We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Realxing quiet Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Champion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Champion Hotel to your Saves list
Champion Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 Joo Chiat Road #01-06, Singapore 427726, Singapore (Formerly New Gateway Hotel) (Joo Chiat)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
WEBSITE SPECIAL PROMOTION
Ranked #89 of 301 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Realxing quiet Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Renovated Hotel in good condition. No Breakfast possible but many opportunities arround. 10-15Min walk of MRT Paya Lebara. I was with my wife there and liked the Hotel. The Wi-FI didn't work 50% of the time. But we are not depended on the Internet so it was not a problem. The only thing which disturbed me litte was the short bed. I'm 192cm tall and the hole feet had no space in the bed. We will book it again when we return to SG. Possible to let you baggage even after checkout in a save room.

Room Tip: End of the floor. The doors let pass the noice really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    38
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
27
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We are a travelling couple, transiting one nite in sinagpore and stayed at Champion Hotel on Jochiaat st, Singapore. Hotel is nicely decored, room is spacious, shower plentiful and basic amenities provided. less than 30min from airport, better option than staying in hotels around the hotel and or sleeping on the airport itself

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfect for our overnight stopover. Quiet clean and comfortable. Great location with trains 10 minute easy safe walk. Staff were courteous not overly friendly but this was fine. We went to Chinatown for Dinner but could have eaten probably better nearby (turn right outside hotel we were reccomended to go to East Coast Centre for Chili Crab). Great Supermarket just up the road (turn right) or a convenience store nearly next door. Next door is a osteopath and acupuncture! Want a taste of local life just wander a few blocks apparently this is expensive desirable real estate

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overnight stay from Vietnam to Australia. The room was clean and comfortable but did not have windows. The hotel was close to airport and it was easy to catch a taxi. Plenty of nearby local food courts. Quiet location.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

the location near paya lebar mrt, the hotel clean and staff friendly, have wifi and cold ac, but the only downside is the bathroom, there are bugs everywhere, from cockcroach, cicada. i not really reccomend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

This hotel was a nice surprise. The staff are friendly and attentive. Our room was generous especially the ensuite, compared to other hotels we have stayed in Singapore. The location is close to supermarkets and transport so you don't need a car.

Room Tip: Room at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapiti Coast, New Zealand
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Situated half way between Changi Airport and the City - a taxi is probably the best way to get there at night. The Paya Labar MRT station is less than 10min away, and the City centre 10 min by train. We loved walking around the predominantly Malay shops/eateries, though Starbucks and 'Toast Box' are nearby.
The hotel itself provides clean, comfortable and compact rooms, with their own good bathroom facility, Wi-fi, TV and air-conditioning (ours worked very well, and was quiet!). This was a good base to operate from during the day, and return to at night. No restaurant, but there are so many good eateries around Singapore.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Good value, especially when compared to other more central locations. We would happily use this Hotel again.

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter, but have limited view. We are married, but choose a twin beds to be cooler a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Champion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champion Hotel

Address: 60 Joo Chiat Road #01-06, Singapore 427726, Singapore (Formerly New Gateway Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#69 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Champion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Champion Hotel, a trendy and cozy boutique hotel nestled charmingly along the famous Joo Chiat Road. Known for its rich multicultural heritage and vibrance. The 80 newly renovated and refurbished guest rooms are housed in a 4-storey conservation building. The guest rooms are spaciously designed and warmly decorated to ensure you a comfortable and pleasant stay. It is easily accessible via public transports and approximately 15-20 minutes taxi ride from Changi International Airport. A wide range of eateries are available for you to choose from within close vicinity to satisfy your gastronomic cravings day and night and also not forgetting the interesting tourist attractions around. Champion Hotel is an ideal choice for all travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Champion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gateway Hotel Singapore
Champion Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Champion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.