday package for Three people. We Ordered a TRIPLE room & paid also for THREE.
After we went to the "Peninsula hotel" (4th November 2007) they had given, every thing only for two.(We got two single beds, Two cups for tea/Coffee, two toothbrushes & two water glasses).Then I went down to the reception & told to send an Extra bed. They said O.K.
At around 9.00p.m. I ordered a Club Sandwich from room service too.
After 5-6 reminders we got a bed to my mother around 10.30 p.m. After that I took another call and ask whether we can get the sandwich to my mother because she was very tired. Then that girl apologies for their delay, & ask another 15 minutes to send that.
On the 7th we checked out from the hotel at 4.30 a.m. unfortunately I kept my SONY Video Camera with Cassettes & Batteries (worth LKR55,000/= ; all those in one bag) in the room, behind the TV & forgot to take that. It was a blue colour small bag. After I came to Sri Lanka I called to the hotel & told, “Morning around 3 o’clock ; I locked my bags and put all the keys inside the “Video Camera Bag” and kept it on the table, but I forgot to bring it down…, Please check whether it’s there?” They said “NO , Nothing”. But I know I kept that in the room may be some one stolen it. WHAT A POOR SERVICE THAT HOTEL GAVE US????
I never go to this hotel again!

  • Liked — I did not like Peninsula Hotel,Singapore
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
657 reviews 657 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 178 cities Reviews in 178 cities
716 helpful votes 716 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2008

I stayed at this hotel twice in one week while I went into Malaysia in the time between. The location is terrific for exploring the central area. It is a short walk to the City Hall subway station which can connect you to all other parts of the island/nation. The Parliament building is only a block away. The riverfront with a wide variety food and drinks is only a few blocks away on Bridge street. The first room seemed dark and not lit very well, not a good room to work out of. The second room was 1814, which I was told was the honeymoon suite. It had plenty of terrific views of the city and was much more comfortable. It was better suited for work and/or play. In general, Singapore is very expensive and this hotel seemed reasonable for the location.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — high prices of breakfast
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

I stayed in deluxe room at 12th floor in Excelsior tower for 2 days. The room was cosy and clean due to this room was renovated room.

Location was great. Most convenient location. Shopping centre is located acoss the street and thre are so many restaurants around the hotel.
Also very close to City Hall MRT station (around 2 mins walk) and close to Bugis Street as well.

Concierge was courteous and friendly.

If you are staying in this hotel, ask for renovated room.
You'll not regret your stay when you stay in renovated room.

I'll recommend this hotel to someone who is staying for short time due to room size is small .

  • Liked — Great Location
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

I have just spent 12 nights in what is without a shadow of a doubt the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. From Central America through Europe into Central Asia I have never stayed in such an awful place. The rooms are terrible with the most awful lighting. However this pales into insignificance when compared to the service. It took 5 days alone for them to fix the television and it was a lottery as to whether I had clean towels placed in the room. Also the air conditioning worked shifts and never came on when you were in the room. Last but not least I must mention the food. If there is 1 piece of advice I can give you it is this. If you find yourself in the unfortunate position of having to stay in this hotel then do not under any circumstances eat the food. I can assure you it will spoil your stay on the Island. I leave you with this one piece of advice. DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The fact that there was only 1 working lift serving 20 odd floors
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2008

This was supposed to be a stop-over.... and this was the only hotel we had trusted our travel agent to book on his own without ocnsulting us...... throughout our trips we had stayed in a five star accommodation only..... and our agent assured us that a four star in singapore is like a five star anywhere else in the world.....

the only good thing about this hotel is its location..... its in the heart of the city, so most of the city attrcations are a walkable distance.....

thats where the good things of the hotel stops.....

carpets are dirty...... rooms so small dat after u put your luggage , there is no place to move....the smoking floors truely smell....... u have to hold your breath to go to the lift.......the pool is so small and it faces the lobby which is a very awkward location too....

i will not recommend this hotel to anyone at all.......

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everthing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

Everything been said about this hotel is true. I wish i stayed
in other hotel.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peninsula Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Excelsior Hotel

Address: No.5 Coleman Street, Singapore 179 805, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Peninsula Excelsior Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the heart of the city within easy reach to exciting landmarks in Singapore including the Singapore Night Race circuit which is just 2 minutes walk away as it is one of the trackside hotels.Just 5 minutes walk to City Hall MRT Interchange where the North-South, East-West MRT lines meet and also to the popular night spot at Clarke Quay. Only 5 minutes drive to the Esplanade, Marina Bay Sands Casino and Convention Centre, Chinatown and Orchard Road tourist shopping belt. 10 minutes drive to Resorts World Sentosa Casino and Universal Studios theme park. 20 minutes drive to Changi International Airport.The two towers of Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel offer 600 guests rooms and suites with simple luxury as well as function rooms for seminars and wedding banquets. The hotel also offers a business center and a tour desk to assist with travel arrangements.Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel Singapore is an excellent choice for business and holiday travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Peninsula Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Excelsior Hotel Singapore
Peninsula Excelsior Singapore
Peninsula Singapore
Peninsula Hotel Singapore
Singapore Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peninsula Excelsior Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.