We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an average. Good for those who's in thight budget” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Sands Resort - Downtown East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Costa Sands Resort - Downtown East to your Saves list
Costa Sands Resort - Downtown East
1 Pasir Ris Close, Singapore 519599, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #261 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
San Jose del Monte, Bulacan, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Just an average. Good for those who's in thight budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Been visiting singapore 5 times already and ive stayed here twice.. If you're in a budget.. I can suggest this place. For 112 sgd for 3d2n, that is very cheap. Rooms were spacious.. Can accommodate 4 persons (upto 8 I guess, sharing in 2 single bed with pull-outs). They dont mind how many person will stay in a room. Ac were in good run, which is good specially at noon time that the temp in sg was really hot! Bathroom was just so-so.. There's one time that the shower room leaked And it's kinda of messy.. Toiletries were provided but so cheap that you wouldn't dare to use. Matress were hard yes, but it's ok. With the price we've payed we shouldn't expect more. There were more food stalls located around that are good and very affordable. The resort has its own rooftop pool which is clean, but if you want more fun in the water there's a Water park just beside costa sands >>>The Wild Wild Wet. Location is really at downtown, 30 minutes train to centre interlinked is not bad.. Another thing, the resort is a 5-10minutes walk to the station.. It's good to walk in the morning and evening, but in the afternoon or if you come in 4 I'll suggest to take the cab. It's just 5sgd.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    21
    12
    8
See reviews for
29
5
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed for 3 days 2 nights weekend in the chalet. Price paid was over $500 for a family room that come with a living hall. The room badly need to renovate. The toilet was dirty with flies and only a soap in each toilet and shower gel. Bed was hard. Wifi was a laughing joke with on and off the connection. No make over on the second day and no free parking for guest.
I know this is a chalet suppose for family and friend gathering over BBQ, but with this kind of rate plus all the dining cost, I could get my whole family of 5 to 4 star resort in Malaysia island which I just booked for coming month end holiday with full board.
Not recommend for tourists and small family gathering. Will never book again though I'm NTUC member. I really disappointed with this so call resort!

Room Tip: They will message you your room number just days before check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

All in all, the resort is actually a very nice place.

Food stalls and shops are everywhere around the resort and its only a 10 minute walk to Pasir Ris station (which subsequently is at the end of the east west train line) and a further 20-30 minutes into the centre of Singapore.

Food places are very good and cheap. Rooms are clean and air conditioned which is a must for Singapore. I think that the price is a bit much for a place so far away from the centre of Singapore, but still did the job.

Main downside was that there were heaps of people hanging out in front our room until the early hours of Saturday morning making it hard for my wife to sleep. The resort has a policy whereby they want no significant noise near rooms after 10:30pm however they rarely enforce these rules. It would have been nice so we could have got some sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I am late writing this as I have been away travelling since.
We were a gymnastics sporting group travelling to Singapore for a competion. As acommodation in Singapore is expensive we were looking for something that took 4 to a room.
This hotel not only provided that, it had a pool and it had an attached water park which was great for a group day.
It also had an attached food court and shopping centre.
It had BBQ areas (so you could purchase from the supermarket there) and hot and cold water dispensers and a washing machine and drier.
The room was small if you used the 4 beds but the bathroom was a good size. Both were clean.
The air con and fan worked well.
There was cable tv and a dvd player.
Wifi was temperamental, not great coverage but they have free internet at reception.
We were in block H from memory.
There were a few negatives though and I will go through them.
1/ There was no powerpoint in our room so for charging items we had to unplug the dvd player.
2/ The towels were wafer thin....if you like a normal towel, take your own.
3/ There was a kettle but no power point lol.....so just use the hot water dispenser in the block.
4/ No breakfast so just walk up to the food court and buy it cheaply.
5/ This one was a real negative.......there were groups making a huge amount of noise in the rooms nearby and this was going on at like 2am. The locals seem to BBQ all night long :(. I made 2 calls to security, one at 2 and one at 3am.
When it was daylight, the duty manager came to me and asked what happened and I told her it was unacceptable. She agreed and said it was most unusual and that group were checking out.
It only happened on that one night so I would like to think she was telling the truth as it would really tarnish a persons stay. It tarnished ours especially as the gymnasts were competing that day and got little sleep.
I hope after my getting very cross and a long discussion, that it will be dealt with should anyone complain in the future.
This is a local holiday destination that the Singaporeans use on a weekend in particular. So it is not a hotel that I would stay in for a holiday as such. Particularly as it is far from the city.
But it is only 10 minutes from the airport and good for sporting groups too.
So if you want either transit acommodation (which I may require in July) or for a sporting group...this is the way to go.
The final downside is that it is about 40 minutes by MRT to the city so alot of time is wasted travelling.(great for transit travelling though).
The shuttle bus leaves only every hour to and from the station (which also has a shopping centre and money changer (4th floor from memory) attached)....but if you just miss one, this is inconvenient.
I saw other hotel shuttle buses coming and going more frequently.
If you don't mind to walk, then it would take probably 15 or 20 minutes. We did it once. But Singapore is very hot.
So as mentioned, if you don;t mind the travel from the city each day and you want reasonable priced acommodation or group acommodation or transit acommodation....it's great.

Room Tip: I would think if you wanted a little more quiet, not overly far from entrance and close to the washi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurong, Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Im not sure if there is foreigners who stay here..i think its more for local families weekend stayover for some swimming and bbq session..if tourist are on budgets and wish for bbq and have a mini waterpark..then heres a place you can try..the room is very small but the toilet is clean..every room have a huge fridge inside..no need boil water as there are hot n cold dispenser outside..i would say average for tourist but good for locals...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

terribly old and in need of renovation
rooms were neat but certainly felt dirty..
lighting was inadequate.. maybe suitable for couples looking for romance but certainly not fitting for families

booked a family suite for its space but was terribly disappointed.. not to mention its far location from the entrance (shouldn't family suites be nearer entrances considering the higher likelihood for having seniors and infants??)

booked 2 nights but decided not to stay the second night after the first

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The resort is a bit run down but it is a very convenient for traveller because we can get everything under one roof. There a plenty of food available within walking distance. However the water park is closed for renovation.

Room Tip: We stayed there on Sunday night and it is still very noisy after 12 midnight because many people sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa Sands Resort - Downtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Sands Resort - Downtown East

Address: 1 Pasir Ris Close, Singapore 519599, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Otel so you can book your Costa Sands Resort - Downtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Sands Resort - Downtown East Hotel Singapore
Costa Sands Resort - Downtown East Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa Sands Resort - Downtown East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.