We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best budget hotel I ever had” 5 of 5 stars
Review of hangout@mt.emily

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added hangout@mt.emily to your Saves list
hangout@mt.emily
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   10A Upper Wilkie Road, Singapore 228119, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Magelang, Indonesia
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
157 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
380 helpful votes 380 helpful votes
“Best budget hotel I ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Pros: Good price, truly no frills, friendly staff, free local calls, fast free wifi internet access, clean room and comfortable beds with air conditioning, affordable price, good breakfast menu, good location - near Little India and dhoby ghaut MRT station, free coffee and tea at 2nd floor, free computer with internet connection at 2nd floor, efficient check in and check out, free luggage storage at front office.
Cons: bottles of mineral water only provided on the first day.
Tips: if you come up by foot / using MRT, choose to stop at Little India Station, because the stairs of Mt Emily hill from Little India Station are not too high.
Overall I am satisfied with this hotel - low price but high quality in services. Will be back to stay again on my next visit to Singapore.

Room Tip: ask for private room if you stay with your family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, AlexSantosa.

We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and our service standards and facilities matched your expectations.

We are dedicated to continue do what we are doing now, if not better and we hope to welcome you back in the near future to experience more of what we has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    242
    53
    11
    5
See reviews for
85
162
84
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
phil
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

What I like about this hostel is that it is really clean and quiet. The people are nice and they serve quite good breakfast. What I don't like though is how far they are from the subway. Even if you take the shortcuts, it's not that near. Also, they do not even provide the basics such as toothpaste and toothbrush. This is a budget hotel, I know, but they should be able to provide one at least the basics.

I would rather stay in Chinatown again since you still have a lot to do in the nearby areas

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your review, summerlove29.

We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Our mission is to provide a clean and safe, yet fun and affordable accomodation experience without compromising the quality of service and we believe that was delivered.

Designed with our signature "no frills, just fun" concept, we give travellers just the right amount of attention needed - no unnecessary amenities except for cushy beds and squeaky clean bathroom at rates that won't blow a hole in your pocket.

We have taken note of your feedback and will review. We treasure each and every of our guest experience with us and it is through communication such as yours that we are better able to monitor and improve! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here in May for two nights in a 6 bed dorm which had its own bathroom and it was amazing! The hostel was so clean and the staff so friendly and helpful. It was our first stop on the way to backpacking oz and nz and I think this was the best hostel we stayed in the whole trip! The breakfast included was lovely too and the hostel has everything you need. There are two MRT stations only 5 minutes walk if that and we walked down to the gardens by the bay which only took about 30mins at the most! Great location and staff are so helpful with directions too! Definitely recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, sunnyails!

We are delighted to learn about your your compliments on our hotel and it's very rewarding for our team to realise that their level of service highlighted your experience with us.

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to hangout with us in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Best hostel I stayed in a very long time.
Very clean, great location, spacious room. The staff was very helpful and nice.
Was my first visit in Singapore, only 1 night, was lucky to have a dorm room just for myself.
Very quiet and great breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your review, JohannaM21.

We really appreciate your positive affirmation of our service and facilities. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to hangout with us in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We reached five hours earlier than 3 PM check in time. Staff was quite helpful in keeping our luggage and in guiding us touring places in the city. They promptly provided us the map of the city, explained the way to the nearest MRT "Little India". We took this opportunity to roam around Little India, Mustafa Mall and came back before 3 PM. Room was ready and we were given big room of four beds. Room was quite clean and spacious. Luggage was to be taken by us as it was no-frills. Wi-fi and Internet terminals were free along with free coffee. Overall it was nice ambience and everbody was very cooperative and always ready to guide. Both MRT stations was near by walking down from small hill. Breakfast was also good, however vegetarian options were limited.

Room Tip: You can choose beds as per your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your review, deepakag14.

We really appreciate the positive affirmation of our service and facilities.

We hope to have you and your family hangout with us again when your travels bring you back to Singapore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hostel looks very nice from the outside and doesn't disappoint inside.
We booked a private room which should of been a double but turned out to be a twin. The room was tiny and we couldn't actually fit both our suitcases on the floor so had to use the desk and stools. The beds were very narrow but were quite comfy.
The room was clean and had everything you needed .
It was abit of a walk to get anywhere , even the metro stop was a 15 minute walk which doesn't sound long but in the humidity and heat it feels like 3 hours. It also doesn't help that the hotels on a steep hill and after a whole day sightseeing we sometimes thought we might not make it back up again haha.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, Aded1990.

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to hangout with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

A very decent lodging, in a tower block, requiring an uphill hike - the route advised on the property's website makes you climb a lot of steep stairs; if you're with heavy luggage, there is an alternative more leisurely way from the opposite side of the hill.
The location is fair, very quiet both during the day and at night, inbetween two attractions - Orchard Rd and Little India, both of which are a 15 minutes' partly downhill hike away. The room size is acceptable, the ensuite shower as well, and the place is clean. They also have a terrace on the top floor with mattresses you can lie down on and a rather unexciting view. The breakfast is nothing special, but the ground floor also hosts a restaurant that's recommended in many guides. The staff are friendly and even remember you by your name.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven L, Manager at hangout@mt.emily, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, Nostramadeus.

We are glad that you have selected hangout@mt.emily again as your preferred hotel for your stay in Singapore. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to hangout@mt.emily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hangout@mt.emily

Address: 10A Upper Wilkie Road, Singapore 228119, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — hangout@mt.emily 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created especially for the savvy budget traveller, hangout at mt.emily promises a fun and affordable stay. Nestled in a tranquil respite away from the hustle and bustle of the city, hangout at mt.emily is located just a stone’s throw away from Orchard Road, Bugis and Little India. Designed with our signature "no frills, just fun" concept, we give travellers just the right amount of attention needed - no unnecessary amenities except for cushy beds and squeaky clean bathroom at rates that won't blow a hole in your pocket. And if you love making new friends, hangout at mt.emily offers the perfect place to meet hangout and meet fellow travellers.A firm believer of corporate social responsibility, hangout at mt.emily (part of the Cathay Organisation group) has been donating SGD$1 from each room night stay to the Organisation’s adopted charities since it open in 2004. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook and HostelBookers so you can book your hangout@mt.emily reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hangout At Mt. Emily Hotel Singapore
Hangout Hotel Singapore
Hangout@Mt.Emily Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage hangout@mt.emily, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.