We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Below Average Service!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Royal at Queens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Royal at Queens to your Saves list
Hotel Royal at Queens
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Queen Street, Singapore 188553, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Location, Below Average Service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Pros:

Hotel location was very accessible, right next to 'Bras Basah' metro station and one station away from "Dhoby Ghaut' station which gives you accessibility to 3 different metro lines. Also, the hotel was a 10 minute walk to Bugis Village and Bugis Junction malls which was great.

Rooms were clean and well appointed, they were small but still okay.


Cons:

Breakfast was below average, not much options and it is exactly the same everyday.

The overall service standard were below average, the hotel is on a small slope, my husband was dragging both bags when we arrived looking for a Bellman to help. However, when the Bellman saw him he kept instructing him on where to put the bags & didn't offer to help at all. Also, the bathroom toiletries were not refreshed daily, everyday we had to check what was missing and ask the housekeeping for it.

Wifi is not included in the rate, you either pay for it or use the business center (only the first 15 minutes are for free).


Our overall experience was okay, if we didn't find better rates somewhere else then we might stay here again but won't be expecting much other than the good location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    240
    145
    33
    24
See reviews for
126
176
47
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Aus
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

This hotel isn't as snazzy as some of the other fare Singapore has to offer, but if you want a nice clean room, helpful staff and a hotel ridiculously close to the mrt/bugis st/orchard rd it's perfect.
We had an incredibly rude and noisy family staying on the same floor who screamed to each other at inappropriate times of the morning and night- which wasn't the hotels fault. Paying for wifi is also boring and outdated...but the pros definitely outweighed the cons. If all you want in a hotel is convenience and a comfortable room to sleep in at night this is all you need.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaga
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed here on a singapore stopover, and really enjoyed it. Room very clean, beds and pillows comfortable, and it was quiet. A plus point was that you have an iron and ironing board in the room, which is great after a long trip, a safe and mini bar.

The corridors dont live up to the rest of the hotel, as the cleaning trolleys seem to have gouged the walls and ripped the wallpaper, - on 12th floor at least.

There is a small pool area.

Staff very friendly and helpful, check in quick and efficient, location great, couple of mins up the road is an MRT station, and its very easy to use , you can get anywhere in the city and trains run every 5 mins. Also its very easy and cheap to catch buses, and the taxis are quite cheap.

There was no drinking water available in the room (sparkling water in mini bar), which we would have liked, so went out to the 7/11 and the nearest is in front - and beside - Hotel Grand Pacific in the next street, so you can either turn first left and first left out of hotel, or first right and first right, - or exit through the back of the hotel through the car park and go up the ramp beside Grand Pacific.

Breakfast a bit like a cattle market, but a reasonable choice of food for westerners, though only 2 cereals, Cornflakes and cocopops. As the other reviews say, plenty cheap Asian Cafes nearby.

We enjoyed our stay here and would definitly stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed here as part of 2 stopovers. We have stayed before as it is very convenient for MRT.
We had to be moved in the early hours of the morning as room 1636 was horrendously noisy, we think from the air conditioning unit on the roof, this was very inconvenient as we wanted to sleep, as had been on a long flight. There were also ants on the desk.
The second room was quieter but we have found each room we have stayed in has an outdated bathroom with a lot of mould.
It is a shame but I don't think we will stay here again until I read there has been a makeover.

Room Tip: Do not have a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights with a Singapore stopover package. Excellent location as per other TA reviews. Staff are very friendly and rooms large and refurbished which makes up for the slightly tired atmosphere of the hotel. Breakfast wasn't included, but no problem as there are so many cheap Asian cafes nearby (don't expect cereal though) and we found a lovely one upstairs in the Fortune Plaza run by 2 young women - scrambled eggs and garlic toast was yum! We probably only went within a couple of blocks of the hotel to get everything we needed. Walking distance to Raffles, many museums and shopping centre as well as MRT station. All things considered, this is a very good choice for the money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Close to bras basah mrt. Nice room and comfy bed. Staff are very nice and they let us check in early. No free wifi though. Nothing special with the breakfast. Close to chijmes for restaurants and bar.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 10 days since I had a business trip with my family. The room was fine but no view however you can have a bit of sunshine from tiny space from the window. I should share one thing that the room aircondisition is way too cold even adjusted. It just helped by location.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Royal at Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal at Queens

Address: 12 Queen Street, Singapore 188553, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal at Queens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 4-Star smoke free hotel with 231 well-appointed guest rooms, including Executive Rooms, Junior Suite & Service Apartments that are incorporated with contemporary decor that caters to both business and leisure travellers. Strategically located in the City's dynamic business, financial, convention, cultural, entertainment, and educational hubs, our hotel is located close to places such as Suntec City, Raffles City, Chijmes, Singapore Art Museum, Bugis Junction, Bugis Village, Esplanade Theatres On The Bay, Marina Square, Singapore Flyer, Little India, Boat Quay and Clarke Quay. We are also conveniently located within walking distance to 3 MRT stations - Bras Basah, City Hall, and Bugis - with Bras Basah MRT Station being only 100 meters from our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Royal at Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal At Queens Singapore
Royal At Queens Hotel
Hotel Royal At Queens Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Royal at Queens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.