We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of South East Asia Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Singapore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
South East Asia Hotel
Save
You added South East Asia Hotel to your Saves list
190 Waterloo St, Singapore 187965, Singapore (Rochor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #190 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“worst!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

front desk man seems not familiar with what "customer service" is. very rude! even the booking system, they can get confused easily. you basically get what you are paying for. cheap and lousy. better train the staff how to be nice and approachable. internet is very expensive! as if they are paying big amount every month. not recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    75
    65
    17
    11
See reviews for
61
53
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The cheapest,so far, in Singapore. Located in Bugis. We paid 160SG for a triple ensuite room. Teas,coffee provided inside the room with an electric kettle. The room has seen better days and is in dire need of a makeover.Blankets are thin.They offer free breakfast (chinese or a simple bread with jam with coffee or juice)They only accept cash as form of payment.It is adequate for us considering we just use the room for sleeping and bathroom needs since we are out the whole day. The hotel is ran by elder Singaporean and they are not the friendly type. Would still stay here again for the location and for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed in February 2013, having previously always stayed at the Waterloo Hostel, which is sadly no longer. We found the rooms small but adequate, altogether in serious need of upgrading to modern standards. However, this would affect the price. Our bedroom had damp in the wall near the airconditioner unit (see picture), which really should be attended to urgently. The attached wetroom could have done with a good scrubbing. Mattresses are well worn and sag in the middle. They also need replacing. Service at reception was mixed - we did have one bad experience, but mostly they were helpful. Breakfasts were very average, but we found them willing to provide more pieces of toast free of charge. Wi-fi is very expensive, so didn't worry about it as it is readily available elsewhere. Payment is by cash only, up front.
We love this area of Singapore, it's very central to most of the attractions, and has excellent access to MRT stations at both Bugis and Bras Basar, and good bus connections all around. And Waterloo Mall into Bugis is a lively and vibrant area. For the money, it is probably a reasonable option, although don't go there expecting a second Raffles!

Room Tip: If you want a view, pay the extra for a superior room. Otherwise, you will look straight out onto a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel is cheap by Singapore standards, for example , the Ibis ,just around the corner is double the price. It is cash only and upfront on a daily basis. No credit cards .Rooms are old but adequate , aircon works and showers are good (wet room type ) , Breakfast is poor , supplied by the vegetarian rstaurant next door , service is lacking in restaurant . Great bakery with coffee around the corner , 3 minutes walk which we used instead.You have to pay for wifi , but lots of free wifi in Singapore in coffee shops around. Plenty of small restaurants, McDonalds,fast food and food stalls near hotel , there is a good food court in basement of Sim Lim Building ,just 5 minutes walk away. More over near the MRT station at Bugis street which is about 7 mins walk.There is a a vast range of different Asian and western food in area. Good bus service on Bencoolen street ( 2 mins walk )and route maps online , look at Singapore Bus Services website

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My most terrible experience so far. Everything is so lousy especially the service offered by the front desk woman. The woman's attitude is so bad that she "black face" me which makes me wondering that is most of the elder Singaporean behave like this? She makes me feels like I am her slave! She gave me a bad impression towards Singapore women, seriously. Besides, the room is so small, so old and so smoky which really makes me uncomfortable and my partner even cough all night long until fall sick. The room is not clean.

I have reserved 3 nights there with full payment made and thinking to switch to other better hotel after 1 night stay but too bad the money paid is not refundable. We were offered to transfer our stay as voucher which we have to use them within few months. Since this hotel is nightmare for us (not gonna have second time, never) and we don't want to waste the stay, we just bare with it. The breakfast is terrible too. I have try to eat some but too bad the food is terrible.

There are a lot more hotel which are better and cheaper than this hotel. The only thing that I like is its location. Nothing more!


Say NO to this hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The hotel has an excellent location, close to everything. The rates are very competitive for Singapore and although the rooms are very basic, it is very clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly. Would stay again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iloilo City, Philippines
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

stayed on a double room for 3 days. clean room. good working ac with television. breakfast included but they serve almost the same food every day, not a problem with me coz i found it delicious anyway. very good location 10 minutes walk away from mrt and hawker stalls just nearby. there are two temples beside the hotel one buddhist and the other for hindus, very lively place in the morning. taxis did not have a hard time finding the location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Victoria Hotel
#107 of 300 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 835 reviews
Strand Hotel
#158 of 300 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#112 of 300 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Perak Hotel
Perak Hotel
#140 of 300 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#52 of 300 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 4,916 reviews
Hotel 81 - Bencoolen
#197 of 300 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 stars 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South East Asia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South East Asia Hotel

Address: 190 Waterloo St, Singapore 187965, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Rochor
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Number of rooms: 51
Also Known As:
South East Asia Singapore
Hotel South East Asia
South East Asia Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South East Asia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.