We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have an interest in such things..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Civil Defence Heritage Gallery

Civil Defence Heritage Gallery
62, Hill Street | (in the Central Fire Station), Singapore 179367, Singapore
6332 2996
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 279 Attractions in Singapore
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Geraldton, Australia
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
161 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“If you have an interest in such things..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

If you have an interest in fire fighting or emergency services in general you'll want to get yourself to this lesser known museum in Singapore. It isn't far from the centre of the CBD and could be included in a visit to the not too far away Peranakan Museum.

Effectively this museum traces the history of the Singapore fire brigades from the early days when fires would rip through parts of the settlement unchecked to todays rescue operations units. It was quite interesting, plenty of photos and a few old fire trucks as well as a small gift store.

Well worth up to an hour of your time.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth the visit!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Most people probably walk past this 106 year old Central Fire station on their way to the Museum or Armenian Church… as I did!! After getting a bit lost, I thought I would wander back into the air conditioning and see what the museum had to offer!!!! It is a working fire station with a 2 storey heritage gallery attached. On the ground level see the history of fire fighting in Singapore, along with examples of early fire engines and simulations of early fires. On the second storey it is more interactive and current which I think would really interest kids - you can try much of the fire equipment. It certainly makes you appreciate the fire fighting community that also assist in search and rescue abroad. One of the highlights of this trip has to be the friendly staff at this place who go out of their way to make you enjoy the experience. They all had a great chat and one of them regularly visits Australia where I am from. It is a FREE tour, I was so impressed though I wanted to give a donation but they don't even have a donation box…. So I purchased a T-Shirt from the gift shop to show my support - even this was pleasurable, as it's cash only they took my Australian & Singaporean money (One of the gentleman would swap out the money for his next Australian trip) as well as chipping in the $3 I was short…… Take the time to visit this place rather than just look at the statues outside. You will get a pleasant surprise!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
54 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Makes One Appreciate Fire Fighters Even More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My cousin is a fire fighter, and on a recent trip to Singapore, requested that we visit one of the city’s Fire Stations. The 106-year old Central Fire Station, which was a short 15 minute walk from our hotel, also housed the Civil Defence Heritage Gallery and proved to be the perfect choice.

We were here at 10am on a Wednesday morning, and were greeted by two gentlemen, one of whom happened to be Mr. Segar, who upon learning that my cousin was kindred spirit, spent the next hour giving us the grand tour of the entire museum, sprinkling in personal anecdotes along the way. We later find out that he is the head guide at the gallery, a retired fire-fighter, and the only internationally certified search and rescue dog trainer in Singapore. As a matter of fact, his uniform is on display in the museum.

The exhibit, featuring over a thousand artifacts, is extremely interactive and fun for kids and adults alike. From vintage fire trucks to state-of-the-art fire-fighting equipment, there are tons of things to see. You can crawl inside a protective fire suit, put out a fire using a water mist, and climb in and out of old fire trucks. Short videos accompanying each exhibit further elaborate on Singapore’s Civil Defence history.

Thoroughly enjoyable and highly recommended. Did I mention the visit is FREE?

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naantali, Finland
Top Contributor
467 reviews 467 reviews
255 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Worth of visit, if you are nearby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We ended up here by accident, on our way to National Museum. Small(ish), but interesting museum! Downstairs is little shop and few fire trucks. Upstairs they have tv screens and boards explaining their rescue missions etc. So worth of visit, especially if you are in neighbourhood and fun for kids too.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Interesting for even adult and children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Really interesting initiative. You can pip in to the life of firemen and learn the history of Singapore fire and civil defense. Kids can try nearly all of the equipment, used by firemen, sit into the car, wear their helmet and so on during the open day (every Saturday from 09.00-11.00). Museum is interesting, you can try to extinguish fire, solve problems and can learn the history and future of civil defense. Gift shop available.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Civil Defence Heritage Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Civil Defence Heritage Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Civil Defence Heritage Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.