We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good enough hotel for relaxing and sleeping at night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 81 - Opera

Save Saved
You added Hotel 81 - Opera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel 81 - Opera
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   238 Joo Chiat Road, Singapore 427495, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #242 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Balikpapan, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good enough hotel for relaxing and sleeping at night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Checked in hotel around 1.30 pm, then hotel’s staff completed our identities. Hence the time less than 2 pm we should been awaiting for a tidy room until 2 pm. We got a family room four people sharing that is I have booked. We stayed here the night, the room located at corner level 1 with elevator, but to got our room we must go through upstairs where the two rooms there are. I was a bit peevish with this situation because we carry a big luggage, so it makes us an inconvenience.
The room is so big, clean and the bathroom available bathtub and a shower. Around hotel some eateries providing many kind of foods till midnight. To take public transportation halt not so far from the hotel on walking. For travelers who will spend time along day for outdoor activities the 81 opera is fairly option.

Room Tip: Family room is so big located at the corner upstairs level 1, but to get to the room no elevator at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    21
    14
    7
See reviews for
12
11
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is crappy! The rooms are small and dirty. They advertise it as a non smoking facility but the room that we had had cigarette burns on the side table. There even was cigarette ash left on the room when they gave us the room and it reeked with cigarette smoke. Both shower and bathroom sink was clogged and took too long to drain the water. They even have bugs! Yes, they have cockroaches and ants. I also complained about rats since the present that we brought from home to give to one of our friends were chewed on by rats. The only thing that they did was to replace the present that was destroyed and assigned a new room for us. They said they cannot do anything else! The "new" room they gave us had the drains clogged and with a ball of hair on the floor when they asked us to check the room. I cannot express my disgust with this hotel. I would never again stay in this place or any other hotels operated by them. If there's a category for the worse of the worse, this place would take the first place for me!

Room Tip: I suggest you spend extra for hotel rooms and choose a different area where it's more accessible...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

i give this hotel an OK rating. it is what i expected for what i paid.

small but clean. no window but not a problem for me. mostly quiet but could hear some noise from hallway and other rooms. shower was not enclosed. it shares the same space as the toilet and sink. when u are done showering u have to lay down towels so u dont slip on the wet floor. not an ideal situation but i made it work.

be advised. the location on the expedia map is incorrect. the actual location of this hotel is about 600 meters south of where expedia shows it is. google maps has the location correct at the corner of Joo Chiat rd and Ceylon lane. i was pulling 3 pieces of luggage on a hot day so the extra 10 min walk was not appreciated. if i had known that the hotel was that far from the Paya Lebar train station i would have stayed at Hotel 81 Classic which is only a 10 min walk versus the 20 min walk at Hotel 81 Opera.

also at night u may see some prostitutes just north of the hotel along Joo Chiat rd. i walked alone at midnight along Joo Chiat rd all the way from Geylang rd to the hotel but did not feel threatened and no one bothered me. however, i am a man. if u are a women u may not feel safe going out alone at night.

also be advised that if u are planning on taking the train to the airport u will need 20 min to walk to the Paya Lebar train station and then another 40 min to get to the airport terminal.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed one night in a room suitable for a family of four. Windowless, air con worked ok, attached bathroom with two showers. We were on a short stopover, so all we needed was a clean bed for the night. Very little room for luggage as the two double beds take up all the space. Anything longer than an overnight trip and we would have regretted staying here. Well priced though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights for a stopover flight. Would not recommend at all. Room had no windows so we relied on aircon which made the whole room damp and felt like we were getting sick just being there. The whole place stunk like cigarette smoke. Bathroom floor drain was blocked so when we had a shower the whole bathroom flooded. There was mould all over the floor and walls in the room and cockroaches galore. Staff rude and not helpful at all.
I can't express this enough, just pay a few more dollars and stay somewhere decent, this place is a health hazard!! I don't even know how it is still operating. 0/10 from me. Never again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Finding this hotel was like solving the jigsaw puzzle. It takes about 20 - 30 minutes walk from Paya Lebar MRT station (easily to get anywhere). The hotel is actually located in the middle of Joo Chiat Road (if you don't mind about noise and red light district).
The room was small and basic with satelite TV channel which is perfect for single traveller. The bathroom was filled with basic amenities like toothbrush, comb, clean bath towels and hair & body shampoo dispenser. Hot shower pressure was good and never let me down. Clealiness of the room was just nice and never complained.
Overall, it's just acceptable and "ok" hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Cleanliness of the room needs to improve especially the atmosphere (smoking smell still around ), i found the pluck-point of the room is abit lose when you pluck in socket Overall , service is average.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel 81 - Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Opera

Address: 238 Joo Chiat Road, Singapore 427495, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#242 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Opera 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel 81 - Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Opera Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 81 - Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.