We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhere different.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Scarlet Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Scarlet Hotel to your Saves list
The Scarlet Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Erskine Road, Singapore 069333, Singapore   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Eat . Stay . Love
Ranked #29 of 294 Hotels in Singapore
Brentwood, Essex
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Somewhere different.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

When travelling for 6 weeks from the UK to New Zealand it seems crazy to look forward so much to the last hotel on the homeward leg. We did and despite all the warnings of small rooms my husband and I found this hotel to be a jewel. Fantastic location, warm exotic ambience, especially if arriving after nightfall. Delightful jacuzzi/ sundeck area on the 2nd floor and a great reasonably priced restaurant on the roof.
Our room on the 3rd floor had an intriguing view across the rooftops with just a glimpse of one of the many temples. We loved it. Breakfast is slightly expensive but 10 mins walk down Neil Road you'll find the something Frog does western style breakfast. Don't try the local restaurants with pictures of food for breakfast unless you like sweet toast and undercooked watery poached eggs and ghastly coffee. Great cake shop 2 minutes along South Bridge road.
Only criticism of the hotel is they don't promote their own facilities enough. The room info books although nicely presented do not explain all that is offered in the hotel. Go and ask or explore for yourself. We nearly missed it all.
Hotel is within walking distance to everywhere of interest or the easy simple underground system [get a dollar back when returning your ticket at the end of your journey].
Anyone wanting sun and beach head for Sentosa. History buffs look for the Battle Box in Fort Canning Park, the Fort Siloso tour on Sentosa and the emotionally charged quietness of the War Grave cemetery at Kranji.
Biggest disappointment was the 'changed' Raffles. The new location of the Longbar on the 2nd floor condems it to being an ordinary characterless bar albeit with peanut shells all over the floor. No mention it being of the home of the Singapore sling and the characters who made the place famous. All that is tucked away in the new in-house museum. We're glad we saw it 24 years ago with all the original character and atmosphere of a true colonial bar.
Singapore is still one of the great stopovers and we'd come back to the Scarlet Hotel every time.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    332
    100
    42
    29
See reviews for
38
406
117
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

This is a small boutique style hotel well situated in Chinatown. It will appeal to anyone who dislikes the soulless polish of the larger chain hotels. Some of the rooms are small and it may be worth asking for a room-change if this is a problem. Aim for an Executive room if funds allow. The Reception staff were unfailingly helpful. Less so the restaurant staff who seemed to have a more amateur approach. The rooftop bar and restaurant has wonderful views but is pricey. Plenty of good eateries and bars in the neighbourhood, at all prices. Very handy for two MRT lines

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

means, you only allowed to use that small tiny little camera, that I wont use it ever since I buy my self a professional camera, and its a small onee. I asked them why? they simply say it, anything with professional camera is not allowed, even if I have a photo with a family member for memory. they even added this, MODELS IS STRICTLY NOT ALLOWED as well..

hellooowww????

too much. these days most of everyone has dslr camera. and the funny thing, what if a models going there for aholiday or trip??? gee. none want to take a photo of your hotel. oh please c'mon. too proudd

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

The Scarlet is a sophisticated boutique hotel for non-tourists. It is everything I expect in a world-class boutique hotel: location reflecting the character of the city, small number of rooms (not a corporate compound), personalized service, interesting architecture, intentional interior design and unique feel, useful luxurious amenities, attention to detail.

The service was personalized. There was someone to open the doors for us, smiled and greeted us as we walked in. They were courteous at the front desk and whenever we called from our room. They offered us to walk in front of them and insisted that we always leave the elevator first.

The location was perfect for us, within easy walking distance to two MRT rail stations (Chinatown or Raffles Place) and also convenient for taxis or buses. Also across the street was the legendary Maxwell Food Centre which had the best (and cheapest) "street food" in the entire country.

Pros: VERY comfortable beds, Free fast interenet access (other hotels charged $10 or more per day), very nice slippers (see photo), close to MRT and Maxwell Food Centre, free newspaper daily, complementary water and Limonata drinks on our first day, hardwood floors in the entry.

Cons: rooms a bit small (but no smaller than average rooms in Singapore)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

perfect located in Chinatown, especially if you are gay, many bars and sauna. very clean, super nice stuff, very helpful and nice, internet for free in the room, very good food in the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We stayed in an executive room with balcony for 2 nights on our way to Vietnam which even though it is considered to be one of the larger rooms in the hotel, we found it was extremely small and found it difficult to maneouvre around the room and almost impossible to do so with 2 large suitcases ....... could only open the suitcases on the bed as there wasnt enough room to do so anywhere else. The decor was very nice and opulent looking (sort of Moulin Rouge meets Dracula with plush red velvets, gold brocade curtains and black surfaces) and the staff were very efficient, although a little disappointing in the bar/restaurant where they took our order and then promptly forgot about us, which if they were busy might have been acceptable but there were few people there. We booked this hotel due to its proximity to Chinatown which we found a little disappointing in comparison to Chinatown in KL. If we were to find ourselves in Singapore again, I would book one of the larger hotels in and around Clarke Quay as we found this area had more to offer visitors who were there for a short time only.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at The Scarlet. I'm asthmatic and love the fact that you really can't smoke in the rooms. I stayed there with 2 smokers and they had to step out to smoke which was good for me :) Although the room we had was tiny, it was designed very well. The bathroom also had ample space and was well stocked so it was a very comfortable stay. Only down-side was that the room and lifts were too far from the entrance but overall the room was great (no windows but great), the bed was comfortable, the bathroom clean and the smell pleasant. I recommend you try it for the feel of the place and the value for money.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Scarlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Hotel

Address: 33 Erskine Road, Singapore 069333, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Singapore
#27 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#28 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#40 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scarlet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your The Scarlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarlet Hotel Singapore
Scarlet Singapore
Scarlett Hotel Singapore
The Scarlet Hotel Singapore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Scarlet Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.