We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware the snoring elevator” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Keong Saik Hotel

Save Saved
You added Keong Saik Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Keong Saik Hotel
69 Keong Saik Road, Singapore 089165, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #140 of 292 hotels in Singapore
US
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Beware the snoring elevator”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We regularly stop over in Singapore, so decided to try this place out. Our verdict: the price is right, the room was clean but tiny, breakfast is cold eggs and cold cereal with warm toast, and we won’t stay here again. Our deluxe room shared a wall with the elevator, which kept a light sleeper like me awake with its intermittent groaning all through the night – not much different than sharing a room with someone who snores. If you do stay, pay a little more for the deluxe room, which has a window and is a little bigger, and get one as far away from the elevator as possible.

Room Tip: As above, get as far away from the elevator as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    14
    6
    9
See reviews for
5
16
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed here in year 2005. My impression was a small, clean bedroom and nice hotel. It is a budget hotel, so don't expect anything special. But the location is very good. It is near Chinatown which mean you can find food or things very cheap. The hotel also near the MRT Station. Just take a 5-10 minutes walk. For breakfast, it had a small bar with 4-5 person capacity and very standard menu and taste. Overall, it's a unique, cheap and nice hotel with great location.

Room Tip: Get the room in 1st floor with windows....it is better than other room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel really not a choice to stay for holiday.
They will spoiled your mood. The staff are not friendly,
the furniture and bed are so old. Old in term of need an upgrade of furniture,
especially the bed. The bathroom are small and unpleasant. The place are also noisy.
When we requests for late check out, the answer are no. Then if left the luggage at their counter,
they will charges by hour rate. What an unfriendly hotel!! If u want budget hotel near to MRT, there are lots more at that areas. Just top up extra $10-20, u got a much better choices. Anyway, the charges of late check out/leaving bag at the counter also equal to stay at the better hotel already.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

After reading reviews on this hotel we expected a small room and it to be very noisy. We booked the hotel due to its location and convenience for exploring Singapore. We were very pleasantly surprised, staff were friendly, the room was larger than expected and spotless. There was a bit of noise from the street but this settled down at about 2am. Breakfast was nice (and unexpected as this was not mentioned when i booked on-line).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

When on a city break what I want from a hotel is somewhere affordable, conveniently situated and clean. Against these criteria, the Keong Saik is a reasonable, if average, choice. My stay was for three nights in August 2012.

The hotel is located close to the heart of Singapore’s Chinatown market and attractions. It is a short five minute walk to Outram and Chinatown MRT stations and there is a taxi rank close by. The room was small but clean, tidy and functional. The bathroom was also ‘compact’ with a toilet, basin and very basic shower where the shower head moved around under its own free will according to the pressure of the water. Small tablets of soap and sachets of shampoo were the extent of the toiletries offered. Tea and coffee making facilities were supplied but there was no safety box for valuables.

Breakfast was included in the room rate but again this was basic with choice limited to cereal, toast, egg, juice, tea and coffee. All of the staff were friendly and courteous.

If and when I return to Singapore I may consider the Keong Saik again but would look around for alternatives in the same price range first.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I recently stayed in Keong Saik Hotel after running through the ratings and comments in Trip Advisor. It's pretty misleading from the pictures shown and I didn't have much of an expectation when I booked this hotel. In gist it's small and they charge 100 SGD for a room, eventhough the advert states that it's 85SGD, perhaps it's additional taxes and what not.

The location, decently located within walking distance from the Outram Park MRT, but from the MRT it's difficult to know where is the actual location since there is no landmark to pinpoint it's location. It's located right next to an Indian Temple and it's housed in a pre war shophouses, hence the term 'boutique' hotel. Along the same row there is a ridiculously small 7-11 convenience store.

Once in the premises, it's dingy looking and and dark. Electricity bills must be really expensive. It's no frills and the rooms is as small as it can be, similar to hotels in Hong Kong. Hardly had any room to walk. Water is chargeable at 2SGD a pop. The rooms are dark, and the lightings are scarce. There are cracks all over the wall and the most glarring thing is that there is NO WINDOWS, hence no ventilation whatsoever. The bathroom are small and basic, a shower is provided.

The mattress is acceptable but not comfy, blankets are old and torn. You get the gist of it. Room doors are thin and there is no latch apart from a safety hook.

Breakfast is provided, only 3 in 1 coffee, some juices, bread and eggs. Basic is the word of the day.

All in all, it might be a nostalgic experience for some, (not many if I may opine), Perhaps for Westerners this hotel might be appealing since they have not experience it before, but for many asians, the set up of this hotel, it's rooms and the services, are reminiscent of those cheap 'love hotels' where prostitutions are the main business.Would I stay here again? I definitely wont, even if it's the cheapest hotel around. Would I term this a boutique hotel, MOST DEFINATELY NOT.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed four nights in this hotel which offered low rates in mid-august. This place is old-style but not of bad taste. The first room we were given was small (+/- 15m²), but nice and clean (#101), with a simple decor and dark wooden floor. The bathroom was very small (2.5m²) with a toilet, a sink and a shower with curtains shrinked in. There was plenty of space & closets in the bedroom for our laundry, suitcases etc., as well as a minibar for which we were asked to pay a deposit of 10S$ upon check-in in case we would drink its water bottles! There was no safe in the room which we disliked very much, especially since there was a big warning on the door stating "do not leave any valuable in the room... the hotel management could not be held responsible in case of theft ... blablabla..." which was not reassuring. We had no other choice but to leave some valuables at the Reception's safe, but it was so tiny we had to carry most of them on us permanently.
In terms of comfort & quietness, room 101 should be absolutely avoided as it is the closest one to the lobby, the elevator's motor room, the breakfast room, and the noisy Keong Saik road. During the day, we missed some shadow curtains for more intimacy. At night, there was no black curtains at all the cover the upper window, so we suffered from the daylight. The noise was permanent day and night, and worsened by the trendy white cafe across the street with loud music up to 2am (except on sundays).
The rates included breakfast so it was cool to have an instant coffee, some toast, cereals and eggs on site. (there are only two coffee table so we guess when the hotel is packed breakfast must become epic!)
We asked the hotel to store our bags for 2 nights. The Reception staff agreed but asked us to pay 3S$ per piece, even if we had made a booking for the following night. Of course, for that price, our luggage stayed in the lobby during 48 hours since there is no storage room!
It looked like every little extra service has a cost in this hotel, and it was not pleasant.
Finally, when we returned, we were given a nice room on the third floor, on the street but away from the elevator. We really enjoyed that one as it was bigger and quieter.
If we were given this room from the beginning, we would have stayed in this hotel until the end of our journey. But the room 101 made us sceptical and we moved to a different hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 101 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Keong Saik Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keong Saik Hotel

Address: 69 Keong Saik Road, Singapore 089165, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#140 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#140 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Keong Saik Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keong Saik Singapore
Keong Saik Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keong Saik Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.