We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got what we paid for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 81 - Orchid

Save Saved
You added Hotel 81 - Orchid to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 81 - Orchid
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Lorong 8 Geylang, Singapore 399090, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #212 of 292 hotels in Singapore
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Got what we paid for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Hotel 81 Orchid, well no big name name to pin hopes on, but still managed to provide us a decent stay. The staff was good and helpful. Rooms are very small and suffocating, but as I said it is a budget-friendly hotel and my advice is to accept it that way and not expect big in return. Talking about the cleanliness, well the rooms were cleaned daily. but the highlight of the hotel is definitely its proximity to the metro station--Kallang. (barely takes 10-15 minutes walk)
And yes regarding the location wary, although it is truly a red light area but you need not worry as the butterflies will never bug uninterested people.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    109
    112
    47
    16
See reviews for
17
36
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Arriving early in the morning having reserved online, we were surprised to learn from our cab driver that we were in the Red Light District of Singapore, and the "Butterflies" as he called them would come out at night. A little surprising, but we should have probably done a little more research before arriving. When we arrived, as Check-in wasn't until 2pm and our flight arrived at 5am, we were quite early. Unfortunately, while our room was ready, we weren't allowed an early check in without paying the hourly rate up until 2pm... this worked out to almost as much as a whole extra night. However, as we were tired from a lengthy series of flights, we simply paid and went to our room. The Standard double room was quite small, only enough room to get the double bed in, with about 50cm of space on each side, leaving no good place to store baggage. The bathroom was a shower stall with a toilet and sink, so you can't really leave anything inside while showering without getting it wet. However, Towels, body wash, soap an a few other toiletries were provided. The bed was comfortable, but the bottom sheet only covered 3/4 of the bed! The bottom quarter was bare mattress or mattress pad... we remade the bed with the top sheet on the bottom so that we didn't have to sleep directly on the mattress. There was a small TV with a few channels, and a kettle to boil water as well. The front desk was relatively helpful, calling us a cab early in the morning and directing us towards the metro/fast food.

As much as we were initially unsure about staying there, we had an overall nice time. The hotel is reasonably close to the metro (Kallang or Aljunied stations are about 10 minute walks, Kallang slightly closer) and really close to some good and interesting food along Geylang Road. Being off the main street it was fairly quiet at night. While we only saw the "Butterflies" a few times, usually through an open door to one of the local "establishments", there were always strange men hanging around along Lorong 8 at all times of night, although we were never hassled.

Overall, for the price it was fine, but don't go in expecting a lot!

Room Tip: Be prepared for an hourly rate charge if checking in early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The room is quite small but okay. We occupied a family room with a reasonable price. Hotel facilities are: wifi internet in room, tea and coffe maker, small bathroom with shower, 2 unit LCD TV for Family Room. Located in a "red" area, but it is okay if you just want to take a rest. It is reachable by bus or train (walkable to Aljuneid railway station).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights. This hotel is good if you dont mind the fire alarm suddenly will wake you up in the late night. There are no fire around though... The room is a bit small especially the washroom. However, this is a nice budget hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in the standard double room for 4 nights.
The hotel is located in the heart of the red light district at a walking distance from the Kallang station. There are heaps of eateries and shops around.

We arrived without luggages because of a flight problem between Melbourne and Singapore. The receptionist kindly called the lost and found desk at the airport and gave the information needed to forward our luggages to the hotel.

The room was located at the 8th floor. Nothing fancy but of a decent size.
The room was overall clean and tidy except for the floor which was dusty.

The first 2 nights we've been awoken by a loud bell coming from the corridor?!

Overall we had a pretty good experience.
According to the price, we're not too picky and consider that the room was ok.

We didn't see heaps of tourist around.
We loved the location. Especially for the contact with the locals, the eateries and the train station nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This Hotel is surveillance monitored with helpful and friendly staff. It is well maintained inside and out. The only complaint I have is that the pillows and bed sheets were stained (I always bring my travel pillow, mini blanket, and towels because this is expected at any mid priced hotel) and a bit of mold (also expected in humid climates) in the tiny restroom. Other than that it was a decent place to stay compared to other nearby hotels festered with “short stay” (quickie) guest services. You get what you pay for. Although, it is located in the heart of the red light district with many assertive Asian women working at every corner and alley ways, it is conveniently within walking distance from many great dinning establishments, grocery markets, miscellaneous item stores, street vendors, and a short drive away from the cities major attractions. Hotel 81 Orchid is just a few blocks from the MRT/LRT (Kallang) and is about 20-25 minutes drive from the Changi Airport by taxi (S9.00-S14.00). Transport services are not provided by the hotel but are easily accessible at the airport (Woodlands Transport Services S9.00). The locals are friendly and Hotel 81 Orchid is a nice place to experience a short stay in Singapore.

Room Tip: Please don't smoke in the non-smoking rooms people!!! Use common sense. It sets off the fire ala...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Check in time is 2pm but they allowed us to check in an hour early. We reserved on-line for a family AC room for S$330 for two nights, $165 a night. There's a wall separating the queen bed and the two single beds, with no door; two bathroom, two TVs, small fridge, a cabinet,dresser, phone, blower, coffee maker. The room is very clean including the bathroom/restroom, Towels are included, toothbrush, soap, comb! Tissue galore.

Didn't expect this since I have read several negative reviews. I'm not sureof the conditions of the other rooms.

From Changi airport, we took an MRT,alight to Tanah Merah, transferred MRT (on Platform B, just on the other side) heading to Joo Koon. then we alight to Kallang. From there, it's a 15-min walk towards Lorong 8. Once you reach this street, you will see Hotel 81.

Wifi is great but you have to approach the lobby to get a piece of paper for the username and password.Password will expire after 24 hours, then you need to ask for it again.

water pressure is great
With hot and cold shower
15-minute walk to MRT. We tried this for 2 days but then we discovered that if you're a group of 4, better get a taxi.. It will cost around $S10 one way going to Sentosa or Vivo City. Convenience is still our option.

By the way, we reserved on-line through their website, printed the confimation letter and presented in upon check -in, no hassle. Wepaid trough Credit card at the time of check in.

Cons:
Small bathroom/ shower room
1 outlet may be used for charging your gadgets, this is the one intended for the coffe maker.
heard people laughing and talking loudly in the hallway.This woke me up at 4am

FYI
Everytime you pay for items/hotels with GST, ask for another receipt intended for the GST refund. The official receipt won't count for the GST refund which is 7%. too bad we did nit know this, we checked in at Marina Bay on our last night expexting we'll get a GST refund to save a bit.

Happy trip!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 81 - Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Orchid

Address: 21 Lorong 8 Geylang, Singapore 399090, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 292 hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Orchid 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel 81 - Orchid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Orchid Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 81 - Orchid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.