We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Themed Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Majestic Hotel

Save Saved
You added New Majestic Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
New Majestic Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 - 37 Bukit Pasoh Rd, Singapore 089845, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice Themed Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I've visited this hotel on August and the hotel is really well decorated. After much research i decided to book a lifestyle room at new majestic. The room that i gotten is name as fly away, the room is nice but to my dismay it is not what i want. During the course of my research i never expect lifestyle room got a loft room, cause at their official website i assume that what i see will be what i get.
Even before i went into the loft room, i already been make known by the reviewers that their loft room staircase is steep, hence i avoided booking a loft room. But once i saw my room, i was disappointed because i am not given a room that is what i saw in their official website.
I went to the reception to request for a change of room, but unfortunately all had been taken up by their long staying customer. I am glad they offer me the upgrade of my room, but i didn't take it as it is another loft room.
Breakfast is ordinary, and hope they can improve by uploading just another photos of their "fly away" room as it misleads me.

Room Tip: As all the rooms are themed differently, confirm the room availability before you get disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear ShaynNga,

Warm hellos from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your feedback.

We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We have several loft concept rooms in various room categories in the hotel. We would suggest that you put in a request for a non-loft concept room when making your next reservation with us, so as to avoid future disappointments.

We will definitely look into having more photos of the different rooms available on our website.

We hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you back and impress you with our commitment to improve!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    170
    47
    16
    10
See reviews for
23
252
41
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Spent 4 nights here in September as part of our trip to the Singapore Grand Prix.

Hotel is of an excellent standard in the China Town district. Very easy to get to as there is an MRT station 200 yards from the hotel. If you want to walk to the main areas within the city centre it would take you 20 to 25 mins minimum.

Staff are friendly and helpful. First impressions of the hotel were great. Unfinished ceiling gives the hotel a very quirky feel as do the retro 60s and 70s furniture in the lobby area.

All the rooms are different and ours was a premier garden room which was great. It had a private verander with a bath tub outside. The actual room is of an excellent modern standard although the shower area and toilet area within the room means you need to have a very close relationship with the person you are sharing with. The bed is very comfy and we liked the little extras they give you such as an plug adapter and free juice, tea, coffee and coke which was much appreciated.

The breakfasts were good (apart from cold baked beans) lots of choice and well worth getting up for if you have had a late night the night before.

There is a pool area on the second floor which you can get to by lift or by walking up the stairs in the lobby. Apparently the pool looks down through onto the restaurant. I forgot to look up at this when we were in the restuarant. There is also a well equipped gym if required.

I would without doubt stay here in the future. The hotel really was different and was maintained to an excellent standard. Well done on having a great hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear MB123England,

Warm greetings from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your wonderful compliments.

Housed in a conservation shophouse, New Majestic Hotel poses a juxtaposition between an era past and modern contemporary. We are glad that you had such a great time staying with us and appreciated the heritage and uniqueness of the hotel.

We look forward to having you back with us!

Best regards,
Joanna Ortega
Assistant Sales Manager
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights on our way to London, and couldn't be happier with our choice of this hotel - from the friendly, helpful reception staff to the edgy, stylish but very comfortable rooms. The location is very convenient too - on the edge of colourful Chinatown and right near a tube station. And although we didn't end up having time to use the pool, it looked inviting - on our to-do list for next time!

Room Tip: The Lifestyle rooms have a separate living area, but involve a ladder (with good hand-rails) climb u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear magicpossum,

Warm hellos from the team at New Majestic!
Thank you for your generous compliments!

I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel as well as its central location.
No 2 rooms in the hotel are the same. Do request for a different theme room for your next stay so that you may experience more of the New Majestic Hotel!

i am also glad that you found the staff friendly and helpful.
We look forward to your return so we may be of service to you once again.

Best regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Unlisted Collection: Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had a Premier Garden room and loved it!
The room was small but perfectly formed, clean and the bed was super. The outside bath was lovely.
Staff at front desk were great and informative.
We only stayed one night but loved it and the fact it is close to Chinatown is a bonus.
If you stay in Singapore stay here, its different and more interesting than the faceless hotels on Orchard st.
We will be back...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear moleandbird,

Warm hellos from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your generous compliments.

I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel as well as its location.
I am also glad that you took pleasure In the amenities provided and that you found the staff to be great and informative.

Being in a conservations shophouse, space is indeed very much a constraint. However, we had to the best of our abilities, fit it with the conveniences and needs of a modern traveler. No 2 rooms in the hotel are the same; do request for a different themed room the next time you visit so that you may experience more of New Majestic.

We do have 2 other sister properties, Wanderlust and Hotel 1929 that might interest you for your future travel plans to Singapore.

We look forward to your return so that we may be of service to you once again.

Best Regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I have stayed here twice, both fun, but I would avoid the room with the pink neon artwork next time: slightly hard to live with. Delicious food in the restaurant and ground floor lobby with whacky selection of furniture and overhead fans is great for drinks.

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Stafford C,

Warm hellos from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your compliments.

It is great to hear that you have stayed with us on 2 occasions and enjoyed both of them.
Thank you also for your feedback about the pink neon artwork room (Pu**y Parlour). We will note down on your preferences for your future stays. No 2 rooms in the hotel are the same; do request for a different themed room the next time you visit so that you may experience more of New Majestic.

We do have 2 other sister properties, Wanderlust and Hotel 1929 that might interest you for your future travel plans to Singapore.

We look forward to your return so that we may be of service to you once again.

Best Regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked this hotel as a stopover break for two nights. We were very impressed! The helpful reception staff showed us to our funky room with awesome paintings of oriental ladies playing tennis. The room wasn't very spacious but the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was lovely and clean. Our room had an awesome outside bath, that although was slightly noisy due to air conditioning machines, was a fun way to get ready for an evening out. The rooms came with complimentary cold soft drinks, very welcome in the heat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear CJS1986,

Warm hellos from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your compliments.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel, as well as the amenities provided.
Being in a conservations shophouse, space is indeed very much a constraint. However, we had to the best of our abilities, fit it with the conveniences and needs of a modern traveler. No 2 rooms in the hotel are the same; do request for a different themed room the next time you visit so that you may experience more of New Majestic.

We do have 2 other sister properties, Wanderlust and Hotel 1929 that might interest you for your future travel plans to Singapore.

We look forward to your return so that we may be of service to you once again.

Best Regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights over Christmas in 2011. It is beautiful and trendy, and in a great location, but overall it's quite sparse. Rooms are generously proportioned and offer Keihls toiletries (I'm always a sucker for good toiletries and these were amazing). The hotel swimming pool is enclosed on the rooftop with 'peep holes' that offer a view of the dining are downstairs - quite surreal! Overall it's a great hotel and one I'd return to, but there are others in Singapore that are probably just as nice for less. The only main drawback was the lack of a main bar and easy access to chairs on the balcony: then again, there are bars everywhere around the hotel and I guess most people would want to stay inside with the airconditioning!

Try it at least once, for the decor.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a room at the back of the hotel. And definitely don't miss out on breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UnlistedCollection, Guest Relations Manager at New Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear OzKate,

Warm hellos from the team at New Majestic Hotel!
Thank you for your compliments.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel as well as the amenities provided.
Being in a conservations shophouse, space is indeed very much a constraint. However, we had to the best of our abilities, fit it with the conveniences and needs of a modern traveler. No 2 rooms in the hotel are the same; do request for a different themed room the next time you visit so that you may experience more of New Majestic.

We do have 2 other sister properties, Wanderlust and Hotel 1929 that might interest you for your future travel plans to Singapore.

We look forward to your return so that we may be of service to you once again.

Best Regards,
Yan Yi, Lai
Guest Experience Ambassador
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Majestic Hotel

Address: 31 - 37 Bukit Pasoh Rd, Singapore 089845, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#31 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#50 Family Hotel in Singapore
#67 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Majestic Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional conservation shop house located in the heart of Chinatown, the New Majestic Hotel features an emphasis on strong design, local culture and the Arts.From the open concept period-inspired lobby with restored vintage Compton fans to the dramatic pool with glass inserts floating above the restaurant, to the selection of period colonial furniture from Singapore in the 1920s- 1960s, New Majestic Hotel is a stunning and eclectic mix of heritage chic.Each of the New Majestic's 30 rooms is different, from the mix of vintage and designer furniture through to the customized baths. Room highlights include suites with private gardens, attic style rooms with loft beds in six-meter high ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your New Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Singapore
New Majestic Hotel Singapore
Hotel New Majestic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Majestic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.