We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy, different and expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Majestic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added New Majestic Hotel to your Saves list
New Majestic Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 - 37 Bukit Pasoh Rd, Singapore 089845, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Trendy, different and expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Booked one night in New Majestic after recommendation of the Monocle magazine. Hotel is definetly different experience from the mainstream Singapore hotels. The location in historic Chinatown is good and quiet enough (but good restaurants/bars in close-range). Old peranakan houses of this part of town are more authentic than usual highrises and malls. Rooms were small but cleverly designed and comfortable. Each room had different theme - mine had fantasy creatures hanging from the roof and walls. Pool area looked very trendy but didnt see much people hanging out there. All in all, different experience in Singapore, but rather expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear JoonasH,

Hellos from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your kind compliments.

New Majestic Hotel does indeed pose quite a juxtaposition between modern-day Singapore and an era past. We are glad that you appreciate the rooms' individuality and its comforts.

When you are next in Singapore, you may like to try our sister property, Wanderlust, which is on the edge of Little India. The hotel's location offers a whole new perspective on Singapore, and each level in the hotel is design by a different local design agency, so the rooms are all uniquely designed.

We hope to be of service to you the next time you are in Singapore!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    196
    52
    15
    11
See reviews for
28
286
46
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Convenient location, a few minutes walk from Outram Mrt, and walking distance to Chinatown for lunch and dinner.

A trendy boutique hotel with designer themed rooms. I managed to get the P.parlour room. With kiels bath products, a shower bath tub, which comes with rain shower as well, with see through glass that gives you a view of your room. All drinks are complimentary except for alcohol and chocolate. They have a nespresso machine, a box of tea selection with chinese tea cups, ipod dock with good sound system. Love the furniture in the room and the bed is springy and comfy. The mirrors are placed strategically in the room for a special occasion. Highly recommended for couples!

Breakfast was good enough for us, you can see the pool from the restaurant, there are 3 glass panels at the bottom of the pool, allowing a view of the restaurant while in the pool. The pool was rather small, but overall experience was really good. Will definitely come back to try other rooms too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear xrainedropsx,

Greetings from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your positive feedback.

We are glad that you had an enjoyable time at the hotel, and that you appreciated the treats provided in the room. We hope to have you with us again, and do give our other rooms a try the next time!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed for one night on the way home from an amazing three week honeymoon in Asia and Australia.

We knew were probably in for a treat having stayed in their Sister hotel in Shanghai (The Waterhouse at South Bund) but both of us we not expecting to check into the P-Parlour. Each room is designed differently, and we hit the jackpot. We loved our in-room bar, the neon wall-mounted Mermaid light, the four poster bed and the mirrored ceiling! A perfect room to end a Honeymoon!

Would have loved to have stayed here more then one night.

Room Tip: Book a Lifestyle room and hopefully you'll get the P-Parlour
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear ScottyMcKenna,

Warm greetings from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your generous feedback.

We are happy that you had a wonderful stay, and that you were pleased with the room accorded to you. As all our rooms are designed by different local artists, you may like to try out a different room the next time you are staying with us.

We look forward to having you again soon!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

if you'd rather be a number in a high rise then don't stay here l have been staying at the majestic for three years now and l cannot fault them in terms of presentation and service it feels personal and sincere staff are are helpful but not stuffy and l am always greeted by my name not my room number. great hotel great staff great area credit where credits due l don't pay to get my a$# kissed!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Cath730,

Warm hellos from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your kind compliments.

We are so happy to hear that the service has been top-notch for all the times that you have been staying with us. We look forward to having you with us again soon, and until then, safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

New Majestic is a trendy small boutique hotel but has all the amenities you need for any type of trip. Location is convenient being close to the Chinatown but on the quiet part. Rooms are small but very clean and well equipped with I-pod dock, Bose sound system, Nespresso machine, iron, hair dryer, Kiehls bath product, and lovely stationeries. Design of the room is interesting and clever. Gym is also very small but cleverly-designed and well equipped with all the necessary gears for your workout. Outdoor pool is again very small and looks like more for aesthetic purpose. Free wifi is available everywhere in the hotel. Breakfast was okay, I haven’t tried other meals at Majestic Restaurant but it was featured in many restaurant rating books and magazines. The staff is very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Nicole C,

Warm greetings from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your wonderful compliments.

We are glad that you had a fantastic time staying with us, and we look forward to having you again.

In the meantime, safe travels!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londra
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The hotel is well designed. The reception area is Bright and cool with loads of upcycled and vintage furniture and interesting lights (cinema projectors lights etc). The rooms are all individually designed, ours was pleasant, although not too big, it was comfortable enough for a short stat. Toiletries are very good (Khiel's), there's an iPod dock, fast wifi, nespresso machine and complimentary soft drinks. The outdoor pool is small but clean and pleasant. For me the negatives with this hotel are the breakfast (very plain), the air con (centrally controlled, so either freezing or boiling hot) and somehow the noise insulation. The gentleman next door to us decided to have a party at 2am, and took a while (and a call to reception) to get him to shut up. The location is great, at the edge of chinatown on the quieter side.Price wise, it seems good value for money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Federilli,

Hellos from New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for taking time to write this review.

We are happy that you enjoyed the treats we provided in the room, and that you are a fan of the designer furniture.

On the other hand, we are disappointed that you encountered a few issues during your stay. Please be assured that your feedback has been related to the relevant departments and addressed accordingly.

We hope to welcome you again, and impress you with our commitment for improvement.

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights last week-travelling with my partner. We had an excellent time, in this fantastic hotel. There's a lot of character and it's located in a great area - and just 2 mins walk from the MRT (metro/tube) Outram station.

The hotel is quality through and through from the facilities to the bath room products (Kiehls!!) and even bed sheets. I would not hesitiate to stay here again and would recommend this hotel for people looking for a little more than your standard hotel room.

If one thing could be improved on it would be choice of cooked food and the service at breakfast (the waiter was very slow and didn't really seem to care about the customers).

Already looking forward to my next trip to Singapore!!

Room Tip: All rooms are individually designed-and are excellent. Be warned that the bathroom/showers can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Varcher7,

Greetings from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your generous compliments.

We are very pleased that you had such a wonderful experience staying with us, and that you enjoyed the amenities provided in the rooms.

We have also taken note of your feedback about breakfast and the relevant departments will be duly informed of this.

We hope to impress you again the next time you are in Singapore, and look forward to having you back with us!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Majestic Hotel

Address: 31 - 37 Bukit Pasoh Rd, Singapore 089845, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#45 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#61 Family Hotel in Singapore
#85 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional conservation shop house located in the heart of Chinatown, the New Majestic Hotel features an emphasis on strong design, local culture and the Arts.From the open concept period-inspired lobby with restored vintage Compton fans to the dramatic pool with glass inserts floating above the restaurant, to the selection of period colonial furniture from Singapore in the 1920s- 1960s, New Majestic Hotel is a stunning and eclectic mix of heritage chic.Each of the New Majestic's 30 rooms is different, from the mix of vintage and designer furniture through to the customized baths. Room highlights include suites with private gardens, attic style rooms with loft beds in six-meter high ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your New Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Singapore
New Majestic Hotel Singapore
Hotel New Majestic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Majestic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.