We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 81 Dickson

Save Saved
You added Hotel 81 Dickson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel 81 Dickson
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Dickson Road, Singapore 209530, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Located in the middle of 2 SMRT stations that are close to the centre and touristy stops (Little India and Bugis). Both stations are within walkable distance (15-20mins). Got plenty of shops and eateries in the neighbourhood, and they are cheap.

The room is compact but it has everything you need for its worth. No bugs spotted but there are stains on some walls, corners and ceiling. The room smelt a little stuffy, properly no one has ever opened the windows. The quality of the bed (mattress and overused bedsheets) gives you a feeling that they are not ideal for your romantic getaways, or perhaps they do for 'that' particular purpose.

Staff responded to our requests accurately. Overall satisfied with the duration of our stay.

Room Tip: Heard from a taxi driver that they dont tend to pick up customers who go to Little India due to its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    374
    224
    51
    34
See reviews for
65
188
51
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The location is convenient - about 10 minutes by foot to MRT station Bugis. There is a big cinema Iluma near Bugis. Worth to visit.

The price is competitive for Singapore. Rooms are very small but one can survive if you plan to stay outside the most of the time. Wifi was fine.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

It was a pleasant stay at Hotel81 dickson situated in little india.
We took 4 days stay. Rooms were little small however very clean and tidy.
only deluxe rooms has bath tub.
mustaffa shopping centre is at walkable distance and the little india MRT too.
Good restaurants nearby for indian cuisine.
Airport at 20 mins way.
We used MRT for all our transportations.
Overall pretty good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel itself is basic, with not big rooms, not very good isolation from noise - so it's OK if you are looking not expensive place not far from Marina Bay - main place in Singapore, I think.
It's 10-15 minutes by foot from subway (Bugis), and 30 minutes to Marine Bay - it's important if you come back late evening, when subway is already closed (taxi is expensive here, especially in night time they multiple the rate 1.5 times).
Around hotel there is some not good atmosphere - too many strange-looking hindu people, who are sitting around and stare at you. But I thing it's safe and no reason for fear.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I had a small room with no window, but it was very clean and modern and good value for money. The walls were a bit thin and also you could hear everything in the corridor and people waiting for the lifts. Great location near Sim Lim Square and MRT. Love the smells and the eating places around Little India.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have just been there with a friend and it is for sure a great deal in Singapore.
The rooms are clean and the staff very attentive.
Location is also very good with a lot of places to eat around little India.

Personally I will not go back because there is no window in the room and this is for me unacceptable.
I usually stay in much higher price in Singapore and of course I get much more.
But if you are willing to save money and you do not care of a window in the room then it is for sure a good place.

Room Tip: If they have a room with a window try to get it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I'd been warned by other tripadvisor reviewers that cheap hotels in Singapore usually mean miniature rooms and no windows. I booked a standard room at this hotel for my four day stay but was upgraded, without extra charge, to a room with window, and while it wasn't exactly large - two would have been a crush - it was fine for one person. And the shower coming out of the wall is odd but you get used to it. It was clean and quiet despite being near the heart of Little India, which is lively and crowded any time of the day or night. The reception staff were really helpful and even refused a (small) tip for helping with my luggage at the end of my stay. 10/15 mins to Little India MRT station and I never felt unsafe walking around at night .Free internet. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you book a basic standard room ask if you can have an upgrade to one with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 81 Dickson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 Dickson

Address: 3 Dickson Road, Singapore 209530, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 Dickson 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel 81 Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
81 Dickson Hotel
Hotel 81 Dickson Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 81 Dickson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.