We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Hotel

Save Saved
You added Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Victoria Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87 Victoria Street | South, Singapore 188016, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 293 Hotels in Singapore
Pace del Mela, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

After our previous horrible experience in another Singapore hotel, we were rather scared by the chance of another rip-off. We were happy, though, when we found out that Victoria Hotel is both in a perfect position (in the very middle of the city) and cheap. We were given a room which was in the highest floor and that was very nice, since the noise of the street was softened. The bathroom was nice, clean and larger than expected.

Room Tip: Asking for a higher-floor room will add value to your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is perfect for both business and leisure traveller, everything are just within walking distance.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    365
    144
    44
    17
See reviews for
111
134
121
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

All you need is in the tiny double room:
big and comfortable bed
functional bathroom
air con

Very silent and not smelly. Great choice for some nights as it's not really cosy and staff is professional but not more.

Of course it's not the cheapest accommodation in Singapore but it does the job.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to have you with us again soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

you wouldn't think much of this place when you first see it, but over all it was pretty good. hotel was in a decent location: right outside was a bus stop. hailing a taxi was pretty easy. mrt, hawker and market were walking distance. the room was excellent, spacious and with a king size bed

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your generous compliments! We are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

One of the cutest hotel i've been in the world. small room, small beds.. small everything. but the cleanliness is superb. our room was located beside the ac exaust so the bathroom tends to be warm and noisy but closing the door will fix the noise. all the things you need in a hotel room is available from water heater to free water. no elevator thou so we have to carry our big bags. :) beast steak downstairs. 7-eleven beside the hotel and 5 mins walk to the mtr. very affordable and comfy hotel. :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, Victoria Hotel is centrally located within the historic Bras Basah neighborhood and easily accessible with the MRT stations, the historic Bugis Street and shopping malls just a stone throw away.

Besides Victoria Hotel, we do have other hotels in chain like Santa Grand Hotel Bugis or Santa Grand Hotel Lai Chun Yuen at Chinatown to meet the diverse need of guests.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAvisor. We look forward to wlcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket,
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The exterior of the hotel is not so impressive, small, dated BUT whenyou are in the room (deluxe), it is like you have stayed at 3.5 star hotel. the size is reasonable , clean, well lit, enough amenities with tea/cofeee making machine and free two bottled of drking water with a cool refrigerator ( I said cool because I expereinced from other hotels even a 4-5 star, some fridge were not cool at all, it felt like you left your drinks in a cupboard !). Bedding/pillows is great & comfy, smell good make you sleep like a log. Blanket like a normal and not a fancy Duvet one.
LCD flat screen TV with cable is enough for me to relax after my business with movies, games show & news.( In English off course -In Malaysia, mostly are local language TV programmes ). My room is facing street with a window (open half of it. May be preventing occupant to jump ? )
and Good Lord...I thought at first that I would be disturbed by the street noice but it seem so quiet even it is not 100% but you hardly hear a thing..The bathroom is small but you can move about ( I am a 6 footer 100 Kg. ) comfortably. Bathroom has no bathtub (I do not need it) has only a shower room with glass door. Hot/Cold water work well). The only downside is the elevator, it's located outside the hotel -Strange is'nt it but there are security stand be all the time to prevent outsider to get into the hotel. It 's value for money. Oh...I forgot, this hotel is near Bras Basah MRT (walikng distance ony 2 minutes) and 10 minutes walk to the famous Bugit Junction & Raffle Place. Moreover, there is a Bus Stop in front of the Hotel and 7-11 beside the hotel. If you are looking for a reasonble price hotel with no frill, convennient & safe but quiet nabourhood. This is the one for you..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will definitely share your positive feedback with the team. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAvisor. We look forward to wlcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

A great little hotel. 3 star but has everything a budget minded traveler requires - aircon, clean sheets, hot shower, TV, very friendly and polite staff.

Fantastic location, walking distance to the center.

highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will definitely share your positive feedback with the team. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. It located in very good location. There is a bus stop in front of this hotel, adjacent to 7-11 store. Very close to bras basah mrt.
It's about 5 min walking to bugis + shopping center, bugis junction and bugis street.
We stayed at deluxe room, that facing the victoria street. The room also provide complimentary drink. The room are always clean.
The woman that works at receptionist and the old lady that works as house keeping were very friendly and helpfull.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments! We are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will definitely share your positive feedback with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: 87 Victoria Street | South, Singapore 188016, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in Singapore
#95 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
#95 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Hotel is centrally located within the historic Bras Basah neighborhood, with colourful and multi-racial cultures, and interesting shopping explorations. The hotel provides modern facilities and opens a window to multi-cultural Singapore. Victoria Hotel is convenient for getting to the heart of the city, with notable landmarks in the vicinity. Nearby are the historic Bugis Street, modern Bugis Junction, National Library Building and Bras Brasah Complex ideal for the leisure traveler seeking a cultural experience that is right in the centre of the action. Food stalls and eateries abound to entice the visitors as soon as they step out the front door of the hotel. Furthermore, Victoria Hotel is within walking distance of Raffles place, SMU and Suntec Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre at Suntec City, Mass Rapid Transit stations (MRT- Bugis and City Hall stations), Raffles City and Marina Square Shopping Centre and the Singapore Art Museum. Victoria offers a mid-range accommodation compared to the costly city-centre hotels to business travelers, SMU visitors and lecturers, and show or convention exhibitors and visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Odigeo, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.