We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean room, helpful staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fragrance Hotel Joo Chiat

Save Saved
You added Fragrance Hotel Joo Chiat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fragrance Hotel Joo Chiat
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   219 Joo Chiat Road, Singapore 427485, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Ho Chi Minh, Viet Nam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“clean room, helpful staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed here 3 days in my trip in March 2013. We booked family room for 3 people, the room is not big enough but its ok for us. Facilities quite old (air con, tv and refrigerator) but can use. Bathroom is clean. Location is not very good, have to walk 30 mins to MRT, after long day travel around city, we decide to take a taxi from MRT to go back to hotel and it costs 5-7 SGD. Quite far from most of well known places. In general, we have no problem when staying here but will not stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    51
    68
    23
    13
See reviews for
20
33
19
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

i like my visit for 3 days from 13 september 2013, i only stay for sleep, and i was expecting bad hotel from some of review traveller, but it change when i set my foot on the room. the room was spacey and clean, have enough room for shower room, the air conditioner is cold. although a bit far from paya lebar mrt, you can take bus no 33 just straight from hotel. the downside is you can hear noise from inside the room. i like my stay here and if you looking for affordable hotel with clean and spacy room this is your hotel.

Room Tip: when i coming the staff offering me another 20 dollar for upgrade of room plus free wifi internet, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Hotel location is far away from the trains station but there actually quite a lot of buses to move around.Bus no 33 actually goes most of the attraction places in singapore Chinatown and Clarke quay. The hotel location is very near to most of the well known food place like katong laksa and hajjah maimunah restaurant.

I enjoyed my stay in this hotel. The staff is very friendly even the housekeeping greet u with a big smile which really make your day early in the morning. I would like to say thank you to 'Adele' for the all the help and direction she gave to us. I would definitely come back .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

I chose this so called hotel because 1. Budget and 2. It is closed to the Bintan ferry terminal for our next destination. However, with the word hotel sometimes we would expect more especially my previous one was a hostel. I suggest if you are coming with children, this is certainly not a suitable location. It is situated in the heart of Joo Chiat Road where the karaoke bars are all surrounded. However, the good side is it is closed to Koon Seng Road which is a heritage distinct with the prewar houses on both side. It is far from both Pagar Labar and Eunos MRT stations. Walking distance to the East Coast Road for Katong laska is 20 mins.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I had an overnight in Singapore and stayed at this hotel. It is close to the airport 15 mins and had many places to eat within walking distance. The rooms are small but very clean with great water pressure (hot water) and working air con.
The downfall, it's in the karaoke district and many lady walkers around. I walked alone at night with no worries and no one bothers you.
If you have an early flight make sure you are down early as I had arranged a airport drop off only to find out when I called down to ask what exact time it was picking me up that it was full ( even though they confirmed the night before). I then asked to have a taxi waiting for me at 8. When I came down at 755 they had not even called yet. All worked out as the taxi came 20 min later and I had left enough time. The taxi drove around on the way there to make an extra fare so be careful

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is the second time I stayed in Fragrance Hotel Joo Chiat with my family Very affordable hotel and clean as well. Staff were friendly and nice. We left our bags at the storage area and they accommodated our request. Will definitely go back if I get to visit Singapore again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuyog, Leyte, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

our group stayed at the hotel for 1 night. thank you to Ms. Floy at the reception for welcoming us w/ warmth and ready smile. the Hotel itself is neat and clean. the rooms are small but very convenient. it has the basic necessities like toiletries, hot and cold shower etc. and the rates are affordable compared to other places in singapore. if you are on a budget but still want to have a great place to stay, choose fragrance hotel joo chiat. we will definitely book there again. :)

Room Tip: request for family room when you are 3 to 4 people because the room is a lot bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fragrance Hotel Joo Chiat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel Joo Chiat

Address: 219 Joo Chiat Road, Singapore 427485, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#172 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fragrance Hotel Joo Chiat 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Fragrance Hotel Joo Chiat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Hotel Singapore
Fragrance Hotel Joo Chiat Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fragrance Hotel Joo Chiat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.