We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and reasonable value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of South East Asia Hotel

Save Saved
You added South East Asia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
South East Asia Hotel
190 Waterloo St, Singapore 187965, Singapore (Rochor)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #167 of 290 hotels in Singapore
Bunbury, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location and reasonable value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed in February 2013, having previously always stayed at the Waterloo Hostel, which is sadly no longer. We found the rooms small but adequate, altogether in serious need of upgrading to modern standards. However, this would affect the price. Our bedroom had damp in the wall near the airconditioner unit (see picture), which really should be attended to urgently. The attached wetroom could have done with a good scrubbing. Mattresses are well worn and sag in the middle. They also need replacing. Service at reception was mixed - we did have one bad experience, but mostly they were helpful. Breakfasts were very average, but we found them willing to provide more pieces of toast free of charge. Wi-fi is very expensive, so didn't worry about it as it is readily available elsewhere. Payment is by cash only, up front.
We love this area of Singapore, it's very central to most of the attractions, and has excellent access to MRT stations at both Bugis and Bras Basar, and good bus connections all around. And Waterloo Mall into Bugis is a lively and vibrant area. For the money, it is probably a reasonable option, although don't go there expecting a second Raffles!

Room Tip: If you want a view, pay the extra for a superior room. Otherwise, you will look straight out onto a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    66
    59
    15
    11
See reviews for
54
49
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel is cheap by Singapore standards, for example , the Ibis ,just around the corner is double the price. It is cash only and upfront on a daily basis. No credit cards .Rooms are old but adequate , aircon works and showers are good (wet room type ) , Breakfast is poor , supplied by the vegetarian rstaurant next door , service is lacking in restaurant . Great bakery with coffee around the corner , 3 minutes walk which we used instead.You have to pay for wifi , but lots of free wifi in Singapore in coffee shops around. Plenty of small restaurants, McDonalds,fast food and food stalls near hotel , there is a good food court in basement of Sim Lim Building ,just 5 minutes walk away. More over near the MRT station at Bugis street which is about 7 mins walk.There is a a vast range of different Asian and western food in area. Good bus service on Bencoolen street ( 2 mins walk )and route maps online , look at Singapore Bus Services website

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My most terrible experience so far. Everything is so lousy especially the service offered by the front desk woman. The woman's attitude is so bad that she "black face" me which makes me wondering that is most of the elder Singaporean behave like this? She makes me feels like I am her slave! She gave me a bad impression towards Singapore women, seriously. Besides, the room is so small, so old and so smoky which really makes me uncomfortable and my partner even cough all night long until fall sick. The room is not clean.

I have reserved 3 nights there with full payment made and thinking to switch to other better hotel after 1 night stay but too bad the money paid is not refundable. We were offered to transfer our stay as voucher which we have to use them within few months. Since this hotel is nightmare for us (not gonna have second time, never) and we don't want to waste the stay, we just bare with it. The breakfast is terrible too. I have try to eat some but too bad the food is terrible.

There are a lot more hotel which are better and cheaper than this hotel. The only thing that I like is its location. Nothing more!


Say NO to this hotel!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The hotel has an excellent location, close to everything. The rates are very competitive for Singapore and although the rooms are very basic, it is very clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly. Would stay again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iloilo City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

stayed on a double room for 3 days. clean room. good working ac with television. breakfast included but they serve almost the same food every day, not a problem with me coz i found it delicious anyway. very good location 10 minutes walk away from mrt and hawker stalls just nearby. there are two temples beside the hotel one buddhist and the other for hindus, very lively place in the morning. taxis did not have a hard time finding the location.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The ladies at the counter were surly and unhelpful, awful breakfast, no free wi-fi, and they don't accept credit cards. We will not be staying there next time we go to Singapore. Too bad because it's a half decent location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have stayed here 3 nights. The room rate is reasonable and the location is great.
It is very close to MRT, Bugis shopping Street and Department store.

But the room is old, there were no hair drier, iron and refrigerator in the room.
The hotel has only one small elevator, no car parking and no Wi Fi. The breakfast is poor, not much choice. I think that I will never get back again.

Room Tip: You should select the high floors. It will have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to South East Asia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South East Asia Hotel

Also Known As:
South East Asia Singapore
Hotel South East Asia
South East Asia Hotel Singapore
Address: 190 Waterloo St, Singapore 187965, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Rochor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 290 hotels in Singapore
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your South East Asia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South East Asia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.