We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaint here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South East Asia Hotel

Save Saved
You added South East Asia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
South East Asia Hotel
190 Waterloo St, Singapore 187965, Singapore (Rochor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #174 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No complaint here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel run by nice family, in perfect locations, free breakfes - continental or vegetarian ( about 7 dishes to chose from), close to Bugis MRT@ Bugis market . If you need just clean place to sleep in and discoveryng Singapore , highly recomended.
Will stay there next year again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    70
    60
    15
    11
See reviews for
55
51
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

It's my second time staying at SEA hotel. I visit Singapore with my big family and we book for 5 nights. My group are 6 person (4 adult and 2 child). We stay at 2 rooms: 1 standard room and 1 triple bedroom. Rooms are very clean, they do daily cleaning. They provide clean towels and change them every day. Breakfast also ready every morning for us. If you want to go to Sentosa, USS, and SEA Aquarium, you can join Resort World Sentosa's free shuttle bus opposite Ibis Bencoolen Hotel (behind South East Asia Hotel). This shuttle bus operates every 30 minutes start from 9 am. Location of SEA hotel is very good, near Bugis MRT so you can go everywhere around Singapore easily. Also near Bugis Street, Bugis Junction, and Bugis+: places for you can go shopping till u drop!
My family really loves this hotel, room rate is reasonable too. Standard room SGD 100/night. Triple bedroom SGD 130/night. This place is very recommended for traveller who wants to go around Singapore on budget.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labuan Island, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The family room we were provided have 4 single beds and the room still have good space to move around .the hotel in business since 1953 and still operating till now. one thing no many taxi driver know this hotel . so you need to tell the driver the waterloo st and chinese Kwan Im temple. As for location 5-10 min walk to bugis st, bugis junction, OG shopping mall, sim lime square ( S,pore Largest electronic& It Centre ), MRT Station and.Albert centre food court .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pistoia, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

After travelling in Malaysia, the cost of life in Singapore is a little shock. I have chosen this hotel for the rate (a bargain, in comparison with the other options) and also for the great position, just in the heart of Bugis.
The hotel in itself is nothing special, but if you try to spend less than 100 Singapore Dollars for a double room in this city you risk to find something really horrible. So, this has been a good compromise: very easy to reach with the metro from the airport, well connected also with the bus lines, adequately clean and quiet. The strangest thing you can experience comes with the payment: they want to be paid cash, one day at the time, so you confirm the room for the following night just paying your daily quote. And you don't risk to forget that, because at the reception they ask you if you have already paid every time they see you... :-)
Well, there is another good thing to say: the breakfast is always included in the rate, and you can choose between two options: continental and chinese vegetarian.
So, when you come here, put the suitcases in the room and go out as soon as you can: this a very lively area, one the best place to walk and discover the spirit of this city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silang, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Overall, we were satisfied with SEA Hotel. It is a no fuss hotel. I think the cheapest for family rooms in Singapore, where everything else is expensive. We had to make bank transfer for DAY 1 of our reservation as they don't deal with credit cards and when we checked in, we paid for the rest of the stay in cash.

Ours is a family room for 4 adults, at the second floor, for SGD 160 per night. We had good night sleep, surrounding is quiet, room is enough for my husband, me and our teens,16 and 13yo. We were provided with a double bed and 2 single beds for my teens. Bathroom has hot/cold shower with toiletries (soap and conditioning shampoo) but toilet is not separated from shower so floor is all wet. They provided a doormat for you to dry your feet.

Service is good for what we paid for. Breakfast of 2 toasted bread with butter and jam or vegetarian buffet, whichever you prefer. They cleaned our room each day, providing fresh towels, coffee and tea for 4. Quiet aircon with ceiling fan, but we did not need the fan as aircon was enough. We asked for adaptor for our gadgets and they provided, but made us understand that if we did not return, they would charge us SGD10. There is a small TV with only 1 English channel, but we did not pay much attention as we only stayed there to shower in the morning and sleep at night, in between, we were busy with sightseeing and rides elsewhere.

For the transportation, plan the places you want to visit and get map from gothere.sg. Bus stations, 5min walk. MRT about 10min walk go to the basement of CapitaMall @ Bugis JUnction (we couldn't find it at first but there are lots of people whom you can ask for directions). Using taxi from the back of hotel at Ibis Hotel taxi stand is 5min walk. But going back to the hotel using taxi is a little stressful as not all drivers know the place, we paid for unwanted turns as they are not familiar with the hotel. Just tell the driver to bring you to Chinese temple at Waterloo St. which is beside SEA hotel or bring you at Ibis Bencoolen taxi stand. There is a FREE shuttle to Sentosa for tourists which parks at the lobby of Summer view hotel (back of SEA hotel, 5 min walk) from 9am onwards at 30 min interval. Dont forget to bring your passport+embarkation card.

Word of advise, if you want better services than what were mentioned above, book at a more expensive hotel.

Next time we go back to SG, will book there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

front desk man seems not familiar with what "customer service" is. very rude! even the booking system, they can get confused easily. you basically get what you are paying for. cheap and lousy. better train the staff how to be nice and approachable. internet is very expensive! as if they are paying big amount every month. not recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The cheapest,so far, in Singapore. Located in Bugis. We paid 160SG for a triple ensuite room. Teas,coffee provided inside the room with an electric kettle. The room has seen better days and is in dire need of a makeover.Blankets are thin.They offer free breakfast (chinese or a simple bread with jam with coffee or juice)They only accept cash as form of payment.It is adequate for us considering we just use the room for sleeping and bathroom needs since we are out the whole day. The hotel is ran by elder Singaporean and they are not the friendly type. Would still stay here again for the location and for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South East Asia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South East Asia Hotel

Address: 190 Waterloo St, Singapore 187965, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Rochor
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your South East Asia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South East Asia Singapore
Hotel South East Asia
South East Asia Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South East Asia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.