We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't complain too much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Apartments to your Saves list
Shangri-La Apartments
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Anderson Road, Singapore 259983, Singapore (Tanglin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 301 Hotels in Singapore
jakarta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't complain too much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed here for 12 nights and had a pretty good stay. I had and early check in by 9am, got complimentary roll away bed for my maid, and all the staffs were so attentive.

My only problem was with the hot water, the shower ran out of hot water after five minutes, it was so annoying. Other thing is, they really need to clean up and maintain the flowers on the balcony, full of dead plants, dirty, and loads of insects.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    15
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
46
6
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The staff were very pleasant and helpful however that is about where it ends on the positive front. We arrived at about 9pm after a long flight with a very active 1 year old and discovered unlike anywhere else we have stayed, they charge per day not per night so our 9 nights charge turned into 10 days charge which when the cost was $600++ per day is not insignificant. We then went up to the room to find the door keys didnt work so frustration number 2. Then when we entered the apartment we were mortified. We had been told over the phone that the serviced apartment suites were the same as the ones in the hotel just with the additional benefit of a kitchen/kitchenette and a minimum stay of 7 days. However, I doubt this as the 2 bedroom suite/apartment we were given was decorated back in the 1970s with old cigarette smelling soft furnishings and brown plastic cabinets. The bathrooms were old and even the wall paper was peeling by the door. We immediately said we were not prepared to stay and the staff agreed to let leave despite having already swiped our credit card. Unfortunately by this late hour we were struggling to find somewhere else to stay and so the staff found us a room in the actual Shangri La hotel..however failed to mention that it was a twin until we arrived at the front desk...which just added insult to injury given I hadnt seen my other half for 3 months! So anyways, unless you get a 3 star price do not stay here given its 5 star pricing!

Room Tip: dont stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
194 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed at Shangrila apartments. Much better value than hotel with access to all facilities there. Needs modernising but very clean and comfortable. Excellent restaurants and The Line probably best buffet in town. In passing mentioned to the receptionist I really fancied egg tarts but forgot to pick them up on the way back. Next day, she ran after me with a bag of egg tarts which she has picked up on her way to work. Now that is exemplary service. Thank you Suriney for making our stay in The Shangrila so memorable. You are what makes Singapore a great place to visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed in the Shangri-La serviced apartments for 4 weeks upon relocating to Singapore last month.
While the apartments look a bit outdated and could do with some cosmetic renovation, I can't echo the other reviews that they are tired and worn. As other guests already mentioned, we also had an issue with the shower running low on water the 1st day, but this was promptly fixed.
While both our airport pick up and departure got messed up, staff were quick to rectify the issue at no cost to us.
One advantage of staying here is the use of all facilties in the main hotel, which are quite adequate, especially the hotel gym. The cake shop sells some of the best in Singapore and the location is actually quite central close to Orchard Road with free shuttle buses to the business district and other major areas in the morning.

In summary a grand property in need of some overhaul to iron out issues brought upon by simple wear and tear.

Room Tip: Take a higher floor away from the rather noisy elevator bells
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I have been staying in the Shangri-La serviced apartments for 6 weeks with my wife. To begin with, the hot water tank in the apartment did not provide enough hot water to suffiently take a shower. The apartments are in desperate need of renovation; the apartments just look tired and worn. The pool area looks recently remodeled and is nice. The main hotel which is next to the apartments has a beautiful pool area that has been under construction for the entire length of our stay. The gym is the best hotel gym I have every used. The Line Restaurant at the Shangri-La Hotel denied us a table outdoors one afternoon. We were told they couldn't sit us outside despite the fact that there were plenty of tables available.

My wife complained to management and got us upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment that had sufficient hot water, and we got invited back to the Line restaurant for a free meal.

For the price, there is much better value at other hotels and serviced apartments. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Under the assumption the Shangri-La is suppose to be a luxury resort, my husband and I chose to stay at the serviced apartments for an extended stay... wow, were we disappointed! Needs a renovation ASAP! Halls smell of moth balls and stale food; all appliances in kitchen outdated, mismatched; bathroom looks like a cheap motel's bathroom- no replenishment of soap during your stay; we had to switch rooms because our hot water would run out in 10 minutes- forget a hot shower; overall the apartment lacked amenities- not a single pen or notepad to be found, old/dated decor, most definitely NOT a four star hotel. Now to describe the awful facilities at the actual hotel: locker room old and deplete of toiletries at most times (had to shower here often because shower in room would not stay warm), staff in locker room lounged around consuming hotel guest's complimentary fruit and water while watching T.V. at very high volume (aren't spa hotel locker rooms suppose to be tranquil?), current renovation around hotel pool causing much noise and dust in air, staff at the Line restaurant very rude and unaccommodating, NO pool service (had to sign-out own towel- at luxury resorts they bring you towels and set up your lounge chair for you as well as offer you beverage service, well not here! I think the whole Shangri-La in Singapore needs an over hall of its services... perhaps they can learn from the Four Seasons chain, now they exemplify true luxury resort service!

Room Tip: If you are use to luxury resort chains, do not stay here, you will be very disappointed unless you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Pros :
Great location. It's a quick walk to shopping, markets and transportation. The Shangri la hotel is a quick walk up past the tennis courts. The buffet is awesome.
The staff is very helpful.
Cons: The decor is old and tired. There aren't any non smoking rooms, so no matter what they say..it smells of smoke. They gave me a purifier, and I went thru 3 bottles of air freshened all to no avail.
The English tv channels are very limited. Almost none in the bedroom.
No in room laundry.

Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Serviced Suites Orchard Singapore
Fraser Suites Singapore
#30 of 301 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Shangri-La Hotel Singapore
#4 of 301 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 3,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Fraser Place Robertson Walk, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Apartments

Address: 1 Anderson Road, Singapore 259983, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Tanglin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#29 Family Hotel in Singapore
#39 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#59 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shangri-La Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Apartments blend thoughtful layouts with enticing recreational options. Fully furnished apartments are well-appointed with crisp, contemporary design in earth tones. Residents also enjoy privileged access to all facilities and services of Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore during their stay in these short-term apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Shangri-La Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Apartments Hotel Singapore
Shangri La Apartments Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.