We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very unfriendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Ville Hotel

Save Saved
You added Harbour Ville Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Harbour Ville Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   512 Kampong Bahru Road, Singapore 99448, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #226 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“very unfriendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms were very small but clean, there was no glass in bathroom (really strange). The worst thing of this hotel is staff, we never heard any greeting from them during 4 days here. Will consider to come back here if we have no better choice as accommodation in Singapore is very expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    37
    61
    29
    11
See reviews for
29
51
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Clean and tiny room. I believe they don't have a standard checklist coz thing like blanket, shower gel and shampoo were upon request. Food is far to grip, either travel by bus to Chinatown or vivo city, Taxi was consider to b cheap for four but difficult to stop as there were either hired or occupy and bus was the only alternative to choose next than walking under a hot sun.

This place will never b good for family with kids for me except heading to sentosa island.

Room Tip: For those who travel with kids, look for place where taxi or bus station nearby, food stall was arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel might be cheap but you have to sacrifice a lot. The worst part is there is no blanket! Just a thin piece of cloth as a sad excuse for a blanket. The staff mentioned that there is no breakfast provided on Sundays even though the facilities say otherwise. Did I mention that there is nothing within walking distance from this hotel? It's right in the middle of nowhere. I recommend going for a slightly more expensive hotel which offers much more than go for this really low-budget but at the same time really disappointing hotel.

Room Tip: The room is very small and there is no view. The only view you get is of the room across you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our son is going to school in Singapore and this was the closest hotel to his apartment. It is also close to several bus routes. It was a convenient base for us to use and you could easily get to Sentosa, Orchard Road, Marina Sands or other locations. The hot breakfast was very basic, but it was convenient. There was free wi-fi, but you had to ask for access codes. We had to ask about the hot water, there is a switch on the wall outside the bathroom that must be turned on. Once we found that out, both the hot water and airconditioning were fine.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the main street. There is heavy traffic all night long and the noise gets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckalnd
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Nothing special. Very plain hotel. Stayed one night. Small room but not complaining because it was an unexpensive hotel.

Area is not very convenient but it doesn't matter because taxis are cheap in Singapore. Staff was not that friendly but I didn't have anything much to do with them as I was just in transit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We wanted a basic comfortable and clean hotel close to Sentosa and this filled the bill. It met our expectations and we used it as a base for several days exploring Sentosa and the Bird Park. Service was good and with Singapore taxis so cheap, it was never a problem that it is a bit away from the centre of town. The previous year our hotel was closer to transport and town but it actually took longer by bus. Our room had a reasonable size bathroom and the room though small had enough room for two good size people to get around without falling over each other. Far bigger than some we have stayed in. At less than half the price of other hotels on Sentosa, we would recommend it and would stay again, especially if inbound to go on a cruise ex Singapore.

Room Tip: Rooms at back have not much of a view but may be quieter than the ones on front which may have freew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durban
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The rooms are very small but clean. There is just enough space for two people. The bathroom is tiny with the shower right next to the toilet. So when you shower, the toilet gets wet. There is an aircon, tv and coffee facility in the room. There is no porter service. I did not see a dining hall and breakfast was served in a patio area at the back of the hotel. Breakfast was very very basic, almost out of a can. Breakfast is not served onSundays. The hotel is situated away from everything. It is on the bus route and you can get to shops within 20 minutes. The are no other facilities at the hotel, which means you are stuck in your room. The hotel reception does sell drinks, sandwiches and snacks. All in all I would mot stay here again, as it is too far from everything, the hotel has no facilities and the rooms are very claustrophobic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Ville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Ville Hotel

Address: 512 Kampong Bahru Road, Singapore 99448, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#226 On the Beach Hotel in Singapore
#226 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harbour Ville Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Ville Hotel in Singapore welcomes business and leisure travelers with our budget-friendly accommodation rates. The hotel, located along Kampong Bahru Road, makes an ideal retreat after a long day of exploring the city. We are situated close to popular landmarks and attractions like the world famous Sentosa, Mount Faber, the newly completed Southern Ridges and Chinatown. For guests on transit to Malaysia or going on cruises, the harbour and bus terminal is a mere 3 minutes drive away.The nine-storey, family-run hotel houses 100 tastefully furnished rooms. We makes sure that every guest gets his money worth with adequate facilities and personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Harbour Ville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Ville Singapore
Hotel Harbour Ville
Harbour Ville Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Ville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.