We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're looking for a great place to stay in Singapore this is it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Majestic Hotel

Save Saved
You added New Majestic Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New Majestic Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 - 37 Bukit Pasoh Rd, Singapore 089845, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“If you're looking for a great place to stay in Singapore this is it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have just checked out of this hotel and it was absolutely fabulous. If you're after somewhere where you'll experience a more authentic stay in Singapore away from the overly commercial Orchard Road then this place is perfect. We stayed 3 nights and the first night we were booked into a room with a loft bed. This wasn't ideal for us as we are in our mid 50s and coming down the ladder in the middle of the night wasn't ideal. When we told the staff they moved us to another room without hesitation.

The staff were faultless and the hotel very funky and comfortable.

I would highly recommend this hotel to any age group.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear dbucko,

Hellos from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your splendid compliments.

We are thrilled to hear that your recent stay with us was nothing short of perfect. The team strives to ensure that all our guests have a great time staying at New Majestic Hotel, and we are happy that you were impressed with the team’s dedication to service excellence.

Thank you for your recommendation, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    177
    46
    15
    10
See reviews for
24
262
42
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We sty here two nights in transit to Europe from Australia. This is a lovely, cool and funky kettle hotel not far from the markets and great eating in Chinatown .

Positives...
Very friendly staff,
Cool, chic modern rooms, visually pleasing and nice ambience.
Close to tourist transport, markets, great food.

Negatives...
Our room was great for a short stay (not much luggage space). We would pay extra for a higher level room for a longer stay.
Breakfast was nice but a bit too western for us (when in Rome:)

We checked out other rooms that we being vacate cleaned and the lifestyle rooms with balconies were amazing!

Great stay, would stay here again!

Room Tip: Go the lifestyle rooms if you can afford them
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear LuckyLeigh,

Warm hellos from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your terrific compliments!

It’s truly wonderful to learn that you had a fantastic stay with us, and that you loved the quirky designs of the hotel.

We look forward to having you back with us soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

That's “unusual” good … not bad!

We stayed in a garden room … definitely different from your normal hotel room, with mirrored walls and an outdoor bathtub.

All of the rooms are themed differently, and ours was most comfortable with a huge bed, fluffy robes, high pressure hot water, and good adjustable air conditioning.

A small but adequate outdoor pool was great for a quick dip to cool off from the humidity, and our included breakfast - full cooked plus a choice of juice, fruit and pastries etc (although identical each day), was very tasty and filling.

They even supplied earplugs in case the background noise bothered you (it didn't), along with free Wi-Fi, a free adaptor plug, and free water and softdrink in the mini-bar … most thoughful.

Just a couple of minutes from Outram Park MRT station and right on the edge of Chinatown, it's ideally situated with a couple of small restaurants just a few steps down the road.

A worthwhile experience with fantastic service from each and every staff member we came into contact with.

PS. And they allowed us a late check-out to 3pm without charge :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear jjumpstart,

Greetings from the New Majestic Hotel team!
Thank you for your fabulous review!

We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us, and that you loved the amenities that were stocked in the rooms. Here at New Majestic Hotel, we are dedicated to providing tiptop service with a personal touch; so it is truly great to hear that you were impressed with the team’s commitment to service excellence.

Thank you once again for your support, and we look forward to being of service to you again soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, Enbgland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in June and whilst the rooms were small, they were certainly quirky. The only minor issue was the lack of wardrobe space but other than that, they were very comfortable. The other big plus is the staff, they were extremely welcoming and a credit to the hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Paulus382012,

Hellos from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your positive review.

We are happy that you had a great time staying with us, and that you were impressed with the team’s dedication to service excellence.

We look forward to being of service to you again soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel and well situated. But the best thing is the staff. We needed some medical help, and although it was the middle of the night, and only 2 staff were there to help us and witness it, EVERY staff member was asking how my son was feeling for days afterward. Really liked the room deco and facilities. Good area, too.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Reklawas,

Warm greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your fantastic compliments!

We are thrilled that you had a wonderful stay with us, and that the team’s unfailing dedication to service excellence ensured that you were well looked after during your time with us.

We certainly hope to impress you again when you are next in Singapore!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We had a two night stay here and were delighted with every aspect of the place. We stayed in the "Work" room at the front of the building, which is decorated rather like a designer's studio/atelier, complete with two huge "mood boards". Loads of space, bath with powerful shower just behind the bed, clean, comfortable and cool. Bathrobes were a cut above the usual - outrageously soft and comfortable.

Staff were friendly and helpful, and willingly assisted with taxis, restaurant bookings and general advice. Chinatown turned out to be an ideal neighbourhood - we followed some of the recommendations in the guide that came with the room, and these were spot on.

Breakfast was fine, but our dinner in the restaurant on the Saturday night was spectacularly good from start to end - can't recommend it highly enough. It has been showered with awards, all of which are on display, and justly so.

Room Tip: The five "LIfestyle" concept rooms are each individually designed, and four of them have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Mike-TD,

Hellos from the New Majestic Hotel team!
Thank you for your wonderful review!

We are pleased to hear that your recent stay with us was nothing short of perfect. It’s fantastic to note that you enjoyed the funky design of our ‘Work’ room and that you loved the amenities that were provided in the room. The team are happy to have been able to ensure that you were well taken care of during your time with us.

We certainly hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My friends and I stayed at this hotel for 2nights it was great. The rooms are very comfortable and are bigger than the average hotel room the beds amazingly comfy did not want to get out. It is close to Chinatown for great restaurants the train station is just up the road. The staff were very polite and very helpful I would definately stay here again. My friends had a room with a balcony which was great.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear jeanette b,

Warm hellos from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for the brilliant review.

We are thrilled to hear that you and your friends had an amazing stay with us! It is our pleasure to have made your stay in Singapore a comfortable and memorable one, and we certainly look forward to your return!

Until then, take care and safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Majestic Hotel

Address: 31 - 37 Bukit Pasoh Rd, Singapore 089845, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#56 Family Hotel in Singapore
#68 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Majestic Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional conservation shop house located in the heart of Chinatown, the New Majestic Hotel features an emphasis on strong design, local culture and the Arts.From the open concept period-inspired lobby with restored vintage Compton fans to the dramatic pool with glass inserts floating above the restaurant, to the selection of period colonial furniture from Singapore in the 1920s- 1960s, New Majestic Hotel is a stunning and eclectic mix of heritage chic.Each of the New Majestic's 30 rooms is different, from the mix of vintage and designer furniture through to the customized baths. Room highlights include suites with private gardens, attic style rooms with loft beds in six-meter high ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your New Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Singapore
New Majestic Hotel Singapore
Hotel New Majestic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Majestic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.