We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location in Little India Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 81 Dickson

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 81 Dickson to your Saves list
Hotel 81 Dickson
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Dickson Road, Singapore 209530, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Location in Little India Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised when we checked into the hotel having read a lot of the reviews on TripAdvisor. I was expecting a tiny room, sure it was small but it was perfectly adequate and didn't feel too cramped. The shower was hot, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

The staff were really helpful whenever we needed wifi passwords (they will give you more than one if you ask, we had included it in our booking, I think they charge if you don't). They stored our baggage for us and told us that they could call a taxi for us if we were not able to hail one on the street.

The location was good, in the middle of Little India and within walking distance to Raffles City and Orchard Road.

The room was a little noisy but this was due to some other guests in the hallway early in the morning. The room didn't have a window either which was not an issue for us but might be for others.

Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    390
    240
    57
    37
See reviews for
72
203
58
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Late Feb 2013 I stayed here.
I checked a few other places nearby, This appeared nice even though the price was higher than what was stated on the internet.
When I asked the price I was told only 1 room left at S$119, it was late so I took it.

The room was in the basement, tiny room, no fridge.

All night the sound of water going through the pipes above the room reverberated through the large air con duct above the bed. It was quite loud.

Seeing as I was told it was the last room I just put up with it.

The next morning I complained to the duty mgr on the front desk who informed me I should have complained and they would have put me in another room????? Now because I'm complaining there is more rooms.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere I found a nicer hotel cheaper the next day in Gayland Rd area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Located in the middle of 2 SMRT stations that are close to the centre and touristy stops (Little India and Bugis). Both stations are within walkable distance (15-20mins). Got plenty of shops and eateries in the neighbourhood, and they are cheap.

The room is compact but it has everything you need for its worth. No bugs spotted but there are stains on some walls, corners and ceiling. The room smelt a little stuffy, properly no one has ever opened the windows. The quality of the bed (mattress and overused bedsheets) gives you a feeling that they are not ideal for your romantic getaways, or perhaps they do for 'that' particular purpose.

Staff responded to our requests accurately. Overall satisfied with the duration of our stay.

Room Tip: Heard from a taxi driver that they dont tend to pick up customers who go to Little India due to its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The location is convenient - about 10 minutes by foot to MRT station Bugis. There is a big cinema Iluma near Bugis. Worth to visit.

The price is competitive for Singapore. Rooms are very small but one can survive if you plan to stay outside the most of the time. Wifi was fine.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

It was a pleasant stay at Hotel81 dickson situated in little india.
We took 4 days stay. Rooms were little small however very clean and tidy.
only deluxe rooms has bath tub.
mustaffa shopping centre is at walkable distance and the little india MRT too.
Good restaurants nearby for indian cuisine.
Airport at 20 mins way.
We used MRT for all our transportations.
Overall pretty good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel itself is basic, with not big rooms, not very good isolation from noise - so it's OK if you are looking not expensive place not far from Marina Bay - main place in Singapore, I think.
It's 10-15 minutes by foot from subway (Bugis), and 30 minutes to Marine Bay - it's important if you come back late evening, when subway is already closed (taxi is expensive here, especially in night time they multiple the rate 1.5 times).
Around hotel there is some not good atmosphere - too many strange-looking hindu people, who are sitting around and stare at you. But I thing it's safe and no reason for fear.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I had a small room with no window, but it was very clean and modern and good value for money. The walls were a bit thin and also you could hear everything in the corridor and people waiting for the lifts. Great location near Sim Lim Square and MRT. Love the smells and the eating places around Little India.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 81 Dickson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 Dickson

Address: 3 Dickson Road, Singapore 209530, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 Dickson 2*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 81 Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
81 Dickson Hotel
Hotel 81 Dickson Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 81 Dickson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.