We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat Little Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keong Saik Hotel

Save Saved
You added Keong Saik Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Keong Saik Hotel
69 Keong Saik Road, Singapore 089165, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #204 of 290 hotels in Singapore
Hong Kong
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Neat Little Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Travelling from Hong Kong to Singapore then Malaysia on11th July. Got the double deluxe room on second floor for ~SGD $110 per night. Excellent value for money. Great location in Chinatown near MRT station and hawker centers, Friendly accomodating service. The room is clean and tidy, has all the required amenities such as color TV, Fridge, Cabinets. Althougha bit small, the twin beds are quite wide and comfy. The elevator is new. You book and reservation then they'll write back promptly within a few days. Jenny the receptionist is pretty and nice lady. Will definitely recommend to all and come back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    12
    6
    9
See reviews for
5
13
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

After 1 minute inspection, and appalled at the state of the room, staff refused to give any sort of refund, and said the manager was "not available" without even trying to contact him/her. So if you are tempted by price, DON'T!!! You will be charged regardless if you stay or not. Worse, the hotel keeps your credit card details on file, and when confirming a reservation sends all your confidential info by email. We had to cancel our credit card afterwards because of fraud, as a result.
Good location, but there are so many other good hotels on the same street, why stay here when it hasn't been improved for years? Dirty, small. And staff are extremely unhelpful.
I am not surprised other TA reviewers call this place a "rip off." Globetrotting Gourmet

Room Tip: Go to Keong Saik Road, but NOT Keong Saik Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

Checked in at this hotel for 2 nights since all hotels at that time were full. We were given two small rooms, the size of a shoebox, to fit in 6 people, Extra bed is simply a mattress on the floor, which devoid it of space to walk around the room..., The furnishings were outdated - maybe it's the theme of their decor?
Never tried to have breakfast, as there is no place to eat in their small dining room.

The possitive side ...
- 3-5 mins walk to outram MRT station
- walking distance to chinatown
- courteous reception

other than that... better stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

I cancelled my booking but the hotel's supposedly error-free system did not reflect this and I was charged for 1 night stay. This is totally unacceptable.

By all means, avoid this hotel as they simply just put the blame on their customers.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

The double rooms are charming, old style furniture. But cramped up.
The single room is useless - small and without windows.
I would recommend staying in this hotel ONLY if you get a room with windows facing the main road - else avoid it and instead stay at any of the other Singapore star hotels.

The service is good and cheerful. Breakfast sparse (juice, microwaved eggs, milk, toast), breakfast space cramped up - 8 is a crowd!

I have to admit - the entrance, facade and lobbies all look impressive and have been done up well. Wish they had added some of the walkway space into the rooms instead!

This hotel thankfully has a elevator. Internet unfortunately is avbl only in the lobby (charged at 10 sing dollars per day). The lobby has some interesting photos and books to read (I always like that in hotels)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010 via mobile

Firstly, the reception refused to let us view the room before we make the payment (now I know why he insisted on payment first)!

When we went up to the room, it was no where near the impression that we had of a "boutique" hotel (perhaps the management should have a look at the real boutique hotel next door). The room was totally occupied by the queen bed without any more room/ space for anything including my luggage. The toilet is so small that I can bearly turn in the shower. The room also had a musky smell (like it hasn't been aired in ages).

When we demanded to refund the room as it is no where near our expectations, we were told to pay for our full stay (which lasted fir barely 5 mins!!!).

Total disappointment. We will at most term this place as a hostel instead of a hotel... Let alone a boutique hotel. There are much better boutique hotels which offers better value for money near by. Will never go back and wouldn't ever recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

We just stayed two nights at this hotel and found it to be excellent value especially as we were staying over the F1 Grand Prix weekend when every other hotel was full or overcharging for the rooms they had left.

Our room at the Keong Saik was very clean, the staff were helpful and the hotel very well located. Close to the MRT, Chinatown and a number of hawker centres were close by.

We will definitely consider staying again when we next visit Singapre.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Keong Saik Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keong Saik Hotel

Also Known As:
Keong Saik Singapore
Keong Saik Hotel Singapore
Address: 69 Keong Saik Road, Singapore 089165, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Hotel Style:
#204 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#204 Spa Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Keong Saik Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keong Saik Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.