We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location and location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park View Hotel

Save Saved
You added Park View Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Park View Hotel
81 Beach Road, Singapore 189692, Singapore (Downtown Core)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #232 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Location, location and location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I stayed three nights at the Park View Hotel during a three-week trip to South East Asia. We decided to choose at relatively cheap hotel in Singapore. Compared to most other hotels in Singapore, the Park View was reasonably priced.

The best thing to say about the hotel is that is has a great location. It is within walking distance to most attractions, like the Marina Bay, Financial District, Boat Quay, Clarke Quay, Orchard Road, Chinatown and Little India. We did not need to use taxis or the metro during our visit (except from the airport and to the railway station).

We had a "superior room", and the superior feature is that is has a window. The room was tiny, and it did not have a view to any park. The mattress was terribly hard.

The breakfast was ok - but nothing more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    28
    36
    15
    13
See reviews for
16
18
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The only good thing about this hotel is its location for the price.

It is very old and outdated. Perhaps too old to function as a hotel. This is one of the worst hotels that I have had. The standard room is small. Since it doesn't have windows, it has a unpleasant smell. The hotel offers limited hot water: You need to keep a button on the wall on in order to have hot water! However, this button is not labelled on the wall. So if you turned it off by accident, you don't get hot water! Once you turn it on, you need to wait for 15 minutes for the water to become hot. It is really non-sense! This is the most backward hotel facility that I have had. The breakfast is ok, not great, but can fill up your belly. The air conditioner has problems. I was asked to move to a different room because the air-conditioner needed to be fixed. The bed is hard and bed sheets are not clean. The room cannot be made very clean because it is too old. Overall, it is not worth your money and time. I won't stay there again.

Room Tip: If you must choose this hotel, book a room with windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Staff is very rude. Rooms are terrible. Breakfast is Awefull. Simply the worst experience after travelling and staying in hotel from the past 7 years. A family owned hotel which does not care about business, forget the customers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for more than 5 times (5 years in a row since 2007). The first 3 years, it was a great stay because the quality of rooms, services and staffs were good. But after that, all that I mentioned were drop. The room is to old fashion, not so hygiene, very cold and ignorance staffs, also quite average service. One thing I love from this hotel is the location. You can walk to Suntec, Bugis Junction and MRT Station in 5-10 minutes. If you a food lover, there are a lot of choices of restaurant near the hotel. Even they open until midnight. So you don't have to worry about lack of food. This December I will stay there again. Let's see how things will be done.....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

The most important thing - it is a very convenient location to the Subway (MRT) and the city center. The rooms are small, as mentioned earlier, repair is needed, but, at the same time, rooms are clean. Breakfast - nothing special. Next to the hotel a lot of cafes, fast food and so on.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is located in Bugis just a short stroll from Bugis mall/night market. Its only 10 minute walk to Raffles hotel and mall. Overall the hotel is clean and tidy. However the bathroom could do with renovating as it is a bit mouldy, probably because the extractor doesn't work .The water pressure in the shower is excellent.
Comfortable clean beds , and helpfull staff on reception.The rooms are a bit small but we only had one suitcase so it was ok. More baggage and it might get a bit cramped.
There are good hotpot restuarants around the area aswell.
I would stay here again if I came to Singapore.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

The value for money was most amazing thing about this hotel along with the helpfulness of the staff ... Location was perfect for people travelling by metro ... The hotel staff was kind enough to provide any thing that was required ... Nothing extra was charged . Breakfast was average. We were given early check in Which was amazing .
Do take the room with the window .
The rooms were far better and bigger than Singapore standards at this price point .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park View Hotel

Address: 81 Beach Road, Singapore 189692, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Downtown Core
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Park View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park View Singapore
Park View Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.