We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay peanuts, you get.....?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 81 - Sakura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel 81 - Sakura to your Saves list
Hotel 81 - Sakura
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Joo Chiat Rd, Singapore 427452, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #169 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Timaru
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“You pay peanuts, you get.....?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is my Singapore's home-away-from-home. It may not have everything but it's good enough for me. It's located in the area where Vietnamese food is to be found easily. Karaoke lounges are everywhere and this is where men would come and meet their ladies of the night. Thus, Hotel 81 is at the right location to cater for such needs but it is also catering to the need of a traveller like myself who's looking for value-for-money accommodation option that's slightly better than backpackers. Backpackers in Singapore is different from the ones in Europe where they easily cram in 50 beds in one big hall. The room is big enough for a double bed and it so happened that the bed here is comfortable. The shower pressure is great! Wi-fi could be purchased at Sg$10 a day. There's a table but no chair but that doesn't matter that much to me. I don't use TV anyway. For Sg$75 a night, there's nothing to complain about. Hotel 81 never promises the world and it is what it is and that's good enough to me. Singapore is a tiny place. Public transport is never an issue as taxis are everywhere. The place is so well-policed and so brightly lit that solo female jogger could be found exercising at 1am! Don't have sweet condiments laying around because there are ants everywhere! That's not the fault of the hotel but that we are in a tropical country and thus, this is a norm. BUT one word of caution, this is ideal for the budget conscious and not suitable for those guests that are looking for 4 stars treatment!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    30
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
5
19
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

If you have little money to spend on accommodation then this would be the hotel chain for you. The only advantage of this hotel is the location as it was very easy to access all parts of Singapore from here and there were plenty of places to eat outside within walking distance. Even though it was classed as being in the red light district there was a mosque a few minutes walk from the hotel. It was slightly noisy at night but this was expected as there are a few nightclubs in this road, however it felt very safe there as the reception was constantly manned. The free wifi offer is very deceiving as once connected it would kick you out after a couple of minutes and you would have to sign in again which was very frustrating. Also we had to request a password every day which again was very frustrating. The hotel is very basic with no frills attached, however if you have a chance you should stay in Malaysia just across the border in Johor Bahru as what you pay for budget hotel accommodation in Singapore, for less that the price of this hotel you would get a far better deal in Malaysia i.e. breakfast, larger room and a view.

Room Tip: The rooms we were shown and stayed in both had windows but the windows do not open and they are too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Stayed there for just a night between arrival from Phnom Penh and going to a Malaysian Island. The room is very small (the small queen size bed and 50 cm around) and a small bathroom. All a little bit run down, not charming at all, like an old hostel. Free Wifi was good. To sleep there for one night it was ok, but the absolut minimum. Would not stay there longer although the 79S$ are relatively cheap for Singapore.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed here due to it's distance to customer's location. It's cheap, rooms are clean, toilets are clean. Adequate for a decent night's sleep. Wifi's FREE, so that great for the price.

Rooms are tiny tho, Don't really have any space to do any work on the laptop, other than the bed.

As long as you use this hotel just for it's bed for a nights sleep, then it's fine, which is probably their target market anyway.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We had an overnight (6 hours total) stay in Singapore, so we opted for something cheap, clean and close to the airport. Little did we know what we were getting ourselves in for!! Upon check is, we hear a loud argument, then a lady half naked runs into the lobby arguing with a man about 'payment'. Check in staff barely flinched at the commotion indicating this sort of event is normal.
Trying to avoid eye contact with the lady and man, I looked at the wall and saw that rooms could be rented by the hour... this was not on the Expedia website when I booked!
As we were only here for a few hours, and were exhausted from travelling, we went upstairs to our room, which STUNK of cigarettes. When we called down to reception, we were told that all rooms are non-smoking (yeah right?!?) and that the only other room available was on the ground floor next to the arguing couple.
AVOID at all costs!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiangmai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This hotel is probably one of the better ones in this area, Geylang / Joo Chiat. Even so, to me nothing special. Room is very small, basically a bed and a bathroom. Hardly any space for sitting / walking. View from the window reminds me of a depressing labour class area, with nothing to look forward to.
The other hotels in this area are even worse, as they have blinded / no windows, because the prostitution scene here doesn't really appreciate views / viewers.
On the good site, there are many Vietnamese restaurants here, but the emphasis is more on the girls and not on the food.

Room Tip: Probably try another area in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Me and my friend went on a week's trip to Singapore and were looking for a budget hotel, instead of a backpacker's inn. Hotel 81 Sakura fits the bill... The good things are
1) clean rooms
2) service is not great but good enough
3) Free wi-fi
4) The toilets and bathrooms are clean.
5) Old architectural style.
6) Get a twin room.

Cons:
1) stuck in between MRT's. Closest one would be Paya Lebar or Eunos - each a walk of about 15 min
2) Not enough food joints around this place. Lots of pubs though.
3) Situated in Geylang (red light district), so late night, you can see a lot of women around.
4) For Indians specifically, no indian eateries around this place.
5) not enough space in the room, but then it does not really matter, as you are not going to spend the day in the room.
6) You have got to call the reception for managing the AC temperature.

Room Tip: Try their own online reservation system too, as there might be better deals in terms of room selecti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 81 - Sakura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Sakura

Address: 181 Joo Chiat Rd, Singapore 427452, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Sakura 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 81 - Sakura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Sakura Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 81 - Sakura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.