We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bathtub Gin and It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Majestic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added New Majestic Hotel to your Saves list
New Majestic Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 - 37 Bukit Pasoh Rd, Singapore 089845, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Bathtub Gin and It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a splendid room at this hotel. If we had to be picky, because we were beside the pool we had to keep our curtains closed and had slight issues with noise. On the plus side the room was lovely (jetlag responds very well to Nespresso and we had our own machine in the room). Location was a bit out of things but Singapore's transport system is so good, and taxis so cheap, we were fine. Best thing of all was the outdoor bath tub where we ended the evening with a companionable soak and a nightcap. Would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear UrsineJJ

Thank you so much for your kind review.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed the Nespresso machine and your garden room. Perhaps when you come back, you might want to try our Lifestyle King Room which are individually designed by renowned local designers.

We look forward to extending our hospitality to you again the next time you are back in Singapore!

Warm Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Sales Executive
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    183
    46
    15
    10
See reviews for
27
268
44
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here 3 times over 2 weeks whilst going back and forthto Malaysia. Each time a different room, though I thought that the last one we had "Fluid" was the best. However each if very different all infinitely better than your standard 4/5 star corporate hotel. As you would expect at this level, safe/wifi/Nespresso machine/ good thick robes, and a cute little pool to cool off in after a hard days shopping- this is Singapore after all. My only complaint would be that there is no kettle for those of us that travel with our own herbal T bags,

Breakfast, however, is only average, and I fail to understand why, in such a high tech city as Singapore, all the toasters are rubbish. The same goes for Malaysia as well.

Location couldn't be better, 30 metres to the Outram Park MRT, one stop to ChinaTown, and if you want one of the best 50 meals in the world, its right next door at Andre.

Room Tip: Any room is good, always try a different one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Sales Executive at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Gooner51,

Greetings from New Majestic Hotel!

We are very pleased to hear of your wonderful experience with us and thank you for your feedback. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the luxurious amenities. We strive to pamper our guests to the best of our abilities.

We have taken note of your comment with regards to the breakfast and rest assured that it has been communicated to the management.

Indeed, we are located literally a stone's throw away from the train station which will bring you to the many places of interest in Singapore.

If you are feeling adventurous, you may want to check out our sister hotel, Wanderlust Hotel, located in the colourful Little India for a memorable stay.

Till then, safe travels!

Warm Regards,
Lyndel Joyce
Sales Executive
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great boutique hotel. Great location in Chinatown. Great staff. Great atmosphere. Great room! Aqua room spacious. Loved the Kiel's products in the bathroom! Loved the Nespresso in the room and of course I loved the complementary Barista coffee in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Klaros,

Warm hellos from the New Majestic Hotel team!
Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

We are pleased that you had a great time staying with us, and that you thoroughly enjoyed the amenities and the complimentary Nespresso provided in the room. It’s also good to hear that you loved the hotel’s central location and the team’s dedication to service excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Singapore!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We only stayed here for 2 nights and could have definitely stayed longer.

We had an aqua room - very unique as the glass headboard for the bed looks through into the bathroom! A sign in the room apologised for any noise as the room faced onto the road, and earplugs were even provided, but the road is very quiet and we weren't disturbed at all.

The hotel had everything we needed; spacious rooms, beautiful design, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful - booking taxis, recommending places to eat, translating things for us...

Location is great, quiet around the hotel itself but with an MRT station almost outside, and some fantastic restaurants and bars, including the great Maxwell Road Hawker Centre just a few minutes walk away.

If I'm ever back in Singapore I'll definitely be visiting the New Majestic again.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by rooms that face onto the road - there is hardly any through traffic and we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Elizabeth S,

Greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your splendid compliments!

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. We strive to keep all our guests pampered, so it is great to note that your stay was without want. The team appreciates your kind compliments, and we hope to impress you again when you are next in town.

We look forward to having you with us again soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This boutique hotel is everything plus more, I highly recommend you stay here. The staff are friendly and the bed was the best I've ever stayed in. Although one would consider the price for a room expensive, I felt like room 404 was a home away from home - no need to leave. Stunning pool, espresso machine in the room, dual bathtubs, restaurant/breakfast available downstairs.
Great location to China Town (I would suggest getting out at the MRT Outram, gate H which brings you out about 150m down from the hotel.)
This place would be best suited to couples - too much of a gem not to share the experience with someone.

Room Tip: 401 - smaller room surrounded by mirrors 404 - loft style apartment, dual bathtubs, very spacious a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear DanielleBrooke,

Warm hellos from the New Majestic Hotel team!
Thank you for your marvellous compliments!

We are thrilled to hear that you loved your stay with us! We love to keep our guests pampered, so it’s wonderful that you enjoyed the amenities and facilities provided.

We want to continue impressing you, and we look forward to having you back with us soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I would recommended the New Majestic to any one who wants to stay at a hotel that's different from your average corporate hotel. The staff our extremely friendly, helpful and provide a personal touch to your stay. We could not fault this hotel.

Location is brilliant for exploring Chinatown where there are loads of places to eat and drink. Taxis are really easy and cheap to get to any where in the city from the hotel.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear SarahR748,

Hellos from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your wonderful review!

We are so happy to hear that your recent stay with us was nothing less than perfect. The team strives to create a ‘home away from home’ for all our guests, and it’s wonderful that you loved the team’s commitment to personalized service.

We look forward to having you again soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in a "Garden Room (room 212)". The garden rooms feature a bath tub outside in a small private garden. The room was excellent, but possibly too many mirrored walls for the self-concious! The hotel is located in a very nice, quiet area of Chinatown. The mrt is literally across the road!!! It takes no more than a minutes walk to access the mrt station. You are centrally located for most attractions in the city. The staff are excellent and very helpful, as we were given a room to shower in on our check-out day (room 313, very nice!). The pool is excellent, as is the adjoining gym. I can't really fault this hotel, and would definitly recommend.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 212, it's on the second floor, next to the swimming pool and gym, and is on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Southson,

Warm greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your brilliant feedback!

It is great to hear that you enjoyed staying in our Premier Garden room. With every room in the hotel individually designed by different local artists, each room is truly one-of-a-kind and holds its own unique stay experience.

We are glad that you found the hotel’s central location convenient for your travels about Singapore, and that you were impressed with the team’s dedication to service excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Majestic Hotel

Address: 31 - 37 Bukit Pasoh Rd, Singapore 089845, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#32 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#52 Family Hotel in Singapore
#75 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional conservation shop house located in the heart of Chinatown, the New Majestic Hotel features an emphasis on strong design, local culture and the Arts.From the open concept period-inspired lobby with restored vintage Compton fans to the dramatic pool with glass inserts floating above the restaurant, to the selection of period colonial furniture from Singapore in the 1920s- 1960s, New Majestic Hotel is a stunning and eclectic mix of heritage chic.Each of the New Majestic's 30 rooms is different, from the mix of vintage and designer furniture through to the customized baths. Room highlights include suites with private gardens, attic style rooms with loft beds in six-meter high ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Otel and Tingo so you can book your New Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Singapore
New Majestic Hotel Singapore
Hotel New Majestic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Majestic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.