We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Keong Saik Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Keong Saik Hotel to your Saves list
Keong Saik Hotel
69 Keong Saik Road, Singapore 089165, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
KL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I recently stayed in Keong Saik Hotel after running through the ratings and comments in Trip Advisor. It's pretty misleading from the pictures shown and I didn't have much of an expectation when I booked this hotel. In gist it's small and they charge 100 SGD for a room, eventhough the advert states that it's 85SGD, perhaps it's additional taxes and what not.

The location, decently located within walking distance from the Outram Park MRT, but from the MRT it's difficult to know where is the actual location since there is no landmark to pinpoint it's location. It's located right next to an Indian Temple and it's housed in a pre war shophouses, hence the term 'boutique' hotel. Along the same row there is a ridiculously small 7-11 convenience store.

Once in the premises, it's dingy looking and and dark. Electricity bills must be really expensive. It's no frills and the rooms is as small as it can be, similar to hotels in Hong Kong. Hardly had any room to walk. Water is chargeable at 2SGD a pop. The rooms are dark, and the lightings are scarce. There are cracks all over the wall and the most glarring thing is that there is NO WINDOWS, hence no ventilation whatsoever. The bathroom are small and basic, a shower is provided.

The mattress is acceptable but not comfy, blankets are old and torn. You get the gist of it. Room doors are thin and there is no latch apart from a safety hook.

Breakfast is provided, only 3 in 1 coffee, some juices, bread and eggs. Basic is the word of the day.

All in all, it might be a nostalgic experience for some, (not many if I may opine), Perhaps for Westerners this hotel might be appealing since they have not experience it before, but for many asians, the set up of this hotel, it's rooms and the services, are reminiscent of those cheap 'love hotels' where prostitutions are the main business.Would I stay here again? I definitely wont, even if it's the cheapest hotel around. Would I term this a boutique hotel, MOST DEFINATELY NOT.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    14
    8
    11
See reviews for
8
23
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed four nights in this hotel which offered low rates in mid-august. This place is old-style but not of bad taste. The first room we were given was small (+/- 15m²), but nice and clean (#101), with a simple decor and dark wooden floor. The bathroom was very small (2.5m²) with a toilet, a sink and a shower with curtains shrinked in. There was plenty of space & closets in the bedroom for our laundry, suitcases etc., as well as a minibar for which we were asked to pay a deposit of 10S$ upon check-in in case we would drink its water bottles! There was no safe in the room which we disliked very much, especially since there was a big warning on the door stating "do not leave any valuable in the room... the hotel management could not be held responsible in case of theft ... blablabla..." which was not reassuring. We had no other choice but to leave some valuables at the Reception's safe, but it was so tiny we had to carry most of them on us permanently.
In terms of comfort & quietness, room 101 should be absolutely avoided as it is the closest one to the lobby, the elevator's motor room, the breakfast room, and the noisy Keong Saik road. During the day, we missed some shadow curtains for more intimacy. At night, there was no black curtains at all the cover the upper window, so we suffered from the daylight. The noise was permanent day and night, and worsened by the trendy white cafe across the street with loud music up to 2am (except on sundays).
The rates included breakfast so it was cool to have an instant coffee, some toast, cereals and eggs on site. (there are only two coffee table so we guess when the hotel is packed breakfast must become epic!)
We asked the hotel to store our bags for 2 nights. The Reception staff agreed but asked us to pay 3S$ per piece, even if we had made a booking for the following night. Of course, for that price, our luggage stayed in the lobby during 48 hours since there is no storage room!
It looked like every little extra service has a cost in this hotel, and it was not pleasant.
Finally, when we returned, we were given a nice room on the third floor, on the street but away from the elevator. We really enjoyed that one as it was bigger and quieter.
If we were given this room from the beginning, we would have stayed in this hotel until the end of our journey. But the room 101 made us sceptical and we moved to a different hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 101 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Have stayed here quite few times over the last decade. No, it's not top of the line, but it's decently run and I've never had any major cause for complaints. Rooms are basic, and very small: go for the most expensive - it's worth it for the extra space. Breakfast is fairly basic (cereals and toast) but at least it's part of the price. Staff generally helpful. Rooms kept reasonably well by the cleaning staff. Its biggest plus is the location in Chinatown - not too far from Outram Park MRT (an interchange station), and walking distance to almost anywhere in Chinatown. Great food on offer in the area, plus plenty of tourist traps! For the price it's a fairly good deal for Singapore. My only warning: watch out for when the Singapore F1 Night Race is on - prices jump (usually double) for several days. I hadn't been warned that one day of a stay at Keong Saik a couple of years ago overlapped with the F1 days (which were of no interest to me) and had to pay over $200 for my first night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road on the back of the hotel. Go for the top rate too - the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Prairie, Texas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This hotel doesn't have all the amenities as some, such as a fitness center, but has a lot of character. It's an old hotel, a bit small, but good value and clean. The staff are friendly and a free breakfast and internet are included. Although the internet is only available in the lobby area. The hotel is fairly quiet and located next to a Hindu temple and a short distance from Chinatown shopping. Nor is it far from the subway or the riverfront. We had a good time here. They don't seem to do day rates for those flights coming and leaving around midnight. I'd stay here again. The beds were firm and clean. I couldn't find any outlets though in the bathroom, but don't use them anyway.
I'm not sure what their policy is on smoking but could smell it from the road.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Travelling from Hong Kong to Singapore then Malaysia on11th July. Got the double deluxe room on second floor for ~SGD $110 per night. Excellent value for money. Great location in Chinatown near MRT station and hawker centers, Friendly accomodating service. The room is clean and tidy, has all the required amenities such as color TV, Fridge, Cabinets. Althougha bit small, the twin beds are quite wide and comfy. The elevator is new. You book and reservation then they'll write back promptly within a few days. Jenny the receptionist is pretty and nice lady. Will definitely recommend to all and come back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

After 1 minute inspection, and appalled at the state of the room, staff refused to give any sort of refund, and said the manager was "not available" without even trying to contact him/her. So if you are tempted by price, DON'T!!! You will be charged regardless if you stay or not. Worse, the hotel keeps your credit card details on file, and when confirming a reservation sends all your confidential info by email. We had to cancel our credit card afterwards because of fraud, as a result.
Good location, but there are so many other good hotels on the same street, why stay here when it hasn't been improved for years? Dirty, small. And staff are extremely unhelpful.
I am not surprised other TA reviewers call this place a "rip off." Globetrotting Gourmet

Room Tip: Go to Keong Saik Road, but NOT Keong Saik Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

Checked in at this hotel for 2 nights since all hotels at that time were full. We were given two small rooms, the size of a shoebox, to fit in 6 people, Extra bed is simply a mattress on the floor, which devoid it of space to walk around the room..., The furnishings were outdated - maybe it's the theme of their decor?
Never tried to have breakfast, as there is no place to eat in their small dining room.

The possitive side ...
- 3-5 mins walk to outram MRT station
- walking distance to chinatown
- courteous reception

other than that... better stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Keong Saik Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keong Saik Hotel

Address: 69 Keong Saik Road, Singapore 089165, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#157 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Keong Saik Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keong Saik Singapore
Keong Saik Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keong Saik Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.