We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Polite Staff - Strange smell” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 81 - Gold

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 81 - Gold to your Saves list
Hotel 81 - Gold
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Lorong 20 Geylang, Singapore 398738, Singapore (Geylang)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #199 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Polite Staff - Strange smell”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I stay in Singapore and booked this hotel for friends/friends-of-friends visiting Singapore as I couldn't find anything else in this peak time. I am writing based on their feedback to me (I visited the hotel as well). This hotel is close to city. Although the area is so called red-light district, no one bothered my friends. We were in the non-smokers zone, the whole floor was having cigarette smell - no visible smoke though. There is no ventilation and the air was very stale and had some strange smell. Staff were polite to my friend's numerous questions. If you have breathing difficulty like asthma or are sensitive to smells, go else where. They went to stay in CITIN Hotel KL Malaysia after this and they were "very much happy" with CITIN compared to this Hotel 81 Gold - they even specifically called from KL to say thank you for suggesting a good hotel in KL !!!! That explains a lot I think. Last but not the least, when I dropped my friends at Hotel 81 Gold, I got stares due to the bad smell and a straight question. "Did you visit the Hotel before booking?", I obviously didn't.......I have a suggestion to Hotel 81 Gold: Please buy air purifiers or clean up your aircon filters.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with open-able windows so that you can let fresh air inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    24
    36
    13
    10
See reviews for
8
22
34
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

It was were easy to take the train, almost next to the hotel 5min, in to central. But its located in a very poor street, with lots of prostitutes and bad environment, so don't walk around alone or take a taxi. The staff is really nice. No breakfast. The bed horrible, its made of leather, very hard to keep the sheeds on all night. The rooms are very small, but has a nice view and is cheap for a hotel in Singapore.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012 via mobile

Price are too high for an overnight stay... You wont get what you've paid for... Poor service... No wifi, you need to pay $10/day for a wifi access... Not that comfortable... Not suitable for families with kids although it is safe... Not recommended for second visit..

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kluang, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

suitable for backpackers / travelers who just want to sleep and want a privacy toilet
bedroom smelling cigarettes even though non-smoking room.

10 minute walking distance to aljunied mrt station
on the way to the mrt station at night, you will go through areas infested with foreign workers hanging out, but nobody will bother you
Geylang area is not as clean as the other Singapore

Hotel 81 Gold located next to Fragrance ruby hotel and hotel 81 lucky.

Room Tip: Take non-smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

If you are looking for the Ritz Carlton, this ain't it. However, if you want a low cost, clean, safe place to stay near the MRT (subway), this is it. I stayed here for 5 days. The staff was friendly, professional and the hotel was very nice and clean. I had a room big enough for two small beds and the air conditioner worked great. Bathroom was nicely remodeled. Hotel Gold is located within 5 minutes of subway and lots of places to eat. It is in so called "red light" district, but I didn't see any problem. If there were prostitutes around, they ignored me. Located in very busy shopping district. I will stay here again when I return to Singapore.

Room Tip: didn't have any problems; just don't expect the Hilton Hotel. lots of room for one person...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

It's one of the cheapest hotels in Singapore and considering the price has a good location. It's not that far from the city centre by MRT which is ten minutes by foot from the hotel. There are numerous food corners in the area where you can eat a tasty dinner for S$4. Well, it's Geylang - a bustling and lively neighborhood which streets are alive almost 24 hours a day. It's a red light district but you shouldn't be afraid - it's very safe at any time of day or night, much more safer than any big US/European city even in the bright day. The only reason you might want avoid this area is if you are offended seeing working girls (or for the same reason - if you're traveling with children).

The room is very small, not much space besides bed. No fridge which is a big disadvantage considering temperatures (I mean the aircon is very efficient so it's not like there's hot in the room - but you really enjoy a cold drink in Singapore at any the of day and night)! Well, this is a budget hotel and one of the cheapest in Singapore - you can't have high expectations.

Don't push the lock button from the inside if you're leaving the room (what is a common practice in many hotel locks) - if you push it you won't be able to open the door from outside, it's mean to use from inside only. The reception staff is very nice and helpful though and they send someone within two minutes after I reported a problem with getting to my room - the man who came had master key and simply opened the door for me.

Even if the hotel is a budget one, the service is good and the room is cleaned well and fresh towels delivered during your stay (not that obvious standard in very cheap hotels).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

I stayed at Hotel 81 for 2 nights. Hotel is located in famous district Geylang which has a bad opinions but I was feeling safe. Around hotel there is many local restaurants with tasty food. 5 minutes to MRT. About hotel: I had room at 5th floor (there was elevator), rooms was small, tv, bathroom with full equipment, air-conditioning (we can't turned off and staff too so a-c worked all time during our stay - sometimes was very cold in room). Generally I recommend for young little requiring persons.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 81 - Gold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 - Gold

Address: 20 Lorong 20 Geylang, Singapore 398738, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Geylang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 - Gold 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 81 - Gold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 - Gold Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 81 - Gold, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.