We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 81 - Sakura

Save Saved
You added Hotel 81 - Sakura to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 81 - Sakura
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Joo Chiat Rd, Singapore 427452, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #176 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“decent budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here on our recent trip to Singapore mainly due to the price which compared to most other hotels in Singapore was pretty cheap, the hotel and rooms themselves were all Japanese themed, clean and were well kitted out with wifi,tv, tea/coffee making facilities and toiletries. The staff during the day were friendly and helpful however we found the staff taking over at night to be a bit rude and unresponsive. The hotel itself is located in the red light district which posed no problems and only added more colour to the place. On the doorstep is a laundromat, 7 eleven and a variety of other shops, cafes and eateries along Joo Chiat Road and the nearest SMRT stop, Paya Lebar is also within walking distance, allowing access to all the major tourist attractions.
Good for a budget stay if you don't have high expectations and are just looking for a bed for the night after exploring the rest of the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    29
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
5
18
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We missed our flight going back home and we stayed there for a night. Nothing much to say about the hotel but it helped us a lot. When we missed our flight, we were looking for a cheap hotel for a night and the airport counter gave us this hotel. Surprisingly one of my wife's cousin's apartment was just a walking distance from this hotel that actually helped us a lot.

Anyway, the hotel is fine, clean and.....I should say okay for one nigh. Its very hard to find a hotel with this rate that offers this quality in Singapore. You can find many yummy restaurants around Joo Chiat road.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

A very nice feeling hotel with the concept of Japanese style.
I booked a twin room for me n my colleague, it is not a spacious room but the room condition is just nice for us. Surrounding of this hotel is full of pub and restaurant, therefore it wont be a problem for us to having our dinner after our work and for sure the entertainment in the pub as well..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phang Nga, Thailand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was my second stay in Singapore in as many months and this budget hotel was several grades higher than my previous budget accomodation.
The foyer is fairly non- desript and the room was smallish but certainly adequate for my overnight stay. I found the room clean, with a pleasant ambience and all the facilities in place. Make your own tea/ coffee or wander down to the many restaurants nearby. Yes, it's in the red light area of Singapore but Singapore is a very safe place and just adds a bit of colour to the adventure.
The staff are warm, friendly and helpful. I would have no hesitation in staying there next time in Singapore.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I gave it a three only because of the price. The room was reasonable but I had to go down to the front desk to get towels. And there isn't even a curtain for the shower, just a hand held spray. It is pretty clear this is the red light district of Singapore. On the positive side that means lots of bars and restaurants nearby. I booked this hotel because it close to the airport. So, fine for a short overnight stay but I would not recommend it for anything longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Booked thru last minute.com for $69 a night. Very small but clean, quiet and dark in room perfect for getting some sleep after travel. Easy walk to public transport.
Manager Jimmy very helpfully in planning a inexpensive day trip.
Will stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was one of the hotels I stayed in as part of my survey of budget hotels. I liked it better than the Hotel 81 Opera, which is diagonally across Joo Chiat Road, because the oddly shaped room did not feel claustraphobic even though it didn't have a window; it seemed more spacious.

There is another Hotel 81 called Changi that isn't on Trip Advisor. It is a nice enough budget hotel and it rents rooms by the hour. ;-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 81 - Sakura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Sakura

Address: 181 Joo Chiat Rd, Singapore 427452, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#176 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
#176 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Sakura 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel 81 - Sakura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Sakura Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 81 - Sakura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.