We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 81 - Chinatown

Save Saved
You added Hotel 81 - Chinatown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 81 - Chinatown
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 New Bridge Road, Singapore 059418, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #211 of 291 hotels in Singapore
Imus
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Small but cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hotel 81 in Chinatown is okay for traveller who will not be staying too long inside the room. The room is so small but quite clean. Internet is free but no too strong when inside the room. Nice thing about this hotel is very near the subway just right across the street. Near to all attractions. Also near to malls and streetmarkets and food stalls.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the fire exit if you are a smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    49
    58
    33
    25
See reviews for
20
30
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel the same day when we arrived in Singapore. We didnt search so much. They had vacancy so we took it. We stayed here for 4days. (mainly for location)

Pros:
Hotel is just across the MRT (Chinatown Station) easy access to sentosa.. orchard.. etc.
Exactly in Chinatown (like a minute walk to where the restos are and cheap shopping)
Cabled TV (there are english channels to choose from.)
Good A/C
Good pressure on shower
Toiletries Provided
Wifi in Rooms

Cons:
Very Very Very Small Rooms. (Literally) If you are a couple.. One should just stand on the side so the other could pass. Haha!
No Fridge
No window view
They do clean BUT in a lazy way.
The smell of the room is unexplainable. Its Bad. It smells old and funky.
Hard Beds, it feels like the beds are made of plastics.
The rooms looks very old.

It seems like most of the hotels in singapore are the same when it comes to size. The size i can manage but they should fix the smell and renovate all the rooms not just the outside part of the building. The rooms arent fresh.

I would probably go back at this hotel mainly for the location. The hotel is quite expensive for the type of rooms you get.


  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The hotel 81 China towns is just step away from MRT and convenient if you are backpacking to or via Singapore. The place has good location as well as price is reasonable for Singapore. The rooms are clean, small, mine was without window, but only for a night was ok. The toilet and shower is really micro small ;) but it is a private facility and I think is still worth the money you pay. As it is in China town, the budget food is available just in neighborhood.
I would recommend for budget travelers who like privacy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Location: Located at the heart of Chinatown, you can easily reach the hotel by bus or MRT. Very close to the shopping malls and just 5 minutes walk to Pagoda Street, the cheaper shopping center than the malls.

Lobby: Just 2 tables and 2 chairs, I even can’t say it’s a lobby! So small! The receptionist is not friendly too, they serve you while watching TV dramas.

Elevator: Works well but only up to 4th floor. So, if your room on the 5th floor, you have to take the stairs from the 4th floor.

Room: I stayed with in a family room on the 5th floor, the room is pretty small, no windows, just a small and locked windows near the ceiling. TV and aircon works well, but the bed and pillows are not so comfortable. And this is what I hate the most, there are so many ANTS when I woke up! even though I didn't bring any food or drink in my room.
Bathroom is quite good, cold and hot water, closet and the tub works well.No curtains and hate the smell of the provided hair and body gel!

Price: Maybe because it’s located at the main city road, it costs quite EXPENSIVE and NO BREAKFAST! If you want to save money, definitely don’t stay here. Just walk around Pagoda St. or Smith St. and you can find good hotels with more good quality, reasonable price, comfortable room and free breakfast too!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed here in August 2011, not 2012.
I booked this hotel because it was cheap as I was travelling for a few months. I loved wandering around China Town. It was the last few days of my travels and it was a good place to be.
The hotel isn't great, but it was fine for what I needed.

There are loads of great chinese restaurants - I found lots of vegetarian chinese restaurants which was fab, so I had some great food before heading back home.

My one gripe was that the hotel wouldn't phone for a taxi for me, which is pretty unusual. You have to walk to the taxi rank, not far away, but I had heavy bags and just wanted to relax on the way to the airport.

For Singapore, the reception staff weren't very friendly or helpful unfortunately.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We spent three nights at Hotel 81 China Town. It is in a great spot. Close to the CBD, China Town and the MRT. The staff were very helpful too. However, the rooms are quite smal and although there are windows in the rooms you can not actually open them. Still it is a pleasant place to stay in a great part of town. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My friends from overseas stayed here for 2 nights. being a local, I will admit this Hotel is in a superb location. Great eats a few steps away, and the Chinatown MRT Station is just across the road.

Rooms are miserably small though. Rooms with 2 single beds are relatively larger but has no windows!! In the end, the most distinctive thing about the hotel is the overpowering smell of detergent or some lemon scented spray. Room staff walked around the hallway spraying it everywhere! and I do mean everywhere! For a moment, it would seem as though their hands are mechanically fixed to press the nozzle every 3 seconds.

Great staff though! I saw a staff berated by a rather unreasonable customer in my opinion. The customer's insult became rather personal however the hotel staff still did their best to calm her down and was ever so professional. Kudos to them!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel 81 - Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Chinatown

Address: 181 New Bridge Road, Singapore 059418, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#211 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Chinatown 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel 81 - Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Chinatown Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 81 - Chinatown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.