We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The old A/C leaked on our laptop while we were out. Could not be fixed!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 81 - Hollywood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 81 - Hollywood to your Saves list
Hotel 81 - Hollywood
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Lorong 8 Geylang, Singapore 399121, Singapore (Geylang)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The old A/C leaked on our laptop while we were out. Could not be fixed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

In one of our rooms the a/c unit leaked while we were out. Our laptop was under the a/c unit, and water got inside breaking it. The service center tried, but could not fix the laptop, unless we replaced the motherboard -- which is about the cost of the laptop. Now stuck to have to buy a new laptop. We were told to email customer service. They never replied, and this is already over 2 weeks ago.

Room Tip: Beware! Not all rooms have a good air conditioner. Some rooms have brand new a/c, while others hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    29
    37
    5
    11
See reviews for
3
27
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

What do you expect? You are paying $40 for a Singapore hotel - it's not going to be anything other than basic.
The check-in staff were friendly and efficient. Payment is up front.
The room (mine on the 7th floor) was small and very basic but I was looking for somewhere to drop my bags for a few hours in the afternoon, to sleep for a few hours in the evening and to check out at 3.30am to head back to the airport. I don't need a Shangri-La for a transit stop.
The room had small double bed, a shelf with one electrical socket and a small bedside table. There's a wall mounted LCD (small) TV. Bathroom was clean.
It was fairly quiet when I was there; but you do hear any noise in the corridors.
The hotel was 5 minutes walk from the MTR station and Geylang is a busy area with plenty of good Malay, Indian, Thai and Chinese street food and small shops.
Geylang is also a red light area and when the sun goes down the streets fill with girls hanging around looking for business and many of the houses on the streets are actually brothels. If this bothers you then avoid staying in Geylang. That said, it feels safe and no-one bothers you as you walk around.
Hotel 81 is fine for a brief stop. Cheap and basic with easy access to MTR.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Don't go to this place, there rooms are small, have a cigarette smell, the bed linnen is a mess. This place is also noisy, I had to change rooms 3 time's before I found one quiet.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I already went to 2 hotels prior to this hotel branch in Geylang. The first one i went to was in Lorong 6 but was fully-booked and very apologetic since i am one of their valued client. The second one i went to in Lorong 8 was kind of a, let us say "not welcoming". So i tried their other branch in the same street which was Hotel 81-Hollywood. When i came in to their door the Lady was in her sweetest smile and very friendly. I didn't have had a hard time dealing with her. In less than 10 minutes, I was heading to my room at 7/F. The room was tidy and clean. The bathroom although small has a bath tub, a shower and a complimentary toothbrush, shower cap. The 14" LCD TV was hanged on the wall, take note it has StarMovies and Sports channel which other hotels in Geylang havn't had. There was also a coffee maker and a complimentary bottles of water.
All in all, Hotel 81-Hollywood met our standard. We are satisfied and will comeback in this branch of Hotel 81.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

I booked two nights at the above hotel whilst I was in Singapore on Business.

What I expected was a small comfortable tidy room in good condition. What I can say, is that the only thing that stacked up was indeed the small room and possibly the internet.

The reality, is that I am a Western Traveler, in Singapore on business. What I expected was a room in good condition. In this case the paint was coming off the walls, and the bath had large areas of enamel missing and mould growing where the sealant was missing. There was also no shower curtain.

What was the most insulting, was the bed, which had a very firm plastic covered mattress, without a mattress protector, that had only a thin cotton sheet covering it. In addition, there were disposable pillow cases on the pillows!!!
I found myself lying directly on the plastic covered mattress during the night - as the sheet was inadequate to cover the mattress, and the whole sensation was squalid.

My expectation was that there would be a decent comfortable hotel-style mattress covered with decent cotton sheets and pillowcases - not something that was like the inside of a mental institution - so that the mattress and room could be hosed out by the hospital staff!!

Most backpacker hostels have better quality amenities and this was completely unacceptable. I did notice later on that this 'Hotel' offers a 'money-back' guarantee if 'you are not completely satisfied' within 15 minutes of arriving, however the signage was in the lift, and I didn't notice it until much later. What a joke!

I wrote a letter of complaint to the owner/Director of the Hotel 81 chain, and he didn't bother responding, so it is obvious that the squalid room conditions apply to the attitudes of the Owner and Management too.

I would most definitely look elsewhere rather than use any of the Hotel 81 chain. Yes they are budget, however budget need not be as insultingly basic as what is offered now.. Buyer beware.....

Room Tip: Don't use Hotel 81 chain
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Star
Hotel 81 - Star
#132 of 300 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Princess
Hotel 81 - Princess
#216 of 300 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Orchid
Hotel 81 - Orchid
#233 of 300 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Geylang
Hotel 34
Hotel 34
#177 of 300 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#123 of 300 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 stars 486 reviews
Geylang
Hotel 81 - Gold
Hotel 81 - Gold
#213 of 300 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 - Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Hollywood

Address: 61 Lorong 8 Geylang, Singapore 399121, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 300 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Hollywood 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel 81 - Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Hollywood Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 81 - Hollywood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.