We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough for the price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 81 - Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 81 - Hollywood to your Saves list
Hotel 81 - Hollywood
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Lorong 8 Geylang, Singapore 399121, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #178 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good enough for the price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The room is pretty small, and there's no storage or wardrobes, just a bed and a table.
It's clean enough, some smudges on the wall, but those seem more like permanent stains, so it's understandable. The bed is comfortable, and there's a small TV with a fair amount of channels in English. The staff was very helpful, and even let me check in two hours early with no extra charge.
It's close to a bunch of food stands and small shops as well as the MRT station.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    26
    32
    4
    10
See reviews for
3
22
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Ok hotel for the price. Rooms are small but clean. Bathroom is good. But corridors stink with cigarette smell. Location wise very close to market. Buses and taxies readily available. MRT station is about a km walk. Overall not a bad experience. But I personally feel that for same price you can get Hotel Fragerence Emrald which is not only better but also little closer to MRT

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed there twice. Once in May and once in July. Small, comfortable rooms. Friendly, efficient, and helpful staff. Special thanks goes to one receptionist, who was extremely helpful in May to confirm that my girlfriend will be staying here with me, when the immigration officers in Bogota didn't want to let her go. Really appreciate all your support!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

In one of our rooms the a/c unit leaked while we were out. Our laptop was under the a/c unit, and water got inside breaking it. The service center tried, but could not fix the laptop, unless we replaced the motherboard -- which is about the cost of the laptop. Now stuck to have to buy a new laptop. We were told to email customer service. They never replied, and this is already over 2 weeks ago.

Room Tip: Beware! Not all rooms have a good air conditioner. Some rooms have brand new a/c, while others hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

What do you expect? You are paying $40 for a Singapore hotel - it's not going to be anything other than basic.
The check-in staff were friendly and efficient. Payment is up front.
The room (mine on the 7th floor) was small and very basic but I was looking for somewhere to drop my bags for a few hours in the afternoon, to sleep for a few hours in the evening and to check out at 3.30am to head back to the airport. I don't need a Shangri-La for a transit stop.
The room had small double bed, a shelf with one electrical socket and a small bedside table. There's a wall mounted LCD (small) TV. Bathroom was clean.
It was fairly quiet when I was there; but you do hear any noise in the corridors.
The hotel was 5 minutes walk from the MTR station and Geylang is a busy area with plenty of good Malay, Indian, Thai and Chinese street food and small shops.
Geylang is also a red light area and when the sun goes down the streets fill with girls hanging around looking for business and many of the houses on the streets are actually brothels. If this bothers you then avoid staying in Geylang. That said, it feels safe and no-one bothers you as you walk around.
Hotel 81 is fine for a brief stop. Cheap and basic with easy access to MTR.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, Utrecht, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011 via mobile

Don't go to this place, there rooms are small, have a cigarette smell, the bed linnen is a mess. This place is also noisy, I had to change rooms 3 time's before I found one quiet.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I already went to 2 hotels prior to this hotel branch in Geylang. The first one i went to was in Lorong 6 but was fully-booked and very apologetic since i am one of their valued client. The second one i went to in Lorong 8 was kind of a, let us say "not welcoming". So i tried their other branch in the same street which was Hotel 81-Hollywood. When i came in to their door the Lady was in her sweetest smile and very friendly. I didn't have had a hard time dealing with her. In less than 10 minutes, I was heading to my room at 7/F. The room was tidy and clean. The bathroom although small has a bath tub, a shower and a complimentary toothbrush, shower cap. The 14" LCD TV was hanged on the wall, take note it has StarMovies and Sports channel which other hotels in Geylang havn't had. There was also a coffee maker and a complimentary bottles of water.
All in all, Hotel 81-Hollywood met our standard. We are satisfied and will comeback in this branch of Hotel 81.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 81 - Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Hollywood

Address: 61 Lorong 8 Geylang, Singapore 399121, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Hollywood 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 81 - Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Hollywood Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 81 - Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.