We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Enjoyable Stay in Singapore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Majestic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added New Majestic Hotel to your Saves list
New Majestic Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 - 37 Bukit Pasoh Rd, Singapore 089845, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“An Enjoyable Stay in Singapore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The New Majestic is a hip hotel in a hip part of town. We loved our quirky room and the hotel decor in general. There is lots of choice of restaurants near by, and as others have pointed out, the MRT station is very short walk. We must comment on the front desk staff, who were exceptionally personable and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Vancouver reviewer,

Greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your kind review.

We are pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to further impress you when you are next with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    185
    46
    15
    10
See reviews for
27
268
44
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

New Majestic has so much personality yet still provides the top notch service and amenities as a typical 4/5 star hotel on Orchard Road. Chain hotels tend to feel stuffy and buttoned up, in my opinion.

The Pros:
-Location - you're just 3 minutes away from Outram Park MRT station, extrememly convenient
-Free breakfast, wifi, and minibar - can it get any better than that?! Breakfast is also very satisfying, they dont go skimpy
-Kiehl's amenities - enough said

I loved staying here and will come back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Gemerz,

Warm greetings from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your generous compliments.

We are glad that you had such a wonderful time staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Singapore!

In the meantime, safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My thoughts on this hotel are a little mixed.
Firstly, it is an inexpensive taxi ride from the airport at under $16. Don't use the airport shuttle as it will be more expensive and less efficient.
The staff here are more than helpfull, coming out to our taxi to assist with baggage, efficient with check in, helping take our luggage to our second floor room. On check out the hotel were happy to keep all our luggage safe, ensured our taxi arrived on time, did not hassle us as we waited in the hotel lobby for an hour (needed the rest), carried our bags to the taxi whilst we were escorted under umbrellas as it was raining, allowed us to use their ipad to check our outbound flights. The hotel itself is on the edge of Chinatown right near Temple Street and minutes from an MRT.
We booked the Aqua Room which has a luxourious bath and modern decor, a Nespresso machine with 4 complimentary capsules, some complimentary drinks in the mini bar, a newspaper in the morning.

Sounds so good so what was wrong with the place?
Well, given we stayed in the Aqua Room with the big bath, you run out of hot water trying to fill it so it defeats the purpose. On the second floor and facing the street, the room is very noisy - especially at 3.30am when the garbage collectors were outside. Once awake it was difficult to get back to sleep. The room really needs to be soundproofed - double glazing certainly. The room also needs block out window coverings.
Breakfast was also an issue. Whilst our tarrif included breakfast we missed out. Breakfast ends at 10am which I think is too early given that you could arrive on a late flight and might want to sleep in. Breakfast is also not on sight but 5 or 10 minutes walk away so when we showed up at reception at 9.55am to get directions we were told we were too late......sorry. Having stayed in several hotels over the last 3 weeks, 11am breakfast finish is not unreasonable.

So would we stay at this hotel again?
She: Definately, He: Probably not. Go figure..........

Room Tip: Get a room higher up not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Buzzard-of-Oz,

Greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for taking time out to write this kind review.

We are pleased that you were well looked-after by the team during your stay with us, and that you thought that the rooms were generously stocked.

The street can be a little bustling in the evenings, but we would be happy to offer and assist with a room move to a quieter one away from the front.

Breakfast is usually held in the hotel’s in-house restaurant, Majestic Restaurant. As the restaurant was not open for breakfast during the Chinese New Year period, there was a change in breakfast venues. Rest assured that your feedback about the breakfast hours have been addressed to the relevant departments. We regret the inconvenience caused, and we hope that you will allow us another opportunity to be of service to you.

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights just before Chinese New Year. The hotel is in a very convenient location, and we found it easy to get about. The staff were friendly and efficient . On the second morning they remembered that my husband drinks a lot of coffee and were very attentive in refilling his cup! The third breakfast, as has been mentioned elsewhere, was in a separate restaurant, due to CNY. Not as good as in the hotel, but adequate. The designer rooms are just lovely - we kept peeking into different rooms as they were being cleaned! The only downside was that there is hardly any space to unpack clothes. Our room overlooked the pool. We took advantage of this, and the jacuzzi, which we enjoyed very much. Would return, and will recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear orlovsky,

Hellos from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your generous compliments.

We are thrilled to hear that you were well looked-after during your stay with us, and that you had a wonderful time staying with us.

Each room is individually designed by a different local artist, so every room has its own unique design. Do try out a different room category when you are next with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

At the New Majestic rooms are designed by various artists. We get Room 309, which is brilliant. The pool in the courtyard of this great design hotel provides welcome relief from the humid weather. At breakfast, we can watch the occasional swimming hotel guest from below – the pool was built right above the breakfast room with a giant glass floor ... more infos on our trip through New Zealand? — get our AORTICA Magazine, N°02.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear AORTICA,

Warm hellos from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your kind compliments.

We are happy that you had a wonderful experience staying with us. We hope to welcome you again when you are next in Singapore!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the premier garden room for 3 nights. Rooms were unique, clean and the outdoor bathtub was brilliant. Khiels products were a lovely touch. Our room was quiet with no noise from the street.
The pool and gym were compact and great to have available.
The service was great especially one of the ladies on reception, Xin who was very helpful.
Our only issue was due to Chinese New Year our breakfast was served at a restaurant a few minutes away. The walk was not a problem however, the breakfast was no where near the standard we were expecting .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear 2006Taylors,

Greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your kind review.

We are pleased that you had a good stay with us, and that the team was hospitable and helpful to you.

With regards to your breakfast experience, Majestic Restaurant was closed for breakfast during the Chinese New Year period. As a result, there was a change in the breakfast venue, and a change in the type of breakfast served. We do regret the inconvenience caused to you by this change, and we hope that this does not mar your impression of the hotel.

We hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We arrived very early in the morning (plane arrived at around 6am) and went straight to the hotel. We have told the hotel on our booking that we would arrive very early and requested an early check-in. When we came, it turned out that they had registered our check-in date wrong (they had us for the next day) but luckily they said the room is available but not ready for us yet. They gave us a temporary room to shower and freshen up before we were moved to our actual room (which would be ready by 2pm) Nice gesture because I have double checked my booking confirmation and we didn't give them the wrong arrival date and time - staff handled everything well and we left our luggage with the receptionist so we can explore the city while waiting for the room.

Came back and we found that we were placed in an awesome themed room called The Pssy Parlour. Spent the first hour 'exploring' the room - loved the bed and the big armchair! The neon was a nice touch but it hurt my eyes after a while so we left it off for the rest of the stay in that room.

Since it's a boutique hotel and each room was different, we decided to try a different room on our second night. We picked Fluid and we looooved this room. So cozy and comfortable, soft carpet made me wanna roll around on the floor.. Too bad the shower leaked :( The room to the shower room does not keep the water from going outside, so we had a mini flood in front of the sink! Someone please have a look at this, this was the only downside of our stay in the hotel.

The breakfast was not special but I always find breakfast in hotels more convenient than tasty, so no biggie here.

Loved the mini bar and the fact they gave us 2 international adaptors to use on each room we stayed in - convenient!

On our first night in Pssy Parlour, the traffic outside was a bit loud, but earplugs were handily provided :)

Would definitely come back and try your other rooms!

Room Tip: If you want a good and noiseless sleep, get the rooms at the back and not the ones facing the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear xandiee,

Hellos from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your generous review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted your feedback about the leak in the Fluid room, and rest assure that the relevant departments are currently looking into rectifying the issue.

Do request for a different room when you are next with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Majestic Hotel

Address: 31 - 37 Bukit Pasoh Rd, Singapore 089845, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#55 Family Hotel in Singapore
#71 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional conservation shop house located in the heart of Chinatown, the New Majestic Hotel features an emphasis on strong design, local culture and the Arts.From the open concept period-inspired lobby with restored vintage Compton fans to the dramatic pool with glass inserts floating above the restaurant, to the selection of period colonial furniture from Singapore in the 1920s- 1960s, New Majestic Hotel is a stunning and eclectic mix of heritage chic.Each of the New Majestic's 30 rooms is different, from the mix of vintage and designer furniture through to the customized baths. Room highlights include suites with private gardens, attic style rooms with loft beds in six-meter high ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your New Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Singapore
New Majestic Hotel Singapore
Hotel New Majestic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Majestic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.