We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly renovated Hotel, Room Small, Staff Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fragrance Hotel - Pearl

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Fragrance Hotel - Pearl to your Saves list
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Lorong 14 Geylang, Singapore 398 961, Singapore   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
singapore
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Newly renovated Hotel, Room Small, Staff Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Pros:
Newly renovated room
TV Plasma
Water pressure was ok
Heater warm up easily
Safe Box
Hanger for shirt
kettle to boil water
Free toothbrush
Staff friendly

Cons:
Wifi is not free, except lobby
Room small 12m2
Bed was ok, but hard
Location not near mrt station
Was allocated 405, but smoking smell was very strong, so changed to 506

Room Tip: Choose Higher Floor Room, Choose non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    78
    123
    41
    23
See reviews for
30
53
46
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taguig
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed here last 2013 and I got this for a promo price, my room was clean and its close to a supermarket which was easy for me. It was like a 10-15 minute walk to the mount batten bus station. Their staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apucarana, PR
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Clean and small rooms, good price. The location is not very good, and we had to walk for 10-15 min to get to the nearest subway station. We also had to change our room, since there was a bunch of unassisted kids scattered through almost all of the rooms in our floor; it was past 11 pm and they kept yelling and banging doors. When I went to the reception and asked the staff if they could do something about it, all they did was give me another room's key and ask me to move, since the kids 'wouldn't stop anyway'. After we did that, everything was fine and we had a fine stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

They don't really offer anything else but a room. The internet is pricey and does not work very well. They never really helped us at all with any of the requests that we had.
Location is on the red lights district but is really safe and the prostitutes don't even notice the tourists. Also the restaurants are very good and cheap.
The rooms are not very clean and considering prostitution goes around different rooms it makes the stay very uncomfortable.
Location is not the best, but in all honesty, in singapore nothing is really far. Bus and metro are everywhere and taxis are not as pricey as one would think.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

This hotel located at the red district which is full with "rent-ladies" during the night.

The room was basic, it's okay to sleep one night but forget should you want to extend more ...
mattress is not really good and the linen looks not so clean.

WiFi is quite pricey : SGD 10 for each user per 24 hour ( if you traveling 2 pax with 2 gadget per pax the cost for the WiFi each day is almost equal with their room rate)

they don't even offer a free WiFi for all bookings made thru online travel agents and direct booking, except booking made thru their own hotel website which rate wasn't in parity with the OTAs.

the old TV in the room could only show 3-4 channels ...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

If this is your first time to visit Singapore, I would not recommend this one. The location is in the red light district, and it's far from the MRT, you need to take bus and then walk a little bit more to get to the place. There are a lot of Fragrance hotels in the area, almost every street. Staffs are not friendly and not helpful at all. The rooms are very small and the beds are not comfortable at all!! It's like sleeping in a very hard wood! Stay away from this hotel, there are a lot more hotels to choose from in the city which has the same price but way better quality. Check out hotels around Chinatown or Clarky Quay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zutphen, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel will not see me again. Although the staff is very friendly and helpful it has some major downsides:
The TV has only 5 channels.
Internet is quite pricy
No safe locker
Rooms are very noisy and small
It's called a "short stay" hotel ;-)

The area is quite famous for "the ladies" and every time I told the cab driver where to go they looked in the rearview mirror with a raised eyebrow.
But:
Food in the area is good. As a vegetarian I was surprised they even have vegetarian and organic restaurants nearby.
Conclusion: just one night (or shorter) and cheap, okay, otherwise, pass.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fragrance Hotel - Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel - Pearl

Address: 21 Lorong 14 Geylang, Singapore 398 961, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Fragrance Hotel - Pearl 2*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fragrance Hotel - Pearl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Pearl Singapore
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fragrance Hotel - Pearl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.