We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small is good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Majestic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added New Majestic Hotel to your Saves list
New Majestic Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 - 37 Bukit Pasoh Rd, Singapore 089845, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Wanaka, New Zealand
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Small is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We also prefer to stay at boutique hotels. The rooms are small-ish but still comfortable and great beds. Excellent showers, complimentary drinks are a nice touch and free Wi-Fi (this is a given yet many hotels in Europe especially still try and charge!) and also the Bose stereo system. Close to the MRT, some great eating spots nearby and helpful staff. A room with a shower for no extra cost after you checked out is a great extra. Only gripe which is such an easy fix but still not done in the years that we have been staying IS extra shelves in the bathroom PLEASE there is no where big enough for 2 toiletries bags if you are a couple ( staff got me a stool) even hooks would help and there is enough space for a rack without spoiling the design.

Room Tip: Just ask to see the rooms first as we had to change once as we had cooking smells from the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Sukamakan,

Hellos from the New Majestic Hotel team!
Thank you for your generous compliments.

We are pleased that you had another memorable stay with us, and we are also glad to hear that you enjoyed the amenities that were included in the room. We have also noted your feedback about the extra shelf in the bathroom, and we’ll definitely look into having additional storage space in the bathroom.

We do hope to have you with us again soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    185
    46
    15
    10
See reviews for
27
268
44
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great designed boutique hotel. I enjoyed all the unusual decorations starting from lobby to the room decor.
The bed wasn't the most comfy one, bit too small for 2 people.
Big plus for Nespresso machine in every room, free soft drinks in the fridge and awesome location. Chinatown is my favourite part of Singapore with great dining options in a short walking distance.
Very close to MRT station, easy to go to Sentosa for a day trip.

The worst part - breakfast. Oily eggs, just a few things in the buffet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear AgaCosmic,

Warm hellos from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your kind feedback.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel’s central location and close proximity to Chinatown. It was also great for us to hear that you appreciated the complimentary Nespresso and soft drinks available in the rooms.

Your comments about breakfast have been duly noted and will be related to the relevant departments. We will strive to make improvements to the breakfast offerings.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

this is a nice hotel within the "fashion" and "people" area in SG. Small unit with nice rooms and very effective staff. Be advised that this is not a "standard" hotel. Choice have been made to have designers that furnish the room as they want. So far it s really non conventional and may caused some troubles as design sometime doesn't fit well with "confort"...saying that is a nice alternative choice to the big hotels in SG

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear travelpassionFrance,

Greetings from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for taking time out to write this review.

With all 30 rooms in New Majestic Hotel designed individually, we would definitely say that our rooms are not conventional at all. We are glad that you enjoyed the uniqueness of the rooms, and the high level of service provided by the team.

We hope to have you again when you are next in Singapore!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband and I have just returned home after spending 8 nights at the NM in Singapore. We stayed in one of the quirky rooms called the Big Goldfish which included an outdoor area with a fantastic bathtub. Inside the room was small-ish with the TV at the end of the bed, but a clothes storage area and lots of room under the bed for cases. The shower is fantastic, as is the outdoor area. The complimentary drinks were a nice touch, as was the included breakfast and free Wi-Fi and also the Bose stereo system. The room was very quiet all except for one night over the weekend when we had some noisy guests, but as we stayed there for a week that's ok. Close to the MRT, some great eating spots close by and the staff were great. We were even able to use a room with a shower for no extra cost after we had checked out but before we went to the airport, which was really good. 5 stars in my opinion - the only (and it's small) is that we found the bed a little firm, but if that's the worst we can come up with, that's pretty good!

Room Tip: We enjoyed having the outdoor area and the bath, especially when saying a few extra days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Kellie2450,

Warm hellos from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your wonderful review!

We are truly pleased to hear that you had a great time staying with us, and that you thought that the rooms were well-provided. Our Premier Garden rooms are really rather cosy, and the outdoor garden area provides a tranquil escape from Singapore’s busy city life.

We look forward to having you with us again.
Until next time, safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The location is excellent on the edge of Chinatown. The staff are charming and were very helpful after I lost my camery. Even after our return to Europe they were chasing up the bus company and the shops/bars we visited to see if it could be tracked down.
We stayed in a premier Garden Room - Oriental Girls go West - and this was a great experience. First time we have bathed on the balcony. Yes, the rooms are small but this is Singapore and all rooms are small and the facilities that are squeezed into the room are excellent.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear H5657,

Warm greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your fantastic compliments!

We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, and that the team impressed you with their commitment to service excellence.

We look forward to having you with us again when you are next in town!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Back to the New Majestic...liked it a lot the past trip, and a lot more this time. Booked a more spacious aqua room....great space and lots of windos light which was appreciated. Rather rich wall colouring, not to be recommended with a hangover.....but that was my problem !! Very charming and helpful staff. Good location as well, as i would prefer to avaoid the crush of Orchard Row. Highly recommend this Oasis of individuality in Singapore

Room Tip: More spacious Aqua
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear AnothernameScotland,

Hellos from New Majestic Hotel!

Thank you for your recommendation and continuous support! We are absolutely thrilled to have had you with us again, and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay even more this time around!

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a small boutique hotel with interesting rooms. On arrival the staff were really professional and we were ushered to our room where everything was explained. There were nice touches like a coffee machine and complimentary drinks. The location was great on the edge of Chinatown. Late checkout at 12.00 suited us.The included breakfast was appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear BrisbaneBetty,

Greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for the wonderful compliments.

We are glad that you had a great time staying with us, and that you enjoyed the amenities provided in the rooms. We look forward to being of service to you again when you are next in town!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Majestic Hotel

Address: 31 - 37 Bukit Pasoh Rd, Singapore 089845, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#55 Family Hotel in Singapore
#72 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional conservation shop house located in the heart of Chinatown, the New Majestic Hotel features an emphasis on strong design, local culture and the Arts.From the open concept period-inspired lobby with restored vintage Compton fans to the dramatic pool with glass inserts floating above the restaurant, to the selection of period colonial furniture from Singapore in the 1920s- 1960s, New Majestic Hotel is a stunning and eclectic mix of heritage chic.Each of the New Majestic's 30 rooms is different, from the mix of vintage and designer furniture through to the customized baths. Room highlights include suites with private gardens, attic style rooms with loft beds in six-meter high ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your New Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Singapore
New Majestic Hotel Singapore
Hotel New Majestic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Majestic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.