We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Majestic Hotel

Save Saved
You added New Majestic Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Majestic Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 - 37 Bukit Pasoh Rd, Singapore 089845, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stylish, comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I spent 4 nights at the New Majestic Hotel in Singapore. Overall my experience was good. The hotel is located on a quiet street, it is clean, stylish and offers a great outdoor pool and small gym. Staff are helpful and friendly.

I did have some wifi speed issues as my room was a little far from the lobby, so make sure to ask for a room with decent wifi.

Also, if showering in the middle of the room isn't your thing, you might want to reconsider your booking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Sales & Marketing at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Tripandvisor,

Greetings from New Majestic Hotel!

Thank you for your time in writing this feedback for all of us here at Tripadvisor.

It is heartening to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the services and facilities that we offer. Our team of staff are delighted to know that they have extended a service worthy of a mention.

We have taken note of your comment with regards to the wifi and are looking into alternatives to make it seamless for our guests to use.

Designed for the intrepid travelers who value unique hotel experiences, each of the 30 rooms is individually designed hence no two rooms are alike. Some rooms have a bath in the middle, which makes for a unique bathing experience while some have a private patio with an outdoor bath. We also have a more conservative bathroom area for some of the rooms. Having said that, we recognise that each guests will have their own take of the rooms.

Do watch out for our latest property that is currently in the works at your side of the world; Sydney!

Till then, safe travels!

Cheers!
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    178
    46
    15
    10
See reviews for
24
264
42
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed here for my husbands birthday and loved it. We booked an Aqua room- spacious, light and with a huge, comfy bed. The gym is small but adequate and the pool a nice place to chill out. Breakfast was good, and the staff were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Although the Aqua room we stayed in was nice, we had a poor nights sleep as it faced onto a road whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Sales & Marketing at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hi elfish,

Greetings from New Majestic Hotel!

Thank you for choosing us as your preferred choice of accommodation during your husband's birthday. Your compliments are greatly appreciated and will be shared with our team of staff.

We understand that some guests may be more sensitive to noise than others, hence we provide ear plugs for all our rooms. We will definitely do what we can to eradicate/minimise the noise issue you experienced.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Safe travels!

Warm Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the New Majestic after our booking at a nearby hotel was cancelled due to maintenance problems. We loved it. We had the "Fluid" room on the third floor which overlooked the pool. It had a large sitting area, very comfortable (sunken) bed, and fabulous shower. Staff were lovely to deal with and very helpful. Nice breakfast. The pool is not large but it was fantastic to cool off in at this time of year. There is also a gym but I was not energetic enough for that. Lovely Kiel toiletries. Nespresso in room.

The hotel is located in a great area with lots of restaurants and wine bars, and close to MRT and Chinatown.

We would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Fluid Room was great - large and airy. Every room is designed by a different designer - different t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Sales & Marketing at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Lanny48

Thank you for your constructive feedback of your stay with us. We strive to ensure that all our guests have a fantastic time at New Majestic Hotel, and we are truly pleased to hear that your stay was no exception.

The Fluid room, designed by fashion designer, Wykidd Song, is soothing to the eyes with the lovely curves and calm colours. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed it! Being a boutique hotel with a total of only 30 rooms, it is an intimate setting where we get to pay closer attention to each guest's needs.

On behalf of the team, we look forward to welcome you back again to try the other rooms all brimming with character and personality.

Keep well and safe travels!

Kind Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

stayed in this nice ltitle hotel for 5n in a two-floor room overlooking the pool. plenty of "boutique" type quirks in this place. think of industrial lights, recycled furniture, plywood crates, etc. front desk staff were nice, the room was nicely laid out and the breakfast was good. room service was prompt. bathroom ran out of hot water easily, not enough of it to fill the bath. quite strange, given their room rates, i must say! internet was free, but logging in was not without hassles, fix they could fix the gateway page or get rid of the broken authentication arrangement altogether! location is quiet and convenient, near MRT. I almost feel like staying I would go back to this when in Singapore the next time, but I feel that for this rate I might find some other nice little hotel with plenty of hot water and a functional internet.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Sales & Marketing at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Hi urmsu888,

Greetings from sunny Singapore!
We appreciate you taking the time and acknowledging our services and facilities. It is always heartening to know that our team of staff extended a lovely service during your stay with us.

We are disappointed to hear about your comment on the water heater. Housed in a conservation building, we did face the challenge of balancing minimal alternations of the historical building while adding on new hardware to make our guests stay comfortable. Be rest assured that we are constantly finding alternatives to improve our product.

Nevertheless, we are glad to know that you found our location convenient. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again for a renewed experience.

Till then, safe travels.

Warm Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The service was very good and the room was great! We stayed in the 'bath' room and the design / room interior was something different and we enjoyed it a lot! The hotel is situated close to public transport and within a very nice street in old China town. People that appreciate good design will enjoy staying at this quirky hotel! We had fun!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Hi Warno R,

Greetings from Unlisted Collection!

We appreciate you taking time to write this review. Indeed, New Majestic Hotel is designed for the intrepid traveler with a spirit of wanderlust, never settling for the norm. It is heartening to know that you appreciate our rooms and that you were well taken care of by our team of staff.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon in our sunny shores!

Cheers,
Lyndel Joyce
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed at the New Majestic Singapore at Christmas time 2013 for 2 weeks. This is a wonderful hotel. The room faced the road, on the top floor with a long narrow balcony. It was very modern with the bathroom cleverly placed within the room - separated by glass. Great location and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Sales & Marketing at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear SydneyOrchestra,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the unique design of our hotel and rooms.

Our balcony rooms give our guests a lovely corner to enjoy the quaint Bukit Pasoh Road. Measuring an average of 38 square metres, it is very spacious with an aquarium bathtub in the middle of the room to welcome the guests.

We defend our promise of high quality service and are pleased to hear you acknowledge that as well.

We hope you will be visiting Singapore again and give us another opportunity to extend our hospitality in our other uniquely designed rooms!

Kindly,
Shari Knott
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I had a one night stay in New Majestic Hotel over the weekend and it was really a good experience.
A few good things to note:

1) The day before my check in, I had wrote in to Jarrod and explain to him that this stay was to celebrate for my bf bday and needed the help of the hotel staff to safe keep my bday macarons in the chiller. He agreed to it and even notify the front desk personnel prior to my arrival.
2) Staffs were cheerful, friendly and obliged to almost all of our room requests, except for the asking of comb availability (as they don’t provide =) )
3) Quick check in/ out. We arrive at 1130am and were allow to check in already. A late check-out was also requested and was granted as well.
4) We had the Lifestyle room (Fluid room) which is situated on the 3rd floor. We choose this room because of the unique design and indeed, my bf and I really love the room, especially the sofa area and little slope at the corner. The room was pretty spacious, with about 35sqm, as compared to other room style. Toilet wise, pretty basic.. not too big.. not much of a surprise but is good enough.
5) The hotel does have a mini swimming pool but probably due to the space constraint, it is quite small and very near to the rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor. I personally feel weird swimming there, with people looking out at you at a close distance from the rooms. But I am impressed with the gym room as though is small but well equipped (no chance to try out though..)
6) Great location. Is just merely a 1min walk from Outram Park station. And there were many good cafes nearby, all within walking distance (5-10mins) – Roosevelt Café, Selfish Gene Café, Group Therapy Café, 49 Seats, The Plain.. which was really a bonus for us because we were actually planning to go to these café for our meals. If you wish to go for budget one, there are also hawker nearby at Chinatown to have your breakfast (if you did not opt for the hotel breakie) It is seriously very convenient..

Ok, so much for the positive feedbacks.. of cos we do have some negative ones:

1) There is one foreign female waitress (station outside the restaurant) who was pretty rude. She sounded impatient when I was asking for direction in the hotel. This needs to be improved.
2) The hygiene of the room was pretty ok.. but properly needs to pay more attention to the cleaning, especially for the pillow. We found the 3 pillows on the sofa all with little yellow stains on it and the two black pillow on the bed have mold appearing on it. It was very shocking because it seems that these pillows have not been changed/ washed for weeks!!. We quickly highlight to the front desk and the 3 pillows on the sofa were taken away, but the black pillows were only chucked away at the corner of the room. This really needs to be improved as it kind of feel disgusted.
3) And another shocking finding is that we saw a welcome biscuits in the room and when we looked closely, there were molds all over it! Erm.. this is really disgusting because to have mold appearing on it, I guessed it must have been there for weeks and no one bother to replace it for each new visitors. Is a blessing we did not eat it.. or else.. We brought it down to the front desk during our check-out and has highlight to them on this. This is far too dangerous as what if a child ate it? Hmm.. your really need to mark this down and do a check to each of the room and avoid this totally in future.

But on the overall, this was still a pleasant stay and both my bf and I really enjoy it.
Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Sales & Marketing at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear JOA1986,

Greetings from sunny Singapore!
We really appreciate you taking the time and writing such an extensive review. We are very pleased to hear you had an overall pleasant stay with us!

As the hotel is housed within a row of conservation shophouses, we try our best to work within the limited space available. With the swimming pool and gym located on level two, the facilities allow our guests to have some space to relax.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed one of our Lifestyle Rooms; the Fluid room is a favourite amongst many guests! Hopefully we get a chance to welcome you back here and inspire you with another of our uniquely designed rooms.

The neighbourhood we are in is a vibrant enclave and we have the good fortune of having some of the best coffee shops and bistros in the area. We are pleased you were able to enjoy this as well.

Thank you also for highlighting some of areas that we can very much improve on.
We regret to hear the level of service extended by the restaurant staff as well as the cleanliness of some of the items in the room. We have spoken to the relevant departments concern, and they have taken your feedback on board and we will continuously work to ensure that we extend the level of professionalism in our service as well as cleanliness in the room.

We hope to validate this during your next stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you to one of our hotels in the near future.


Sincerely,
Shari Knott
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Majestic Hotel

Address: 31 - 37 Bukit Pasoh Rd, Singapore 089845, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#56 Family Hotel in Singapore
#69 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional conservation shop house located in the heart of Chinatown, the New Majestic Hotel features an emphasis on strong design, local culture and the Arts.From the open concept period-inspired lobby with restored vintage Compton fans to the dramatic pool with glass inserts floating above the restaurant, to the selection of period colonial furniture from Singapore in the 1920s- 1960s, New Majestic Hotel is a stunning and eclectic mix of heritage chic.Each of the New Majestic's 30 rooms is different, from the mix of vintage and designer furniture through to the customized baths. Room highlights include suites with private gardens, attic style rooms with loft beds in six-meter high ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Agoda, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your New Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Singapore
New Majestic Hotel Singapore
Hotel New Majestic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Majestic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.