We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place in an interesting part of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Majestic Hotel

Save Saved
You added New Majestic Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Majestic Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 - 37 Bukit Pasoh Rd, Singapore 089845, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Interesting place in an interesting part of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel six months ago, and genuinely enjoying that stay, I decided to give it another try last month. I was not disappointed at all; even more pleasantly surprised how consistent the friendly and level of service was.

The location is quite attractive if looking for something other than the “in the middle of everything” or “200+ identical rooms” class of hotel. New Majestic is in the outer (western) reaches of Chinatown, but near some interesting places to eat (Keong Saik Rd) or enjoy life (Duxton, Ann Siang Hill, Tajong Pagar). It is very convenient to the MRT (Outram Park – two lines). It is a short taxi to the City.

Room size is adequate, and I stayed both times on the pool side (interior). The hotel has larger rooms facing the front, but I’ve only seen them from a distance when housekeeping left doors open. The front desk staff seems to have a “you are our guest” attitude and helps to make your stay comfortable.

Room Tip: Stayed in a room overlooking pool; it was quieter than an exterior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Andy H,

Warm greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your kind compliments.

We are pleased to have welcomed you back for your second stay, and are glad to hear that you had yet another enjoyable experience staying with us. It’s great that you loved the hotel’s Chinatown location; with so many unique sights and shops, Chinatown is truly an interesting area to explore.

We hope to continue impressing you when you are next in Singapore!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    170
    45
    15
    10
See reviews for
23
254
41
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverkeithing, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Honestly, I was a little unsure of what to expect from the New Majestic before arriving, but I needn't have been concerned!

The good:

- The location. Right on the edge of Chinatown, just off a main shopping road and barely a minute's walk from the nearest MRT station. The area around the hotel also retains most of it's colonial architecture rather than the brand new high-rise that Singapore is renowned for

- The staff. Very friendly, can't do enough for you. A few communication issues here and there, but nothing that caused any problems.

- The room. We were in an attic suite, which was excellent for us, though definitely not recommended for older people or those who struggle with mobility, as the bed is on a mezzanine up what is essentially a ladder. It was very well furnished, minibar and bedding/towels were changed daily and it was always very clean. The TV had a range of channels from various countries aswell as an information channel for tourists. The shower was excellent, though the bath not so much (more on that later). Finally, the air conditioning was fantastic and there is a ceiling fan above the bed for those who prefer not to leave it on overnight

The not-so-good:

- Internet. I had major problems connecting to the wi-fi using my laptop. I stress that this is entirely a problem with Windows 8 and has nothing to do with the hotel, but it is something to keep in mind if you are staying here. It worked absolutely fine on my phone and 3DS.

- Breakfast. The quality of the food is great, but if you stay for any more than a few days, it's very repetitive. The choices are exactly the same each day (eggs cooked one of four ways, along with bacon, sausage and a selection of breads, cereals and fruit) which as I said, gets very samey after a few days. It is also a tad expensive for what it is, though if you can get it as part of a package deal, it is probably worth doing. If you can't, I'd suggest popping down the road to a cafe for a better deal

- The baths. For those who haven't seen the photos, the centrepiece of the attic rooms are a pair of free-standing bathtubs. Very nice to look at, but I'm afraid I can't say more than that. We decided to try them out one day and found that there wasn't enough hot water to fill even half of one bath.


All in all though, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. The issues it has are minor and the good things far outweigh them in any case. I hope to be back one day!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Jamie C,

Greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your splendid compliments!

We are thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, and that you appreciated the architecture and culture of historic Chinatown. It is great to hear that you loved the location of the hotel and that you were also impressed with the team’s commitment to service excellence.

Please also be assured that we have noted your feedback about the breakfast and the hot water issues you encountered. We will definitely work towards making improvements to these points.

Thank you for your recommendation, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We has a staycation and stayed in the room with the outdoor vintage tub and a mini garden.
At night it was just pure romance int the evening when the vintage Moroccan inspired lantern lit the garden and tub while we sip champagne and soak the stress away.
Room was tiny but style compensated the lack of space.
Toiletries from Kheil's are just splendid.
Pool and jacuzzi was awesome and cool, and rooms opens up to the pool; not the breezy rooftop kind.
Breakfast was a disappointment, warm breakfast and spread was very limited for the amount we paid.
Enjoyed our stay and would consider staying here again but would go out for breakfast instead next time.
Location is the BEST. Sleepy part of Chinatown (hard find), yet close enough to eateries which opens till late.
Staff treated foreigners better than locals though (it was obvious - @ the reception)

Room Tip: Ask for room that opens up to the pool if u prefer this convenience. Prepare to have another round...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear pendingroad,

Hellos from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are delighted that you had an awesome staycation with us. Our Premier Garden rooms do indeed offer a lovely tranquil escape from the hustle and bustle of Singapore. It’s great to hear that you loved the room and the amenities that were provided in it.

We were concerned to learn that the level of service provided by the team and the quality of breakfast served did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that your feedback has been related to the relevant departments, and we will see to it that such experiences will not occur again.

If you are feeling particularly adventurous, do try out our sister property, Wanderlust, for your next staycation.

Thank you once again, and we hope to be of service to you again soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Max and I spent four nights at the New Majestic in June after a leisurely two weeks on Pulau Tioman in Malaysia. As always I'd done a bit of pre-trip research and neither of us was disappointed when we arrived. The staff was most welcoming (thanks Nicole) and responded to our every (though occasional) request with friendliness and a professional attitude.
From the first sight it looked good. (Check out the lawn sculpture!). It was beautifully lit and inviting at night.
A spacious lobby with all sorts of interesting arty bits and bobs and mags said Yes, this looks good. A Hollywood staircase up to the pool and gym topped it off. A barista who made great coffee was situated there also. So far, what's not to like!
Our room was spacious enough for our needs and was cleverly designed, as most seem to be from our quick peeks into some of the others. Our room motif was a play on the Hey Diddle Diddle, the Cat & the Fiddle etc. Sensational shower & toiletries and a super comfortable bed, TV at the end. And coffee and water and juice provided.
The pool was a welcome relief from the humidity. Who needs big when there's no-one else in it? Spa jets at two ends.
A big plus is that it's situated a two minute walk from Outram station...you can get anywhere from there. And it's located in old Chinatown...cheap and tasty eats abound five minutes away. Apart from that, the New Majestic is right in the middle of a thriving funky bar, restaurant and arts scene. Recommended...Provence Le Restaurant, one street across.
We stayed during the Sumatran forest fires that blew east which smothered Singapore for the last two days of our stay and the smoke pollution was close to unbearable. The staff offered us face masks...thoughtfulness much appreciated.
On our last day our flight didn't leave until near midnight so the reception stored our luggage and after returning after a movie (out of the smog) offered us a room for showering and a change of clothes. Excellent service.
Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Jeremy_Hooper,

Hellos from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your awesome review!

It was our pleasure to have had you with us, and we are delighted to hear that you had a terrific stay with us despite the haze! It’s great that you enjoyed the amenities provided in the rooms and that you found the hotel’s central location convenient for your travels about Singapore.

Thank you for the recommendation, and we look forward to having you again when you are next in town!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This has a very big cool factor going on.Check in smooth and very well prepared,the rooms are not very large,i guess depends on which one they put you,if you travelling single or double i guess. I looked at a few others when i was walking around, and there is larger ones.Loved mine,funky red and awesome to sleep in.

Was 5 mins late for breakfast and was cut off so could not tell you if food was any good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Bank1972,

Warm greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your wonderful review.

We are glad that you found the hotel cool and that you loved the quirky design of the room you stayed in. We hope to have you again when you are next in Singapore!

Till then, we wish you safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is the first time I've stayed in such art-inspired boutique hotel, where all the rooms have "themes" and are different to one another. It's quite an interesting concept, actually. I got the "Liquid" room, which is spacious and has a really futuristic design. I suppose it was an upgrade from the "Aqua" room I originally booked. The room faces the small pool, which I think is more for decoration than for swimming. Insulation could've been better, because I could hear clearly any sound from the pool (lucky it was not facing the street).

The official check-in time is rather stingy at 4 pm, and really my room was not ready until very close to 4 pm. I just arrived in Singapore after a long flight from Paris, so the first thing I wanted to do was to get a refreshing shower. The reception staff did not ask anything (e.g. how was your journey?), nor did they made suggestions to wait in the lounge or have lunch at the restaurant (which I probably would have done, rather than walking around in the heat). I did not feel the welcome was good enough. Furthermore, I had to fly out early the next day (even no time for breakfast), so in the end I felt that I did not get enough value for the money. That said, the evening and night/morning staff were great - helpful and all smiles.

I like the location of this hotel, away from the hectic atmosphere of shopping malls (there's a different feeling of hectic at the Chinatown nearby, but that's OK). It is close to the Outram Park MRT, which is quite handy. Also, this hotel is exactly next door to the highly acclaimed Restaurant Andre, which I did not have the opportunity to try this time, but may consider if I visit Singapore next time. When I do, I wouldn't mind staying at New Majestic again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear SpiceNSpruce,

Greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your generous feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us. As you rightly mentioned, our rooms are unique and unconventional, each individually designed by a different local artist. On your return, do try out a different room to further explore the artistic quirkiness of the hotel.

We were a little concerned to learn of your less than satisfactory check-in experience, as it is our aim here at New Majestic Hotel to provide a ‘home away from home’ for all our guests. Rest assured that your feedback has been related to the relevant department and will be addressed accordingly.

We look forward to having you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have just checked out of this hotel and it was absolutely fabulous. If you're after somewhere where you'll experience a more authentic stay in Singapore away from the overly commercial Orchard Road then this place is perfect. We stayed 3 nights and the first night we were booked into a room with a loft bed. This wasn't ideal for us as we are in our mid 50s and coming down the ladder in the middle of the night wasn't ideal. When we told the staff they moved us to another room without hesitation.

The staff were faultless and the hotel very funky and comfortable.

I would highly recommend this hotel to any age group.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear dbucko,

Hellos from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your splendid compliments.

We are thrilled to hear that your recent stay with us was nothing short of perfect. The team strives to ensure that all our guests have a great time staying at New Majestic Hotel, and we are happy that you were impressed with the team’s dedication to service excellence.

Thank you for your recommendation, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Majestic Hotel

Address: 31 - 37 Bukit Pasoh Rd, Singapore 089845, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#32 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
#62 Family Hotel in Singapore
#68 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Majestic Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional conservation shop house located in the heart of Chinatown, the New Majestic Hotel features an emphasis on strong design, local culture and the Arts.From the open concept period-inspired lobby with restored vintage Compton fans to the dramatic pool with glass inserts floating above the restaurant, to the selection of period colonial furniture from Singapore in the 1920s- 1960s, New Majestic Hotel is a stunning and eclectic mix of heritage chic.Each of the New Majestic's 30 rooms is different, from the mix of vintage and designer furniture through to the customized baths. Room highlights include suites with private gardens, attic style rooms with loft beds in six-meter high ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and HotelTravel.com so you can book your New Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Singapore
New Majestic Hotel Singapore
Hotel New Majestic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Majestic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.