We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour Ville Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour Ville Hotel to your Saves list
Harbour Ville Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   512 Kampong Bahru Road, Singapore 99448, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #231 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

OK, so the hotel was cheap and we only stayed one night but I would not return. The staff was very friendly and helpful but the room leaves a lot to be desired. It's very spartan and even though the price was reasonable we expected a little bit more. Bring your own shampoo and conditioner. The breakfast was not tasty but the french fries were good. They also had franks and beans for breakfast and a strange looking fried egg. Loved Singapore especially the Botanic Gardens

On the plus side the hotel had free wi fi. The AC worked great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    40
    72
    33
    11
See reviews for
33
58
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Accidentally happened to stay in this hotel for 1 night. The room is actually a small box where 2 persons cannot walk past one by another. The walls of the room destroyed by wet. Terrible odor in the room. it's a challenge to turn on hot water (please, pay attention, there is a switch outside the bathroom). outside - all under construction, so it's uncomfortable to walk around, better to use taxi or whatever.
Booking.com said about breakfast inoculated, but it is served only monday till Saturday, and since we stay Saturday-sunday, this we will not be able to check. So extra charge for breakfast paid in vain.
Would not advice this place to anyone. Hope, the one we'll move to tomorrow will be better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I booked the Standard Room for a night. Arrived there past noon and had a quick check in. The outside facade of the hotel is not to be desired but that didn't matter to us as we just had to stay for a night. This place is suitable for a one-nighter night cap with a small group of people where you would be out most of the time. We were a bit disappointed with the lack of amenities in the room let alone the size of it. Again, it's suitable for people who are mostly away from the hotel. The water heater wasn't working well either. There is no maintenance personnel to fix it as the receptionist was the one who came when we called. But, as always, all of the staff were super nice and helpful so that really matters most to me.

Room Tip: Get a better room than the Standard one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

It's near vivocity about 10minutes away by cab. Rooms are clean but extremely small in size. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Should improve in the breakfast provided. Limited choice only bread, and eggs. Should have a few varieties for the price of the room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Bought this room from groupon. Reasonable compared to hotel prices in Singapore. But room is small and basic. Service is slow. When we checked in, there was no blanket on the bed. We called couple of times to send blanket but only send few hours later. It is close to Vivo City, just one stop using the bus. From Vivo City, you can take a bus at $2 return to Sentosa Island. We spend the whole day at Universal Studio.

Breakfast is very basic. Coffee, tea, slice bread, sausages, eggs, baked bean, potatoes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were on transit for one day in Singapore on our return trip back from Glasgow. We paid Singapore $120 for one night. A bit pricey for the type of room and location. Room was tiny and had a funny odour. Served its purpose for one night stay but it was out of the way from shops or restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Harbour Ville Hotel in room 304 during September when the Grand Prix was on. The room was very basic, clean and being a front room there was a lot of noise from the street. Not only noise from the street, we could hear the next rooms TV through the thin walls and housekeeping made a lot of noise at 5:00 just outside our door.
The TV was in poor condition and the TV volume only went up. The bath towels were small and thin. We did not get breakfast because it was a Sunday morning. Did I get value for money and would I stay here again? No and No! Even though the Grand Prix was on, it was not worth the money.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour Ville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Ville Hotel

Address: 512 Kampong Bahru Road, Singapore 99448, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harbour Ville Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Ville Hotel in Singapore welcomes business and leisure travelers with our budget-friendly accommodation rates. The hotel, located along Kampong Bahru Road, makes an ideal retreat after a long day of exploring the city. We are situated close to popular landmarks and attractions like the world famous Sentosa, Mount Faber, the newly completed Southern Ridges and Chinatown. For guests on transit to Malaysia or going on cruises, the harbour and bus terminal is a mere 3 minutes drive away.The nine-storey, family-run hotel houses 100 tastefully furnished rooms. We makes sure that every guest gets his money worth with adequate facilities and personalised service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harbour Ville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Ville Singapore
Hotel Harbour Ville
Harbour Ville Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour Ville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.