We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Victoria Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   87 Victoria Street | South, Singapore 188016, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Phuket,
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“great place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The exterior of the hotel is not so impressive, small, dated BUT whenyou are in the room (deluxe), it is like you have stayed at 3.5 star hotel. the size is reasonable , clean, well lit, enough amenities with tea/cofeee making machine and free two bottled of drking water with a cool refrigerator ( I said cool because I expereinced from other hotels even a 4-5 star, some fridge were not cool at all, it felt like you left your drinks in a cupboard !). Bedding/pillows is great & comfy, smell good make you sleep like a log. Blanket like a normal and not a fancy Duvet one.
LCD flat screen TV with cable is enough for me to relax after my business with movies, games show & news.( In English off course -In Malaysia, mostly are local language TV programmes ). My room is facing street with a window (open half of it. May be preventing occupant to jump ? )
and Good Lord...I thought at first that I would be disturbed by the street noice but it seem so quiet even it is not 100% but you hardly hear a thing..The bathroom is small but you can move about ( I am a 6 footer 100 Kg. ) comfortably. Bathroom has no bathtub (I do not need it) has only a shower room with glass door. Hot/Cold water work well). The only downside is the elevator, it's located outside the hotel -Strange is'nt it but there are security stand be all the time to prevent outsider to get into the hotel. It 's value for money. Oh...I forgot, this hotel is near Bras Basah MRT (walikng distance ony 2 minutes) and 10 minutes walk to the famous Bugit Junction & Raffle Place. Moreover, there is a Bus Stop in front of the Hotel and 7-11 beside the hotel. If you are looking for a reasonble price hotel with no frill, convennient & safe but quiet nabourhood. This is the one for you..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will definitely share your positive feedback with the team. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAvisor. We look forward to wlcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    379
    150
    48
    18
See reviews for
117
144
131
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

A great little hotel. 3 star but has everything a budget minded traveler requires - aircon, clean sheets, hot shower, TV, very friendly and polite staff.

Fantastic location, walking distance to the center.

highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great review! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will definitely share your positive feedback with the team. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. It located in very good location. There is a bus stop in front of this hotel, adjacent to 7-11 store. Very close to bras basah mrt.
It's about 5 min walking to bugis + shopping center, bugis junction and bugis street.
We stayed at deluxe room, that facing the victoria street. The room also provide complimentary drink. The room are always clean.
The woman that works at receptionist and the old lady that works as house keeping were very friendly and helpfull.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your compliments! We are extremely pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will definitely share your positive feedback with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Booked with booking.com, so first night was paid in advance. I expected to settle the rest of the bill when leaving, but our room key was disabled next morning because I hadn’t paid for the next night. I have grave reservations about security in this hotel, as the lift is outside the reception area and open to a back street with no security key so anyone could get up to the room floors.
All that aside, the room was spacious and comfortable and the shower unit very good, with WiFi access good. There were a fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and a desk with chair in the room. The hotel is very convenient to several MRT stations, also Raffles shopping centre. Lack of breakfast facilities was a disappointment, but a Food Centre across the road had one or two stalls open for breakfast (very tasty) although most did not open until later in the morning.
Reception staff were polite and efficient, until our departure when I was told that they could not arrange a taxi to Changi. We tried unsuccessfully on the street, and eventually one of the staff came out and directed us to a close-by hotel with a taxi bay where we were able to flag one down.
Knowing what we do now, we would still return to the Victoria as it is very good value in Singapore.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your patronage at Victoria Hotel. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We willdefinitely share your positive feedback with the team.

Unfortunately, Victoria Hotel don't serve breakfast but there are plenty of restaurants and hawker centre surrounded and we would encourage guest to have a taste of the local Singapore hawker fare. As regards of our key card system, the key card is issued based on the numbers of room night payment made. However, we are sorry for any incovenience caused and will take into a consideration of changing system.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires argentina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The room and the staff were fine. Excellent location. I was surprised that no soap or hand towel wwere provided. My single room bathroom had 2 bottles of shampoo and a comb. Perhaps the thinking is that haair care is more important than body hygiene. The noise that the trash collecting trucks made, daily at 04:30 was brutal. This noise went on for about a half hour.

Room Tip: A front room might be more quiet, than a rear room (#612) where one is awaken by garbage trucks at 0...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you liked the covenience location and noted some positive comment.

We appreciate your feedback about the hand towel, this practice was based on feedback from other guests to reduce the number of unused towels being washed each time a guest checks out, for environment reasons. As regards of the bottles shampoo, we provided a 2 in 1 shampoo and body wash.

Meanwhile, the garbage truck noise in the morning can be troubling for some travellers like you which we are sorry to hear about. Our practice is to offer our guest a change of room that is not facing the streets.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I chose Victoria Hotel for a 3 night stay on Singapore at the start of a longer Asia trip. I wanted to treat myself on the first stop and get a hotel room instead of a hostel dorm after my long flight. He hotel had good ratings for a competitive price given Singapore's high price levels. I was very happy with the location, close to the MRT, easily accessible from the airport by train. Around the corner from the Raffles Hotel and walking distance to many sights. I was disappointed by the rest. The hotel does not look very inviting, you have to go through the back door through a back alley to get to the elevator hat takes you to your room. The hotel staff is indifferent, not even saying hello when you pass by the reception. My room was tired, in need of refurbishment, worn towels and linen with holes and stains, damp and smelly due to mould on the ceiling and dirty with dust and hairs in the corners. When I booked I could only get a deluxe room, but when I asked for a new room because of the mould, I saw standard rooms which only differed from the deluxe because they had a single rather than a double bed, but were actually a lot more spacious because of it. Much better value for a single traveller! I got a new room after checking a couple which all had the same mould issue... the rates are too high for what he hotel offers, Wifi was free, but not very stable, no breakfast included. My suggestion: either choose a hostel and you know not to expect much or pay a bit more and get a decent hotel. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell, the ones on the 3rd floor were mouldy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectation during your stay. We take our guests' feedback seriously and your feedback has attracted our management's attention.

We appreciate your feedback about the mould issue. In this historical building, we recognize that the hotel room is time for a refurbishment although we have re-paint recently. Thank you for highlighting the matter to us. As regards our towels and linens, it was a housekeeping slip-up and we have since replaced with new linens.

Once again, we appreciate your feedback and sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We hope to have a chance to host you again soon.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, NT
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

First time stopping here and was surprised. It was over my expectations. Used Booking.com for reservation and took first night payment, just had to pay for second night to reception. Check in quick and staff very polite with their service. Had room 602 on upper level with balcony which was handy for smoker in group. Was able to get duplicate door card which helped. Two adults and teenager stayed in family room, was adequate for us as roomy and had great Wiifii in room all the time, room clean. Only problem was getting out of shower bath set up, could be unsafe especially if older or mobility problems. Lift is located out back part of hotel past reception so hidden away if unknown.
Location of hotel great as close to Bugis area of markets and food areas. Bra Basah MRT very close by for city circle line. Hotel staff organised taxi to airport and was great, reliable and pleasant driver, not normal street taxi service used. collection out back of hotel in laneway which was convenient and safe. There is a 7/11 convenience store down in front of hotel in Victoria St, open 24 hours and well stocked. So easy to walk to all locations from hotel. Used same hotel on return from Phuket for one night as we had 2am flight next day but used Asiarooms.com for booking as heaps cheaper, especially hotel rate from reception very expensive. Reception upgraded us and gave same room again so it was excellent.
I would recommend this hotel for short stays in Singapore and for good price check websites.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santagrandhotels, Hotel Management Team at Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderfull review and recommending us! We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback about the bathroom, we have noted the point that you've highlighted and through such feedback like yours that we can continue to improve!

Please do check out our Santa Grand website for promotion rate and it also offers internet booking directly through our website. Once again, thank you for your feedback and sharing with us on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime!

Regards,
Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: 87 Victoria Street | South, Singapore 188016, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victoria Hotel is centrally located within the historic Bras Basah neighborhood, with colourful and multi-racial cultures, and interesting shopping explorations. The hotel provides modern facilities and opens a window to multi-cultural Singapore. Victoria Hotel is convenient for getting to the heart of the city, with notable landmarks in the vicinity. Nearby are the historic Bugis Street, modern Bugis Junction, National Library Building and Bras Brasah Complex ideal for the leisure traveler seeking a cultural experience that is right in the centre of the action. Food stalls and eateries abound to entice the visitors as soon as they step out the front door of the hotel. Furthermore, Victoria Hotel is within walking distance of Raffles place, SMU and Suntec Singapore International Convention and Exhibition Centre at Suntec City, Mass Rapid Transit stations (MRT- Bugis and City Hall stations), Raffles City and Marina Square Shopping Centre and the Singapore Art Museum. Victoria offers a mid-range accommodation compared to the costly city-centre hotels to business travelers, SMU visitors and lecturers, and show or convention exhibitors and visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.