We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FUNKY HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Majestic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added New Majestic Hotel to your Saves list
New Majestic Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 - 37 Bukit Pasoh Rd, Singapore 089845, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“FUNKY HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel for one night, an excellent Hotel in a great location, in Chinatown, also less than 5 minutes walk to MRT station
Funky Hotel, with themed rooms, which are excellent,
Very quiet location
Staff very obliging, and helpfull, breakfast, was good, as well as the facilities
Would highly reccommend this property to anyone who does not want to stay in an expensive high rise Hotel

Room Tip: The loft suites , although very very nice, would probably not suit the elderly
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear JIM T,

Hellos from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your kind review and recommendation.

We are glad that you had a fantastic stay at the hotel, and we are also pleased to note that the team was welcoming and helpful during your stay.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    196
    52
    15
    11
See reviews for
28
286
46
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel during Chinese New Year. We both love hotels that are a bit different and New Majestic is one of the places that jump out with the design of their rooms. We did very much enjoy the stay here. Their service is good (up to a certain level, more about that below), staff is friendly and attentive. The rooms are clean and come with everything you require during your stay.

So why a 3 and not a 5? It's really all about small things, the experience. This hotel has the potential to be a fantastic hotel given it's location, design and ammenities.

When we arrived we were informed that due to Chinese New Year the restaurant would be closed and our breakfast was held at a different location. The next morning we were escorted from the hotel to the breakfast place, a restaurant about 5 min. walking from the hotel. We were not too bothered with the walk, the hotel is situated in a beautiful location.
The breakfast however was very basic and continental not american as advertised. There was coffee, tea, eggs, toast, ham, cheese and cereals. Our expectation was to find at least a few warm items.When we got back we mentioned our dissatisfaction. It would be taken to management according to the staff. For me the big disappointment in this is that the staff never came back on the issue we raised. When we raised it again upon checking out the staff were not aware of the complaint and the only thing that came out was a 'we're sorry' and the excuse that the restaurant was late in informing them they would be closed.

A few other small things which to my opinion could be improved to make this an experience worth while:
- Whatever is advertised in the room should be in the fridge (including the free coke, which wasn't available)
- Do not replace the towels when I indicate it doesn't need cleaning (this happened twice even after verbally requesting the towels not to be changed).

All together we had a great experience here, but for the price I expect a 'majestic' experience, something that we didn't feel we received due to small details that were missed out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Maarten76,

Greetings from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are disappointed that you had an otherwise experience staying with us. We sincerely apologise for the situation regarding breakfast. It is a temporary measure taken as Majestic Restaurant is closed during the Chinese New Year period. The staff indeed informed the management of your feedback and it has been raised to the breakfast team. Rest assured that we are working on improving the quality of breakfast served.

As for the refreshments in the mini-bar, we were in the midst of changing the mini-bars' contents and the complimentary coke has since been replenished.

We sincerely hope that your recent experience does not mar your impression of the hotel, and that you will allow us another opportunity to impress you with our commitment to continual improvement.

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

You'll never run short of hotel options when staying in Singapore, from local icons such as Raffles and the Fullerton, to well known venues such as Four Seasons, the Regent and Intercontinental. And truth be told if you step into the lobby in one of these latter Singapore locations and you may as well be in any one of dozens of their namesakes the world over.
However for a unique and personal slice of Singapore, you can't go past the delightful New Majestic Hotel.
The delightful little hotel wins out on three counts.
Value: Price wise the rooms are comparable with Singapore prices; yet the rooms are provided with complimentary non - alcoholic drinks in the mini-bar. Furthermore the included breakfast while not spectacular is more than sufficient.
Location: located on the outskirts of Chinatown, the hotel is 100 metres from the nearest MRT station and just two stops from Clarke Quay.
Kitchiness: this is where the hotel comes into its own. Every room is individually designed and decorated. From memory ours was the 'Blank Canvas' and it was spacious, comfortable and offered everything we needed, though we were a little curious to get a peak inside the 'P***y Parlour'. Furthermore we found the staff friendly, courteous and only too happy to help with our few admittedly minor requests.
One thing that really made our stay was the offer by our hosts of use of a shower in an unattended room the night of our check-out. Our flight had us leaving Singapore at midnight, some 12 hours after we checked out, so the opportunity to get to the airport clean and refreshed ahead of an 8 hour flight was a fantastic gesture.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Andrew M,

Warm hellos from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your wonderful compliments.

We are pleased that you had such a fantastic experience staying with us. We are also glad to hear that the team was hospitable and helpful throughout your stay.

We hope to have you with us again when you are next in Singapore!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

As much as we liked the look of this place, the service came somehow short. The front desk personnel lack professionalism and the management seem to be rather incompetent. It's a shame because the potential is there for this to be an excellent hotel. We nevertheless enjoyed the room and breakfast. So if you go, go for the beauty and location, but don't expect much from the staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear enzoenzo,

Greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your feedback.

We are disappointed that you had a less than satisfactory stay with us. We understand that there was a miscommunication within our team with regards to your room charges, but that the issue was resolved promptly.

We do regret any inconvenience and confusion caused, and we certainly hope that the experience does not mar your impression of the hotel. We hope that you will allow us another opportunity to impress you with our commitment to improve.

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Had an opportunity to try out Singapore's preserved heritage hotel, pretty neat place for a weekend stay-cation :) Had a coupon such that we only paid S$80+ for the room, a bottle of complimentary wine and breakfast for two - not a bad a deal.

At first, we housed in their Aqua room - chic room and pretty spacious for a city hotel. We had to request for a change of room in the evening as the heater wasn't working, but guest services was prompt and manage to get a change of room without a hitch, which was excellent.

Our new room - Wayang was inspirational. It's a chinese theme with red lanterns as decor, so it's really unique. However, when we were about to turn in, we realized that the two decoration lanterns hanging by the ceiling cannot be switched off for the night, which was pretty annoying for my hubby as he is sensitive to light. We called the reception and was advised that the room is "dim enough", it is dim but we just thought that an offer to bring a sleep mask or something will be a nice gesture. Okay, fine.

Workout - This place has a good sized gym, looked well stock with fresh towels and water. Pool is pretty hobbit-sized though, more play-pool than a lap-pool, and will be quite a crowd for 10 people.

Breakfast - It's not bad, usual spread for ABF but it's not set up for a hearty one. Eggs, sausage and bacon were prepared upon ordering. Decent spread of breads and cheese, some oriental congee and buns, the usual coffees and juices. It was okay but not mind-blowing.

Location: Majestic is in town and near public transport (great location), though it's situated amongst bars and pubs, which can be a little noisy, not to mention about cars at the main street. But I would trade the noise for its location. Ear plugs are provided.

Overall, I would say it was a good stay at Majestic - Kiehl's toiletries, Bose system, Nespresso to top it up :)

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main street will probably get most of the noise, given that the hotel has only 4 fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear cryst_clear,

Hellos from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your generous review.

We appreciate your valuable feedback and rest assure that the issues mentioned will be addressed with the relevant departments. On a brighter note, we are pleased that you had an overall good experience staying with us, and we hope to have another opportunity to impress you with our commitment to improve.

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the "P?!sy Parlour" room and had a blast in this great city. Definitely worth spending a little more and getting one of the themed rooms.

Breakfast was good without great but apart from that the entire hotel was worth the slightly out of the way (2 mins to SMRT) at the south end of China Town. Easy access to public transport and the staff was definitely friendly enough to warrant going back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Schjumes,

Warm greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your kind review.

We are happy to note that you had an excellent time staying with us. We look forward to having you back the next time you are in Singapore.

In the meantime, safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I discovered a very different side to singapore. I have long though the place a little sterile, this place certainly helped changed my opinion. The pool is great - it is OUTDOOR although most of the pictures make it look like an indoor pool. All the public areas are really nice and very different. The rooms are great. Mine had a duplex with a ladder up to the bed. I checked out some of the other rooms and I'm glad I booked mine. The stairs are a little steep which might put off some. The staff were lovely and couldn't be more helpful. I was exhausted after a long flight and couldn't muster up the energy to go out or even pop downstairs down to restaurant They do offer room service, but this was a little slow compared to all the rest of the service but worth the long wait. Breakfast was the only let down - and a pretty significant one considering everything else. The menu is the laminated place mat - very tacky for such a nice hotel. The food was OK but certainly not up to the fantastic food I'd had from them the night before! The cold buffet was pretty average and the hot food really basic. Not sure why but considering that only five minute walk away is some amazing hawker food then I might skip breakfast and save the restaurant for dinner!

Room Tip: Most rooms should be OK. The back ones a little quieter but better views from the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear PommyPaul,

Greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your kind compliments.

We are pleased that you had a wonderful stay at the hotel. New Majestic Hotel is certainly not your average hotel, and we are glad that you appreciated its quirky designs.

We have also noted your feedback about breakfast, and rest assured that the issue has been addressed to the relevant departments.

We hope to welcome you back soon and impress you once again!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Majestic Hotel

Address: 31 - 37 Bukit Pasoh Rd, Singapore 089845, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#47 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#61 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional conservation shop house located in the heart of Chinatown, the New Majestic Hotel features an emphasis on strong design, local culture and the Arts.From the open concept period-inspired lobby with restored vintage Compton fans to the dramatic pool with glass inserts floating above the restaurant, to the selection of period colonial furniture from Singapore in the 1920s- 1960s, New Majestic Hotel is a stunning and eclectic mix of heritage chic.Each of the New Majestic's 30 rooms is different, from the mix of vintage and designer furniture through to the customized baths. Room highlights include suites with private gardens, attic style rooms with loft beds in six-meter high ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your New Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Singapore
New Majestic Hotel Singapore
Hotel New Majestic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Majestic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.